We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gruene River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gruene River Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

As a professional musician I spend alot of time in hotels. This is one of my personal favorites. The staff is courteous and a accomidating. The view of the Guadalupe river is enchanting. Spend a few days at the Gruene inn. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    26
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
58
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

I am glad I only had one night here. The mountain climb to our bedroom along tight winding wooden stairs was like a tree house and is a danger if there is a fire. The room was uncomfortable and not very clean, soap scum in the tub and dirty floors. A creaky, uncomfortable bed. Rules of what not to do or things won't work. Skimpy low grade breakfast with more rules to make sure all got a little bit. A woman working there came to our door trying to unlock our door while we were in the room shortly after check in. What was up with that? There was no peep hole to see who it was. Done with this.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheScreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Not so bad, but not so good. Bed was hard as a rock. Bathtub faucet leaked and no shower. Had no view of anything. Was close to a lot of shops and food places and within walking distance. Nice people and were helpful when TV did not work. Had a little continental breakfast which was good. If I go back I would want to stay at their main facility.

Room Tip: Call early to be able to get a room with a view of your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The price is cheaper than most other places in Gruene because it is further out from the Gristmill and all the other places but not by much. We stayed for $125 a night.

The guest living area where breakfast is served was very nicely done with easy chairs, tables, and a great view of the river. The hotel sits atop a cliff that overlooks not only the river but beautiful houses on the other side. It sits facing west so the sunset is wonderful! All rooms have this view (all are on one side of the inn). The inside has a "river" feel with metal gray doors, wooden floors that creak, and balconies that seem like they were made for a treehouse.

The rooms are nicely done with a bed, small table and two chairs, a wardrobe with a TV on top. The beds squeak a lot (mattresses are on wood slats) and our mattress was a bit warped in the middle. Ask for a King. The floors in the rooms are wood too. The balcony faces the river and you can sit on your balcony watching the sun set over the landscape. If you travel with another couple get rooms together where the two balconies are separated by a swinging door; you can open it up and have one very long balcony and be together.

The bathrooms have enormous Jacuzzi tubs that work very well. In addition the tubs are showers too with a shower curtain. The bathroom is very spacious.

The wi-fi signal is weak the further down the hall you are away from the front desk so if that is important to you get a room closer. You can use the wi-fi well in the living area.

The breakfast is served 8:30 to 10:30 with coffee beginning at 7:30. The food is a selection of things you get yourself (no waiter or hostess). Usually it is various breakfast tacos, a waffle maker, various cereals with skim milk, fruit, fruit yogart, and muffins.

You can access the river from the hotel by going through a maze of stairways and doors. Once down by the river you can get in and float down about 100 yards before you come to some rapids. There are chairs around the lawn if you want to just sit by the river.

All in all a great place to relax and unwind without paying $170 plus!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jhollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

PROS

convenient location to Gruene attractions
free breakfast (homemade tacos) and snacks/fruit
friendly staff
great view of river
rustic charm
close and onsite parking
Jacuzzi tub
cool a/c
powerful bathroom fan (to remove shower steam)
clean room
private balcony with 2 chairs and a table
gas fireplace

CONS

pricey during summer weekends, but place was still full
bed was too firm and box spring noisy (if you tend to toss and turn)
room was small, but manageable
first floor rooms can hear people walking on second floor
no mini fridge

Room Tip: Although we did not stay on the 2nd floor, it may be more quite. See my notes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisonthetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We really enjoyed this Inn. The view from our balcony was unbeatable. Snacks and drinks are readily available and the breakfast is good. It is the same assortment every morning but there is enough variety to keep you satisfied: breakfast tacos, waffles, bagels/pastries, fruit, cereal etc. I slept great in the bed but the train kept me up the first night. I didn't notice it at all on the second or third nights. The bathroom is spacious with a huge tub. It would have been better with more counter space though. The staff was friendly. It is a short walk to the shops and food in Gruene. Practically across the street is a beautiful winery that we stopped at several times. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Gruene.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have a better view if your legs can take the extra stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Gruene River Inn April 13 & 14 for 2 nights. The top floor balcony has a great view overlooking the guadalupe river. Breakfast tacos were very good & better from your balcony in the morning. Convienent to Gruene & Gruene Hall. Would stay here again. Stayed the night before at a nearby hotel for $112 so would choose Gruene River Inn for value, location and the river view with river access.

Room Tip: The top floors have the best view & no overhead wood floors creaking. If more than 1 room get si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAMMRR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
0.7 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#1 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#10 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#8 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene River Inn

Property: Gruene River Inn
Address: 1111 Gruene Road, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gruene River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2001, Gruene River Inn is one of the newest accommodations in the New Braunfels and Gruene community. Located a quarter-of-a-mile from Gruene Hall, our Inn is not far from shopping, or dining at the Gristmill. On the banks of the Guadalupe River, the Gruene River Inn gives guests panoramic views that are unmatched in the area. Guests are welcome to fish or swim out back in the Guadalupe River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gruene River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene River Hotel New Braunfels
Gruene River Inn New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing