We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gruene River Hotel & Retreat
Ranked #3 of 17 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genuinely fantastic!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

You can't go wrong with Gruene Apple B&B!
We didn't have a reservation & happened to pass by then call for same-day accommodations. To say we got lucky to snag a room is an understatement!
Everyone we encountered was friendly, & good old-fashioned customer service was definitely #1.
The outside: attractive, very well manicured & quaint; fairly recent construction & built specifically for use as a B&B; convenient location/easy walking distance to unique shops & live music; it was too chilly for a dip in the pool, but the fact that a pool is there is a plus in my book; river views from rear rooms are so nice, & we enjoyed sitting on our private balcony.
The inside: cleaner than clean; beautiful common area; nice features like an elevator, rec room complete w/foosball, pool table, movie room, games, etc.; charming options for private rooms (we stayed in the western/cowboy room & loved the copper tub, paintings & country decor); lots of comfortable areas to sit & relax; player piano downstairs.
Last but not least, the breakfast was amazing. Homemade & tasty - I even bought their cookbook. It's served buffet style, & there are options for everyone from healthy to need-a-nap immediately after.
Nothing is perfect, but the only improvement I'd make is extra insulation between rooms. We could hear talking from the neighbors on one side. Just something to consider if you're either going to make a lot of noise or are sensitive to inconsiderate neighbors.
I'm a former Texas resident, enjoy the southern part of the state & plan to return for vacation annually. Gruene Apple is exactly where I'll stay on return trips & have already started looking at the calendar to make a reservation for fall.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlwithbrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    7
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
59
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Gruene Apple for his birthday in December. I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before so I have nothing to compare it to, however I did have expectations, and this place not only met them, but by far it exceeded all of them! I will say I was a little fussy about the price of the rooms, they were all a little expensive to me when I was doing my research for our stay in Gruene. I have stayed in rooms that were close to the $200 mark but not very often, and when I do I expect the place to knock my socks off! And it did! Worth every penny! We also scoped out some of the other B&B;s in the area, and we were very satisfied with our choice. We stayed in the Angler room, the pictures online are great but the room in person was even better! Very spacious, very clean, and suprisingly very quite and private. We had a beautiful view of the river from our balcony.The location was fabulous! We walked just about everywhere in the town of Gruene, and it was just a very short drive into New Braunfuls. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was AMAZING! We are late risers so both mornings we were down for breakfast at the last minute but there was still pleanty of food and they did not rush us. The whole property was beautiful, and thats saying alot for December in Texas! And last but not least, my husband just loved that they had a resident cat, George! He was very friendly and greeted everyone as they checked in or came back from shopping in the historic downtown Gruene. This place for us really felt like home away from home! This B&B was so comfortable and friendly that I may never be able to go to another. They really set the bar pretty high! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed one night, the pros: clean, confortable bed, decor a little too much, but nice. Close to everything. The cons: noisy, you hear people talking in the next room, rooms small and floor is carpeted ( more clean when non carpeted). 5 o clock wine could be a nice touch butbwine very cheap. Breakfast: lots of food but high calorie, with lots of cream and cream cheese, lots of pastries, and orange juice from concentate. For the price you can have much better rooms and breakfast at other locations.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I discovered the Gruene Apple Inn in 2000, have visited at least once a year since, and wonder why I haven’t rated it before. This Inn is beyond incredible! When we pulled onto the property, we were impressed with the grounds, gazebo, and pond in the front of the beautiful home (or rather bed & breakfast).
The grandeur entry made us feel drawn into the large common area appointed with comfortable furniture, gorgeous fireplace, and accessories to enjoy. The owners indulge the guests by displaying unique “Gruene apple artifacts” throughout. There are common areas throughout the inn, including a warm and cozy library, a large recreation room with several game tables and games available, a theater room with a movie featured nightly, a sun room across the back on both floors, and access to the Guadaluope River at the back of the inn for walking pleasure. As for the rooms, each has its own unique theme, and we’ve stayed in several of them. Our favorite (and most everyone’s) is the “Shady Lady,” but we’ve loved every room that we’ve stayed in. The attention to detail in each room is amazing.
The Gruene Apple breakfast is the best we’ve ever had—I mean ever! The kitchen is open to the dining room and is beautiful, clean, and bright. Guest may dine in the dining room or in the adjacent sun room. The innkeepers cook and serve the breakfast. I have never met more gracious, friendly, and interesting innkeepers. We always feel welcomed and like we are their very special guests.
The quaint community of Gruene has a warm, small town ambiance that is so welcoming. Unique places to eat and shop are abundant, and there is an extensive outlet mall nearby in San Marcos.
We’ll go back at every opportunity!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

hotel good,staff very friendly.and the rooms OMG JUST BRILLIANT,all on a theme.
breakfast is served only from 8.30 til 9.30..they do expect you to all dine at 8.30,but is was great food. pool very small but ok,gardens down to river are gorgeous,we saw turtles and cormarants.

Room Tip: you can choose anny room all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grueneapple, Manager at Gruene River Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Gruene Apple B & B, and we hope to see you again when next you're in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My wife and I decided to stay at the Gruene Apple Bed and Breakfast based on the recommendation of one of our close friends who recently stayed there. So, we decided to book a stay the weekend of 10/12-10/14/12. There is a two night minimum on weekends. We arrived early Friday afternoon and were immediately greeted with a smile and welcome to our weekend stay away from home. Check in was quick and easy. The Gruene Apple has 14 separate rooms that are individually decorated in a unique theme (i.e. The Broken Arrow, Wild West, and The Big Apple, to name a few). Each room has either a queen or king size bed with separate shower/tub, private access to a balcony, and various other in room amenities. Needless to say, we were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room we booked which was the Big Apple . This bed and breakfast was very nicely decorated in all common areas. It has a separate library, game room, private theater, dining room and kitchen for all guests staying there. The most spectacular part about staying at the Gruene Apple was the unbelievable gourmet breakfast that is prepared each morning by the owners of this establishment. What a great part of this trip. All in all, we had a very memorable and relaxing time while staying at the Gruene Apple Bed and Breakfast. It was especially nice to be able to walk out the front door and be within walking distance to all the unique shops and restuarants in historic Gruene, Texas. Great weekend getaway and one that you might want to consider if traveling to this part of Texas.

Room Tip: If you are interested in wanting to stay at the Gruene Apple Bed and Breakfast in Gruene, Texas be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tejas4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grueneapple, Manager at Gruene River Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Gruene Apple B & B! We really appreciate your kind words, referral and room tip! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

What a great place to stay while in Gruene, Tx. During the week Sun - Thur they have $99 special on four of their themed rooms. We stayed in the vineyard room. The room was inviting and well layed out. The bathroom was spacious and clean. They have a great gourmet breakfast that is out of this world. The room had a covered patio which we sat and ate our breakfast and the resident cat who joined us on the patio didn't mind us sharing our bacon with him. The bed and breakfast grounds were well kept and manicured. The owners and employees were very friendly and helpful. I have stayed at the "other" b & b in Gruene and found the employees not so friendly or accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHollis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grueneapple, Manager at Gruene River Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to offer a review of the Gruene Apple B & B! We want you to know we appreciate your comments and hope you'll return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#3 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#10 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#8 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene River Hotel & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene River Hotel & Retreat

Property: Gruene River Hotel & Retreat
Address: 1235 Gruene Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Gruene, with Guadalupe River access, this 14 room, boutique retreat provides a truly unique vacation or corporate retreat guest experience. Walk down to the river from the backyard or stroll through the historic district's amazing shops and restaurants, and kick up your heels to live music at Texas' oldest dance hall. Enjoy a complimentary wine happy hour each evening, and come to the table hungry in the morning for a fabulous gourmet breakfast buffet. For a romantic getaway, business retreat or fun weekend of dining, dancing, shopping and sight seeing, the Gruene River Hotel and Retreat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gruene Apple Hotel New Braunfels
Gruene Apple Bed And Breakfast
Gruene River Hotel & Retreat New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing