We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 17 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charming Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

If you're a romantic like me, you have to go to this B&B. The service is fabulous, and yet still small town considering that New Braunfels is a bedroom community these days. I came here to write, relax and get away. I found this place to have everything that I needed to do nothing all day. The owners in their own way find a way to meet your needs that really feels like home. At the same time there is a quaint speakeasy type of place in the basement. It's open at night and features a baby grand old fashioned piano bar.

We had a blast not far from home. I just love Al, the infamous innkeeper, he was more than helpful. We will be back with family, as it is just minutes away from Schlitterbaun and the price is great!

Room Tip: Try to get the Texas suite, it has a private patio with little lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0llinSt0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    25
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
26
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adkins
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I do not write poor reviews lightly as I want a business to be successful enough for me to return. That works for both parties. We stayed here for one night on October 27th and at $140 felt we were taken advantage of. Our room, "the library" was very stuffy. The AC controls were locked up in a control box outside of our room. We tried to use the fan for some relief but it only had one setting - very fast and very loud. For refreshments in the room we had bottled water and pretzels. Warm sodas were available for purchase downstairs.

I expect some quaintness with the age of a place but the hot water knob in the small bathroom shower was coming out of the wall. Regular maintenance does not seem to be part of the plan. You wiil hear all of the sounds from the rooms around you (which did provide some comic relief).

We decided to see if the breakfast would save part of the stay but it was the most disappointing part. Scrambled eggs with "kolaches" that were similar Sam's Club frozen pigs in a blanket and a small bowl of fruit. We felt bad because we ate two of the four muffins which were not homemade (Valero?) before we realized that was all there were for the 10 people who be going to be dining. Not having enough food for your guests is unacceptable. Others in the dining room did not want the eggs or "kolaches" so their meal was reduced in quantity.

I read the office person's reply to someone else's poor review and rather than apologize and make an attempt to do better they were told there were other places they could have stayed. I expect the same for me. With an attitude like that it explains our experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjbugAdkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princesolmsinn, Front Office Manager at Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. But in the interest of accuracy, the cost of the Library Room is $125 per night, plus tax, not $140, as stated in the review. The $16.25 the Government charges for tax all goes to the Government, and shouldn't be counted as part of the room cost, or expected to add value to the room. Moreover, our rates are on the low side for Bed and Breakfasts in the Area, and haven't increased in 10 years, which is remarkable considering that we are the only sizeable B and B located in Downtown New Braunfels, and one of only two major places to stay downtown. Other B and B's in the Area (some of those in Gruene, for example) charge twice as much.

We provide ample amounts of food for breakfast, and most guests enjoy our breakfast very much, as evidenced by the many favorable reviews on this site. In addition to the offerings critqued by the reviewer (the hot breakfast and muffins which, by the way, are homemade, with a little help from Betty Crocker) there is also always yogurt, cereal and oatmeal. There is usually hot food and fruit salad left over, and we gladly provide seconds to anyone who asks, but most people are not accustomed to eating a large breakfast, and we have found that providing larger portions only increases waste.

About our response to the previous unfavorable review referenced by this reviewer, I can't see why we should feel the need to apologize or "promise to do better" regarding noise from traffic, trains, church bells, or a Piano Bar that we don't own or operate, since all of these are entirely beyond our control. We make every effort to warn guests before they come to stay with us that Downtown New Braunfels is not a quiet location, and that there is a Piano Bar and, sometimes, events -- both of which can be noisy -- on our premises. The aformentioned review response is in the spirit of that policy, which aims to discourage guests who come here looking for "peace and quiet" -- although it is sometimes available, depending on the the room, season, and time of the week of one's reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stay at this very cozy B&B and it was a wonderful experience. Al "Innkeeper" was very accommodating and willing to help with our family coming to town for a wedding. We rented the Feed Stores three rooms, the Carriage House, and two rooms in the main house. The courtyard was very comfy, plenty of tables & chairs with shady trees to enjoy the morning breakfast outside. Everything about this place was amazing. It's locations is very convenient to the river or a walk away from downtown New Braunfels. Thanks Al!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I was delegated by three friends to find an overnight "ladies getway" location. I had been at the Prince Solms several years ago and found that it was just as delightful as I remembered. Let me add that if my friends didn't care for the Inn I would have been in for a lifetime of good-natured ribbing. Fortunately they completely approved! We all wanted our own rooms and were in the Magnolia, Songbird, Library and Rose rooms - everyone commented on how comfortable they were. A lovely touch, which is in direct contast to the expensive mini-bars at most hotels, were the complimentary bottles of water and light snacks left for us on our dressers. The manager was helpful, informative and interesting to speak to. The Inn is quite old, had been the Comal Inn, I believe, and was on the path of the old Chisholm Trail. The Inn is well located and we drove around the town and on to the nearby town of Gruene for shopping and sightseeing. The cellar Jazz Bar at the Inn was a great ending to the day. On the way home in the morning it was completely necessary to stop at the nearby Naegelin's Bakery, the oldest in Texas, founded in 1868 fora calorie-laden supply of strudel, bear claws and cookies. Great trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lystrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I brought my teenage daughters to this charming inn for a mother/daughter trip and we stayed in the Hays loft room. At first, I was concerned that the hotel faces San Antonio street...however, there was no noise at all interrupting our fun. Al, the manager, was incredibly attentive and kind, giving us all kinds of advice on where to go and what to do. The breakfasts were hearty and Nancy, the cook and server, made sure all our needs were met. Getting around was very easy...Schlitterbahn was just a walk down the street, as was the local tubing site. We did it all--water park, tubing, wild life zoo visit, shopping--all the while feeling like were staying at someone's lovely historic home. We also got clearance to visit the on-site piano bar (with teens, I checked into this) and sang along with the piano player; my girls drank cokes. :) We truly enjoying our time at the Prince Solms Inn.

Room Tip: The Hays room offers a loft for kids to climb up to, huddle and have fun! It also gives parents thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

My family and I stayed in the Carriage House the weekend before 4th of July. While the room was spacious, it was VERY noisy! We should have known what we were in for when we saw the ear plugs that the owner left in our room for us. Not only is this on a main street with lots of loud trucks at night, there is an outdoor bar connected to a wall of the Carriage House. The first night we were there we returned from dinner to find the patio packed with people at the outside bar. There was loud music, laughing, and merryment going on until the wee hours of the morning.

Also, becuase this is a historic building from the 1880's every window and door is very poorly sealed which allows light in very early.

We have stayed at many B&Bs in the area and found Prince Solms to be lacking warm inviting charm that we have encountered other places. It felt more like an inn than a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeninaandchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princesolmsinn, Front Office Manager at Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
The Prince Solms is a historic inn where a full hot breakfast is served every morning, not a "mom and pop" type B and B in someone's quiet country home. It has been located in the same place in Downtown New Braunfels since it first opened it's doors for business 115 years ago, and the Town has grown up around it. This means it is walking distance to Schlitterbahn, tubing on the Comal River, and all the shopping, dining, and entertainment venues that the Downtown offers. The trade-off is you may have to put up with some noise, most of which the Management of the Inn has absolutely no control over (e.g. traffic, trains, bell towers, etc.). For those who want a quieter location, there are plenty of B and B's located outside of town, assuming you don't mind having to drive a few miles to get anywhere you want to go.

The Outside Cabana of the Uptown Piano Bar does not "share a wall" with the Carriage Haus room -- that statement in the above review is incorrect -- nor does any other part of the Bar. There also were no people on the Patio of the Carriage Haus in the aformentioned incidence, only people in the Courtyard which the Patio fronts on, because the Patio itself is reserved solely for guest of the Carriage Haus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My family and I stayed overnight in the Chisholm Room this past Sunday night, and had a wonderful , comfortable stay. The room had a loft with a bed which my 15 yr old daughter loved. Al was a wonderful host full of good information, told us where to have dinner and lots of info about the Inn. We will be back for sure!
Thanks Al,
The Walling's
Rockport Tx.

Room Tip: the Feedstore is great for Families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#6 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 295 East San Antonio Street, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince Solms Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Solms Inn Bed And Breakfast New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing