We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Lodging not Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We book reservations on-line for a 2-bedroom suite that sleeps 10. Three families went on vacation in mid-August for three-days. The "Resort" looks like the project homes of the 1070s and the furniture was that old as well. The TV in the living room was an old model TV. The rooms had a musty old smell to them like decay or mold that old homes get. The air units are noisy also and the controls do not work correctly - one bedroom was freezing while the other bedroom was too hot. The worst part is that the train tracks are right by the "Resort" and every few hours a train speeds by - you can hear every train speed and squeak on the track as it zooms by and blares it's whistle at least ten times a night until it gets past on its way down the track. Very horrible experience. The waterpark however was so well worth the trip. The kids and adults in our group really enjoyed the waterpark and the staff at the waterpark was great.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the "Resort" - stay at lodging close to the East end of the Park. Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank christinec174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Christine C,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience at the resort. We understand that the train noise can interrupt a good night's sleep and the City of New Braunfels has pushed for a quite zone, meaning the train can no longer blare the horn at crossings within the city limits. We are pleased to announce that as of November 6th, 2013 the track near our property is now a quite zone! I'm glad you and your family were able to enjoy the waterpark. There's so much to do and so much fun to be had!

If you'd like to discuss your experience further, feel free to call me at 830.608.3270.

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at the cabins in Blastenhoff and had a wonderful experience. Everything inside was new, updated, CLEAN and very high quality. We were continually impressed. There was even a washer and dryer for all our wet clothes and towels. It was really fabulous, from the deck in the front to the comfortable beds and full kitchen. We had our family of 4 and my parents with us and it was perfect! We all had a wonderful time and loved the cabin!

Room Tip: We loved the cabins in Blastenhoff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodgin at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Erin M,

Thank you for your recent review! We love our Riverbend Cabins! The washer and dryer really comes in handy after a long day at the park. So much so you won't even mind doing a little laundry on vacation. We hope to see you around the park in 2014!

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you stay in the older section of the "resort", the property is clean, comfortable, generously-sized, and overall a good value when you consider our rate included waterpark admissions. The only downside is that in the older section, there is a train which goes by every hour from 2 am onward - my kids didn't mind at all but it did wake up my husband and I.
Otherwise the staff was great, the place was very comfortable and included a full kitchen. We will definitely stay on the property again but might try one of the upgraded and newer places near the newer section too. They have plenty of shuttle buses between the parks so its easy to get around. The waterpark is worth it!!!!

Room Tip: Pay up a little to be in the newer section if the noise will bother you. Otherwise the combined uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gm9999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

gm9999_13,

Thank you for you recent review! I'm glad to hear that you and your family had a good time visiting the waterpark. The City of New Braunfels has applied for the train track near our property to be a quite zone. Once approved, there will no longer be train horns blowing! Although we do not have an official date for that, it is on the way. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed near the office, last minute trip - older section - but super clean - very accommodating staff. It was great to have sections of the park 1 hour early and until midnight! Will come again - more expensive rooms were gorgeous, but was thoroughly satisfied with original section rooms. Staff extremely friendly everywhere in the park - they helped show us where to get late night snacks, and all staff on rides smiled, talked, joked, helped us have a great time.

Room Tip: 2 level, 2 bedroom in original section has FULL kitchen, rather than hotel-like as the staff informe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horseexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

horseexpress,

Thank you for your review! I'm so glad to hear our staff was pleasant and accommodating. The extended ride time is a wonderful addition to our amenty list and can be enjoyed anytime the park is open. We have many different room types to offer and there is something for everyone! We hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at the beginning of their off season- a Tuesday-Thursday! We were the only ones staying in our section of cabins and let me say- the reviews saying the rooms smell nasty, are dead wrong. The room was super clean and didn't smell bad. The staff was super friendly and very accommodating! We will definitely be back, however, after seeing how quiet it can be in the off season, I don't think we will ever go during peak season! My only complaint is, the train- it is goes right past the cabins and it is LOUD! However, we were all so tired the second night from playing at the park all day- that none of us heard it! But I suggest taking ear plugs if you are a light sleeper! The last day we were there, we took advantage of the early entry for resort guests and we were the only ones there for almost an hour- it was amazing- our kids rode all of the rides several times without waiting! I do wish that when we booked our stay (in March) that someone would have told us that only 1 part of 1 park would be opened, but our kids are still young enough that they were happy! Thank you to the Resort staff for going above and beyond for my family-- y'all rock!!!!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthewandsami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

matthewandsami,

Wow! I loved your review! Thank you for your support and appreciation. Our staff is dedicated to providing specialized customer service to our guests no matter the season. I will be sure to pass this on to our Resort staff. Keep an eye out for new and exciting things at Schlitterbahn! We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed in one of the new River Bend Cabins during the week when the park was not open. The new cabins are very nice, comfortable beds, flat screen tv, and nicely equipped kitchen. Since the park was not open it was also quite. The cabin I stayed in was right next to one of the rides, however, so I would imagine it would be different with the park in operation. My only complaint is that there is no direct access to the Comal River from the Schlitterbahn property. I come for the river not the park. From the River Bend cabins though there is access at the Union Street bridge public entrance which is very close. You just cant't go through the rapids.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravisOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

TravisOklahoma,

Thank you for your review! During the Hill Country Getaway season, when the park is closed, the resort becomes a peaceful oasis in which to enjoy our wonderful city. The Comal River stays a constant 72 degrees year round and can be enjoyed throughout the year. We hope to serve you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were upgraded to a loft and it was awesome. Had a great view of the river and lived like kings. Can't wait till next year to try the tree haus. We started on a Thursday which was good crowds were low until the end of the day by all in all it was great. We left Saturday and it was packed so next year we will try to go a day earlier and leave before the weekend crowd hits.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6372tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlitterbahnNB, Director of Lodging at The Resort at Schlitterbahn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

6372tracey,

I loved reading your review! The SchlitterStein Lofts are a wonderful addition to our inventory and we are so glad to have them. If you liked the Lofts, you will love the Treehaus Luxury Suites! The view of the Comal River is spectacular from both locations. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Kathryn H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 33 in New Braunfels
560 reviews
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
#6 of 33 in New Braunfels
59 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 33 in New Braunfels
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Schlitterbahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Schlitterbahn

Address: 305 W Austin St, New Braunfels, TX 78130-4113 (Formerly Schlitterbahn Resort at New Braunfels)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Braunfels
#3 Family Hotel in New Braunfels
Price Range: £67 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Schlitterbahn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into family fun at the Resort at Schlitterbahn in New Braunfels, Texas. The Resort at Schlitterbahn intermingles the world's greatest waterpark with 211 onsite accommodations. Many rooms are so close to the action you can actually step out your door and into one of our rides. For a real family-style getaway, try one of our fully equipped vacation homes located near the waterpark. You'll find everything you need for family reunions, corporate retreats, weddings or other special gatherings - from comfy sitting areas and multiple beds to full kitchens and laundry rooms. Accommodations range from standard hotel rooms with two beds to cottages, suites and townhomes. Many units have full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Resort at Schlitterbahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlitterbahn Resort At New Braunfels Hotel New Braunfels
Schlitterbahn Waterpark Hotel
Hotel Schlitterbahn Waterpark
The Resort At Schlitterbahn New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing