We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fruity wines!”

Winery on the Gruene
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great fruity wines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Quaint little winery with delicious wines. Staff was friendly and it looked to be a place for both visitors and locals alike to enjoy. You could sit inside or on the patio that had little misters in case it was a normal, hot summer day in Texas. Enjoyed it so much we didn't leave empty handed...cute retail items and affordable bottles to go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P, Owner at Winery on the Gruene, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
The Fruit - Infused wines are the most popular. We are so glad you enjoyed them! Please come back and tell your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    11
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my tasting....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

This was only my 2nd wine tasting and the young lady helping us was quite nice, we found several wines we enjoyed and bought for home. Tasting and wines are priced well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank weirdtexasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P, Owner at Winery on the Gruene, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are so happy that you had such a great experience here. Hope to see you and your friends back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingman, az
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

There were some excellent wines in the shop. They were not overly friendly or unfriendly, just very matter of fact. One of the men thawed out a little once we purchased 4 bottles of wine from them. It could have been a fun place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mooyai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P, Owner at Winery on the Gruene, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Glad you loved our wine. That is what it is all about. We are sorry that you did not get the customer contact that you expected but I can assure you that you will the next time. Hope to see you soon. Sorry it took a while to respond but we do not have a dedicated staff to respond to all the sites on line. We are a small family run business but we are trying hard to get back to everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not so special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great location but not impressed beyond that. The exterior was very inviting, nor was the staff upon entering. We enjoyed a very reasonably priced wine tasting but the two gentlemen serving were very hard pressed to smile. Not an enjoyable experience. The wine? Hmmm I can't remember as I was so distracted by the poor service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank amarielew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P, Owner at Winery on the Gruene, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Sorry you experience was not enjoyable. We are a small family business that does not have staff dedicated to respond to every website online. I know it has taken us a while to respond but we are very sorry for you experience and we hope that you will try our little winery again. We get hundreds of great reviews daily. I hope you can try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Winery in The Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

I have been going here for several years now! Special occasions and just because! You can't find better wine, customer service, or sights in the area!! This is a must see and do for sure!!

Helpful?
Thank Brande H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P, Owner at Winery on the Gruene, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
You are awesome and we enjoy you very much every time you come in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winery on the Gruene also viewed

 
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to Winery on the Gruene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing