We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were going to stay July 2nd through July 5th. We checked out after 1 night due to all the following: the room was a sauna when we arrived (don't enter bathroom you would've had a heat stroke), there are old style box tv's with mostly Spanish channels, the photos online are NOT what it really looks like. We decided to try to make the best of it and then we found the real problems. The toilet is not level, so it makes a thump when you get up because it falls, the mattress is probably 20yrs old and creaks, groans, and is broken in the middle, and is extremely uncomfortable(we didn't get any sleep), the wifi doesn't work(it continuously disconnects), there is only 1 grill for 16 rooms, the a/c was so clogged it took 3hrs for the room to cool down(we had to peel the ac cover off in order to even feel cold air and we had to cover the windows), trains run at 4am, 5:45am, and 6:30am. If you stay in either of the 2 cabins by the office there is an extremely steep hill all the way down to the river, so 8 months pregnant, it took me 15 minutes to climb the hill to get back to my room. I would've swam in the pool but it was green and closed. The BUSIEST time for swimming it was slimy and closed. We will NEVER come back. The checkin girl was polite.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vssxphn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

We loved the location, but the place needs lots of work. Management makes no effort to maintain the place. Over grown weeds everywhere. Rooms that don't match the photos. Poor access to the river only because they don't even try keeps the weeds down No kitchen supplies in the room. For the prices, there are much better options around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MV_014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Me and my girlfriends all stayed at the Gruene River Outpost for my bachelorette party weekend in May 2011. I wanted to float the river, cook out, and swim with my favorite gals getting our tan on. Relaxing and a good time is what I wanted and that's what we got!! This is not a fancy place, but it is not a dump either. We stayed in the duplexes that faced the river and it was perfect for us. Each duplex had a set of bunk beds and a fold out futon in the living room with a full kitchen. There is a separate bedroom that has a queen size bed I believe and one bathroom with an extra vanity outside the bathroom. We had picnic tables right outside our lodge which was great when we cooked hot dogs and played washers. There is a sand volleyball court that we did not participate in, because we were busy hanging out in the pool. The pool was a great size and it had a slide which was a lot of fun with our group. The coolest part about our river trip is that they have a tube rental on site and they take you to your starting point on a bus and then you get out at the Gruene River Outpost!!! We never had to drive anywhere. Like I said, this isn't the fanciest place, but it's clean, fun, and perfect for a river floating getaway!!
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask.
Enjoy your stay!! :)

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank ashley22lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here Oct 26-28th. It was not bad. The worst part was the beds were so loud when you moved on the mattress.They were not that uncomfortable but they made alot of noise. The bathtub could use some clean grout. The gounds were fun, We started a fire in the fire pit one night. The girl at the front desk when we checked in was not all that friendly. But our stay was okay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cksimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We were put in a room where all the rooms were being re-done - so all the others were boarded up. Ours was dirty and off by ourselves - not safe feeling at all - the check in 5/15/12 the lady was rude and not helpful at all - the check out the young lady was very nice and very helpful. We moved to a nicer motel up the road (even though our bike was being repaired across the street at the Harley Shop)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Overpriced and nasty! We just stayed during the Labor Day weekend and it was horrible. Dirty, dingy, buggy, saggy bed, tipsy toilet , employees loitering and smoking outside of our room while on their breaks, etc. Good thing I drank alot of beer while floating the river that enabled me to sleep through this nightmare. Do not fall for their flashy website and emphasis on location. It's not worth it!

Room Tip: Room 115 sucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Drodgers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

If you don't plan on getting into the water...I'd give this place a 3.5. The rooms were clean. Not fancy. (But don't expect any coffee pots or other amenities). The pool was "okay". BUT....the water in the river was awful. You know the Green "hairy" stuff (algae? Plant?) It was out of control. The water came up to my ribs...the green "sweater" came up to my hips. I can't explan how bad it was. To top it off, we had come to the river just one week before and stayed at a place about a mile down the road. That place did not have the same problems. I think we were a bit spoiled being that we had just stayed down the road...and had access to canoes, paddle boats, a bigger pool, etc. for the same price. I hate giving a bad review. The staff was so nice. But I can honestly say I will never go back there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 33 in New Braunfels
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Best Western Inn & Suites
#10 of 33 in New Braunfels
390 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
#6 of 33 in New Braunfels
67 reviews
4.5 mi away
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
#18 of 33 in New Braunfels
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene Outpost River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene Outpost River Lodge

Address: 1273 River Ter, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range: £82 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gruene Outpost River Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come on down and enjoy our laid-back, family owned river lodge in New Braunfels along the beautiful banks of the Guadalupe River. The Lodge is a place to let your hair down, relax, grab a cold beer and enjoy exciting activities on the river, from kayaking to tubing and rafting. Play a game of volleyball, dive into the sparkling swimming pool, or play video games on the big screen in our clubhouse. If none of that strikes your fancy, head to historic Gruene for some local shopping, enjoy our Texas flavors or people watch with a glass of Texas wine under the trees. Don't forget to check out Gruene Hall, the oldest dance hall in Texas. Later in the afternoon, back at The Lodge, relax in a hammock under the canopy of pecan and black oak trees. As night falls, the fireflies let you know that it is time for a campfire, s'mores and maybe a ghost story. Our accommodations and location are perfect for Snowbirds or Winter Texans as known by the locals. Many of our rooms have full kitchens and queen-size pillow-top beds. "It is a wonderful property with none of the cookie cutter look and feel of "today". It is a home away from home feel." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gruene Outpost River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene River Outpost Hotel New Braunfels
Gruene Outpost River Lodge New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing