We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVE The Gruene River Inn”
Review of Gruene River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gruene River Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We absolutely adore staying at The Gruene River Inn! We have been coming here for the past 5 years. We try to come at least twice a year! Staying here over our Thanksgiving Break is a must!!! The scenery is the best! The view of the river from the balconies is amazing! The staff is professional and courteous! They seem like family to us and we are always excited to see them and catch up! I won't tell you our favorite room because then it my be booked when we try to come back!!! :). Our pick is sooo charming! Great decor and we love the big tub and charming gas fireplace!!! If you have not come when the Inn is decorated for Christmas...this is MUST! The great room is beautiful and the homemade desserts are delicious! We really enjoy hanging in the great room and playing board games! Our stay is always a cozy and restful experience! We cannot wait it be back here in November!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed 1 night. Staff is very friendly. Loved the view of the river from the balcony!!!!! Best view of the river from anywhere!!!!!! The bed was queen size. Free breakfast. No coffee pot in yourroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill E, Owner at Gruene River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thanks for spreading the word about our one-of-a-kind view of the river, Mery! I'll be sure to let the staff know how much you enjoyed your stay. Besides possibly adding coffee pots in the rooms, is there anything else we could improve on for your next visit?

All the best,
Bill Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night. Didn't have any problems with noise like some other reviewers but we didn't get back to Gruene until 1A each night so maybe that's why.

Stayed in the Comal room. Clean but sparsely furnished with nowhere to place a bag or suitcase other than the bare hardwood floor. You have to walk through the bathroom door to the first part of the bathroom where the tub/shower is, then make a right and go through short swinging louvered doors to get to the sink/toilet. Overall size of the bathroom allows for lots of privacy but those swinging doors are really annoying after the first few times! Can't imagine the point of them.
There's a laminated sign on the bathroom wall warning "guests" that management does linen-counts and threatening to bill you if the count is off. Nothing says "Welcome" quite like that!
Speaking of towels, my boyfriend was at breakfast and I was in the shower the first morning of our stay when housekeeping knocked ON THE BATHROOM DOOR! Not the room door! Surely she heard the shower running. When I replied "I'm in the shower" she left and never came back. We left the room at 11A and returned at 6P. We had to go to the desk to ask for housekeeping/towels and were told to go back to our room, gather our used towels, and present them to the front desk before we could get clean ones. How insulting and demeaning. We had to do this because of housekeeping's mistake? Inexcusable. We are middle-aged professionals and should not be treated like kids on spring break trying to steal Walmart-quality towels.

The breakfast wasn't good. Stuck to juice and a banana. Better yet, skip it and go to the Buttermilk Cafe in New Braunfels.

The only good part of this stay was the teeny tiny balcony off the room.

I don't recommend this place at all. For the $463, there are much nicer places to stay in or near Gruene. And I bet they won't make you carry your dirty towels through the hallway and count them on the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MssMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucker15, Owner at Gruene River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. A few of our guest rooms have the swinging doors that separate the tub from the sink and toilet area. This allows for more privacy. We do have sign in our guest baths that reads"Dear Guest, the towels are inventoried upon your departure. Missing items wil be charged to your room." This notice is not meant to be offensive. After our first year open we had numerous missing towels due to the fact of the water recreation in the area such as Schlitterbahn, Guadalupe and Comal river tubing. We do offer the guest river towels upon request at the front desk. Concerning the housekeeping issue, we have addressed that as well. Sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast. We have offered the same menu for the last nine years. We serve bacon/egg, sausage/egg, potatoe/egg, and bean/ cheese breakfast tacos made fresh daily with salsa, waffle maker, oatmeal, cereal, muffins, bagels/cream cheese, fruit, yogurt,boiled eggs,assortment of pastries, orange juice, apple juice and milk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed in the little red cottages that are in town near Gruene Hall for a girlfriend reunion. The location is great but the units are shabby. The furnishings and bedding look like they all came from a garage sale in the 80's. The bedspreads looked like they had not been washed in years and smelled like perfume from the last guests. There were ants in our toothbrushes and the toilet kept backing up or not flushing. Management was nice and came and fixed it. The place needs to be painted and freshened and cleaned up. The number one unit is navy blue and is dark and depressing. The day bed is broken down and the futons look like something from a 1960's movie. Number 2 is a little nicer but old furnishings. If you just want to stack bodies near Gruene Hall then this is the place. If you want clean, nice linens and furnishings and a window you can look out then you may want to go to the Gruene Mansion Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a whim for only one night. Our room was cute and cozy, with a gorgeous view of the river, however there was no fridge or microwave in the room. This was simply inconvenient for storing leftovers or beverages. When staying over night anywhere, a fridge and microwave is always a must for us.
The bed was pretty comfy and the small gas stove in the room added to the delight of our stay. The jacuzzi bathtub was also pretty awesome, however the faucets had some major problems and were severely in need of being replaced or repaired. The bath and hand towels were the cheapest and most worn out towels I've ever used when staying in a hotel. Offering bad towels just loses something...
The next morning we had the Inn's continental breakfast in the great room. The food as well as the atmosphere was great.
Overall our stay was pleasant and we enjoyed ourselves. With a few upgrades I think the Inn would be a place worth staying again, or maybe the price per room needs to come down...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jillianclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill E, CO-OWNER at Gruene River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Jillian. While it's great to know you and your husband enjoyed your stay, I think you bring up some good points about areas where we could improve. We will certainly consider adding refrigerators and microwaves to the rooms, as the last thing we want to do is inconvenience guests with having no place to store leftovers or drinks. As for the problems with the faucets, I will have those checked out and repair them if necessary.

I appreciate you bringing all this to my attention, and I hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future. Thanks for the great feedback!

All the best,
Bill Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and myself stay here every time we spend the nite in Gruene to catch a concert at Gruene Hall. The inn is very nice as it is right on the river. The rooms are nice, and the balcony is a great place to sit at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill E, Owner at Gruene River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We welcome you and your girlfriend back anytime! It's great to hear we're the ideal place to stay after a concert at Gruene Hall, and the staff and I truly appreciate your wonderful feedback. See you again soon!

All the best,
Bill Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here two nights and loved the charm of the building and surroundings. Spent time on the porch (private from others with wood walls seperating porches) admiring the sunset and river. We had a large whirlpool tub which was fantastic!
The walk to shops, restaurants and of course Gruene hall was perfect as it ensured the surroundings were quiet!
Lady that checked us in was more then friendly and was able to suggest restaurants.
I loved this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvs2travellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#3 of 33 in New Braunfels
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#27 of 33 in New Braunfels
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
0.5 mi away
Gruene Homestead Inn
Gruene Homestead Inn
#4 of 12 in New Braunfels
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene River Inn

Address: 1111 Gruene Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range: £128 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gruene River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2001, Gruene River Inn is one of the newest accommodations in the New Braunfels and Gruene community. Located a quarter-of-a-mile from Gruene Hall, our Inn is not far from shopping, or dining at the Gristmill. On the banks of the Guadalupe River, the Gruene River Inn gives guests panoramic views that are unmatched in the area. Guests are welcome to fish or swim out back in the Guadalupe River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gruene River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene River Hotel New Braunfels
Gruene River Inn New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing