We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gristmill

Gristmill
Ranked #5 of 259 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on a bluff overlooking the Guadalupe River, this spectacular restaurant nestled under the shade of towering oak trees has been the perfect getaway for a unique casual dining experience for thirty years. Located in the historic district of Gruene just beneath the famous Gruene water tower, we opened in 1977, serving steaks and hamburgers from a tiny kitchen in the corner of the building. Our menu still features thick steaks and large hamburgers, but the restaurant also serves up popular South Texas fare like chicken fried steak, fried catfish, grilled chicken, enormous sandwiches, fresh fish and special dishes like tomatillo chicken and bronzed catfish. Fudge pie, the enormous strawberry shortcake and our signature Jack Daniel's Pecan Pie are famous desserts. A full bar with a good wine list and fresh squeezed lime margaritas are also big hits.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Beautiful setting overlooking the Guadalupe River. Sit outside if you can. The pulled pork sandwich and onion rings are amazing. Frozen margaritas are to die for!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hippychick808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,362
    701
    217
    51
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Order the butterfly fried shrimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My daughter and I ate here and I had the butterfly fried shrimp and they were delicious. My daughter had the ribs and they we're fall off the bone tender and good. We both had a salad, which was very fresh. We had a table outside overlooking the river. It was early afternoon and the place was crowded but we had no wait. Our server was prompt and checked back with us regularly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredlady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is one of our favorites, we tend to go back here about 2-3x/yr, which is a lot for a family that doesn't eat out usually more than once a month, unless on vacation. I tend to take any out of town visitors to Gruene, as I love the atmosphere. The same for this restaurant. It has a great ambiance about it, and the food is typically awesome :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
246 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good food, views, music, and atmosphere in an old cotton gin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

In all the many years I've gone to New Braunfels, I had never eaten at the Gristmill Restaurant. Parking was tough and we circled the lot for a little while, but we lucked out on one right near the street, so it was only a short walk. The waiting area is interesting. You give your name and party number and then sit down on benches to listen to live music. Then when you table is ready they write it down on a huge chalk board at the front. We chose first available as our seating option, and lucked out again with a nice big table on the patio. The waitress team (one was in training) took our orders and explained everything we had a question on from the menu. I ordered a gristmill burger and the wife just had some onion rings and a side of potato salad. The kids had corn dogs and chips. The food was great and the views were great. We will definitely come back here in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank logandiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprising, but pleasantly so.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Gristmill River Restaurant (not to be confused with the Gristmill Restaurant at 1287 Gruene Road in New Braunfels) is a true find. First of all Gruene is apparently a village within the township of New Braunfels (Population around 60,000). The restaurant is behind Gruene Hall, purportedly the oldest dance hall in Texas, which still hosts live country music entertainers. Gristmill is literally below a water tower and overlooks the Guadalupe River. The building is a semi-restored cotton mill with indoor, outdoor, and under-the-roof dining. Servers are young and eager to please. My appetizer was Caesar salad, with good dressing but without anchovies, which were not available. The entree was steak, perfectly cooked and delicious, accompanied by fresh broccoli cooked al dente and garlic bread. Very satisfying. The atmosphere was friendly and only a little noisy. However, this restaurant has a maximum seating capacity of 1,000, and it may pay to call ahead to avoid trying to have dinner when Gruene Hall is booked for a popular country entertainer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobFisher2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gristmill also viewed

 

Been to Gristmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing