We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gruene River Hotel & Retreat
Ranked #3 of 12 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We spent a few nights here recently. The people are very kind. The atmosphere is relaxed. The Bed & Breakfast is just simply outdated. The decor is very late 90's. It is way, way overdone. Our room needed to be de-cluttered and dusted- big time. We could hear the conversations of other guests. The employees were kind and friendly. The breakfast was good according to my hubby. I am gluten-free, so there were very few choices for me. Honestly, this was just too expensive for me given the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Gruene River Hotel & Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

My entire family has stayed at the B&B for the past two Christmas seasons and hope to make it an annual event. Each member of our family and our spouses had a room. Even brough our older children. Eventually booked almost the entire place! The entire staff from the inn keepers to housekeeping were so nice and helped us feel like home. Wonderful atmosphere and the Christmas decor is breathtaking. Hope to see you next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyndi62862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Gruene Apple Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay. The atmosphere is relaxing and very elegant. The staff go out of their way to please. Visitors can enjoy the view of the river from their balcony or follow the pathway down to it to relax for the evening. Wine is served in the evening.

The B & B has it's own entertainment. It has a theatre with recliners. Also, it has a pool table, foosball table, air hockey table, and shuffle board (no added cost). Also, it has a small pool outside.

The Gruene Apple B & B has complimentary drinks and snacks. In the evenings, wine is served with a chex mix. Downstairs in the pool room, there is a cappuccino machine that is available 24/7. Also, there are complimentary water bottles in the room.

The rooms are very comfortable with varying décor. Attached are private balconies. The bathtubs are very deep allowing for one to soak and relax after a long day. Each room has its own thermostat to adjust as desired.

The B&B is located downtown allowing you to enjoy all of the shops, music, and restaurants within walking distance. Yet, it is set back away from the road far enough and close to the river to allow it a country atmosphere. Also, it offers complimentary parking.

It is a quiet place. It appeared to have more couples than families. I would recommend this for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank summersrainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed here with my dad and step mum for just for two nights but I am looking for the next opportunity to go back!

This is a family run place which is hospitable and welcoming for the moment you enter. We orginially only had one night booked but within moments we knew we wanted to stay another night and wished we had longer!

If you want somewhere relaxing, full of charm and character, beautifully decorated and friendly all in a beautiful setting...you just found it!

Room Tip: Each room is decorated with a different theme!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dgytl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights over a Wurstfest weekend. The location is great - very walkable to everything in town and on the Wurst Wagon shuttle line which I totally recommend for getting back and forth as easily as possible. We booked late in the game and all the bigger rooms with king size beds were taken. For the small price difference it's definitely worth it to go with a larger room. I got to tour several of the rooms since we were staying with a large group and my favorites were Shady Lady and the Hill Country Lodge. We were in Mimi's attic and I liked the large bathroom and the river view balcony but could have done without all the cluttered knick knacks, dolls, and family pictures covering every square inch of the room. I loved that the place had comfortable common areas that accomodated our large group including a game room down stairs that has pool tables, shuffleboard, PacMan, and foosball along with a movie room and card tables. Wine is served in the lobby every day and it was fine - I read some reviews from some here that said it was horrible and cheap but that's not true, it was perfectly fine and nice to have. Breakfast was wonderful and the two men who work the kitchen and breakfast (one of whom is the owner) were very friendly and warm and we enjoyed talking to them. The ladies in the office need a vacation apparently - they were grim, tight lipped, and unfriendly but we only had to interact with them when we arrived and when we checked out so it didn't impact our trip. We would definintely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back with balcony views of the river are very nice. Try to get a king room (Shady...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathDep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here because the Gruene Mansion was booked the weekend we were coming, I'm glad we did!!! This spot is just as close to everything and MUCH quieter! We walked by the Mansion and while its location is nice, loud music is playing all day and night. Not a bad thing if that's what you're going for, but we enjoyed the peacefulness of the Gruene Apple much more. The breakfast was awesome, great selection and great home cooking. Rooms were nice and clean. We stayed at the Broken Arrow and it was really neat how it was themed. The balcony and view of the river was really nice as well. The game room on the lower level was great, and so was the theater room which had a big projector and comfy lazy boys.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevinAndAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I just got back from spending a week here. We love the Gruene area,and truly enjoyed our stay. Customer service was excellent. Breakfast was great, even on the couple of days that we were the only guests, there was still a very good assortment, and everything was freshly made.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymevick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 33 in New Braunfels
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 33 in New Braunfels
110 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#10 of 33 in New Braunfels
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene River Hotel & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene River Hotel & Retreat

Address: 1235 Gruene Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range: £107 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Gruene, with Guadalupe River access, this 14 room, boutique retreat provides a truly unique vacation or corporate retreat guest experience. Walk down to the river from the backyard or stroll through the historic district's amazing shops and restaurants, and kick up your heels to live music at Texas' oldest dance hall. Enjoy a complimentary wine happy hour each evening, and come to the table hungry in the morning for a fabulous gourmet breakfast buffet. For a romantic getaway, business retreat or fun weekend of dining, dancing, shopping and sight seeing, the Gruene River Hotel and Retreat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gruene Apple Hotel New Braunfels
Gruene Apple Bed And Breakfast
Gruene River Hotel & Retreat New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing