We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bait and switch technique”
Review of The Other Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Other Place
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
Cedar Park, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bait and switch technique”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have been going here for years. Its always been wonderful. This time however was different. Basically they said we could stay for one night in a cabin and get the 25% off season discount. We made the reservation, they charged my credit card the discounted rate. Then we get a phone call the day before we were to arrive and the woman said she wasnt going to give us the discount unless we stay 2 nights. Thats crazy!! We cancelled and will not be going back. They were very rude about it too. As far as I can tell that is a bait and switch technique and judging by the other comments I am not the only one who has had problems with the managment. I am reporting them to the Attorney Generals office ASAP!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    13
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
33
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Have stayed here many years with our family. Management has gotten really bad. They tell you when you can have the cabin the next year and you have to take the number of days they tell you.(which is more days that you want) The location is nice but the cabins are really old and never any improvements. The mattresses have been the same for 30 years(very bad). Will definitely find a better place next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are loud from the river noise/music. No insulation in the rooms for the noise from the cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo Ann Kendzior... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Have stayed here many times and before it was The Other Place. Many fond memories and best river location in New Bruanfels. Customer service on this trip, however, was terrible. Advertised check-in is 4:00 PM. Don't get there an hour early because the office staff will NOT let you check-in. Doesn't matter whethr the room is ready or not. They won't even check. Then they go home at 5:00 PM. You have a 1 hour window of opportunity to check-in. Not sure what they do if you are late. Then, the staff doesn't open the office until 9:00 am which means you can't check out until then. No drop box for the keys etc. I've never seen these kind of banker hours before at a "resort". I was very disappointed that the owners/staff have such a non-caring attitude toward their guests.

Room Tip: You'll need to book at least 6 months ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravisOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alton, il
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We have stayed at The Other Place since the '70s. However, this year we were disappointed with both the room assignments & the attitude of the office personnel. We placed our reservations several months in advance & requested upstairs in the duplex. We were placed in the 8plex which is considerably smaller & told by the office staff that the duplex units were unavailable because they were being "deep cleaned". After much pleading we were moved to a duplex that certainly had NOT been deep cleaned.

Room Tip: It doesn't seem to matter what you reserve, they'll put you where they want regardless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lv02shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We have stayed at The Other Place many times. This year we were there in August. As always, the location cannot be beat. We love the horseshoe that goes around the resort. You can jump in the Comal on one side of The Other Place and get out on othe other side. It's a nice 30 minute (or so) trip. If you want to get into the Comal at the top of the river there is a shuttle service that will pick you up at The Other Place. It circles through every 15 to 30 minutes. Convenience is what is great about this location. You are right around the corner from Schlitterbahn and can get anywhere in town quickly.

The staff is always very nice and helpful. The resort has a children's play area and each unit of condos has a grill and picnic tables outside so that you can enjoy a barbeque or roast marshmallows.

I recommend The Other Place to all my friends. It is definitely NOT FANCY AT ALL, but it is exactly what you need in New Braunfels.

Room Tip: I would ask for a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smaranto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

It is rustic/simple/basic, but it was great for us. Almost everyone we saw were families, most 3 generations.
BBQ pits and a nice playground, easy access to the Comal on every side, tube rental, and transport to the chutes ($). Friendly, helpful staff.
Our room was not perfectly clean, that's why 3 stars. Food left on some of the dishes, wet spot on carpet, food spilled down cabinets, and a dirty shower. Possible that they were in a hurry to clean since we got there a few minutes early.
Linens provided, kitchen fully equipped with pots, pans, dishes, etc. Microwave, fridge, stove/oven. Rags also provided.
Loved the back porch. Nice place to sit and watch the tubers go by. "Quiet time" was pretty much respected and the whole atmosphere was laid back.
The wading pool was perfect for our little ones and the adults that just wanted to get their feet wet.
Really if the place was a bit cleaner, it would have gotten a 4 or 5 star.
Super Walmart, HEB, restaurants, banks were all close by, and this was just a few blocks off the freeway, so pretty convenient, as well.

Room Tip: Almost every room has a view of the river and a balcony or deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicaloca3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Best river location in New Braunfels. Had the whole family there renting a 2 bedroom unit. Grounds are well kept. Lots of shade in the common area for sitting and visiting and eating out. Nice playground for the kids. Immediate access to the Comal River for swimming and tubing. Staff was very helpful. There were a couple of down sides. There is no daily maid service and the room (at least the unit I stayed in) was noisy. This particular building had 4 units (2 upstairs and 2 downstairs). You could hear walking from above and next door constantly. Not a big deal during the day, but it was loud enough to keep people awake at night. Just normal foot traffic, but no sound proofing at all. Still, enjoyed our stay very much and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravisOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
1.7 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#23 of 32 in New Braunfels
109 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#4 of 32 in New Braunfels
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#14 of 32 in New Braunfels
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Other Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Other Place

Property: The Other Place
Address: 385 Other Place Dr, New Braunfels, TX 78130-4546
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Other Place New Braunfels
The Other Place New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing