We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Order the butterfly fried shrimp”
Review of Gristmill

Gristmill
Ranked #6 of 262 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on a bluff overlooking the Guadalupe River, this spectacular restaurant nestled under the shade of towering oak trees has been the perfect getaway for a unique casual dining experience for thirty years. Located in the historic district of Gruene just beneath the famous Gruene water tower, we opened in 1977, serving steaks and hamburgers from a tiny kitchen in the corner of the building. Our menu still features thick steaks and large hamburgers, but the restaurant also serves up popular South Texas fare like chicken fried steak, fried catfish, grilled chicken, enormous sandwiches, fresh fish and special dishes like tomatillo chicken and bronzed catfish. Fudge pie, the enormous strawberry shortcake and our signature Jack Daniel's Pecan Pie are famous desserts. A full bar with a good wine list and fresh squeezed lime margaritas are also big hits.
texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Order the butterfly fried shrimp”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My daughter and I ate here and I had the butterfly fried shrimp and they were delicious. My daughter had the ribs and they we're fall off the bone tender and good. We both had a salad, which was very fresh. We had a table outside overlooking the river. It was early afternoon and the place was crowded but we had no wait. Our server was prompt and checked back with us regularly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredlady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,424
    733
    223
    52
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is one of our favorites, we tend to go back here about 2-3x/yr, which is a lot for a family that doesn't eat out usually more than once a month, unless on vacation. I tend to take any out of town visitors to Gruene, as I love the atmosphere. The same for this restaurant. It has a great ambiance about it, and the food is typically awesome :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
247 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good food, views, music, and atmosphere in an old cotton gin”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

In all the many years I've gone to New Braunfels, I had never eaten at the Gristmill Restaurant. Parking was tough and we circled the lot for a little while, but we lucked out on one right near the street, so it was only a short walk. The waiting area is interesting. You give your name and party number and then sit down on benches to listen to live music. Then when you table is ready they write it down on a huge chalk board at the front. We chose first available as our seating option, and lucked out again with a nice big table on the patio. The waitress team (one was in training) took our orders and explained everything we had a question on from the menu. I ordered a gristmill burger and the wife just had some onion rings and a side of potato salad. The kids had corn dogs and chips. The food was great and the views were great. We will definitely come back here in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank logandiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Surprising, but pleasantly so.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Gristmill River Restaurant (not to be confused with the Gristmill Restaurant at 1287 Gruene Road in New Braunfels) is a true find. First of all Gruene is apparently a village within the township of New Braunfels (Population around 60,000). The restaurant is behind Gruene Hall, purportedly the oldest dance hall in Texas, which still hosts live country music entertainers. Gristmill is literally below a water tower and overlooks the Guadalupe River. The building is a semi-restored cotton mill with indoor, outdoor, and under-the-roof dining. Servers are young and eager to please. My appetizer was Caesar salad, with good dressing but without anchovies, which were not available. The entree was steak, perfectly cooked and delicious, accompanied by fresh broccoli cooked al dente and garlic bread. Very satisfying. The atmosphere was friendly and only a little noisy. However, this restaurant has a maximum seating capacity of 1,000, and it may pay to call ahead to avoid trying to have dinner when Gruene Hall is booked for a popular country entertainer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobFisher2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, greater venue”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I'm not one for open air dining experiences, but this place is definitely has an essence you can't find elsewhere in Central Texas. We were seated outside on a rainy day and it was very serene! The restaurant was very busy, but the service was fairly speedy for the amount of customers!

Helpful?
Thank TheMetropolitanTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gristmill also viewed

 

Been to Gristmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing