We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real part of New Braunfels”
Review of The Faust Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Faust Hotel
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Not generic or isolated...this hotel is the real New Braunfels. The bar is a popular watering hole for residents and there are local music gatherings there. Staff is knowledgeable. Also, I lost an item while I was there and they went the extra mile and found it. Very impressed!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsongas92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2009

The location and the hotel itself are great: 1920 style, beautiful lobby.

But for the price we paid ($100) we got an extreme small room with the tiniest queen bed we ever saw and a 'bathroom' that was not bigger than a normal restroom. Sink, toilet and shower all packed together, it felt claustrofobic. The room was filled up with a large closet, we even had no room to place our suitcases.

The next morning the breakfast was lousy: some milk, come cereal and a sweet donut. And the usual tea and coffee. The toaster was there, but no bread or bagels. The eggboiler was there, but no eggs. The rechaud was there, but nothing warm available.

When we checked out, the woman behind the counter did not have a look at us, as she was too busy talking to the people who were fixing the lights in the lobby. They had already taken our money, so apparantley we were no longer 'important' to them anymore.

Sad experience over all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas5915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We were there for a business meeting at the beautiful Sophienburg Museum but took a day to enjoy Gruene & a float down the Guadalupe (or what is left of it, the water is pretty low). Our group consists of museum professionals, so we all appreciate history and historical settings.
The Faust was a pleasant surprise. It is located in the heart of downtown, across the street from the oldest and most famous bakery in Texas and a few minutes walk to Landa Park. We had read that the 2nd & 4th floor are haunted so we given a room on the 2nd floor.
The hotel has undergone some re-modeling and the small rooms were quite cozy, they had small step up bathrooms (hey, most hotels of the era still had communal bathrooms so these reviewers should stop complaining). People who appreciate historical properties understand the fact that the rooms are tiny in comparison to the chain places along the freeway.
Our room was nice and chilly considering it was over 100 degrees outside and there was a window unit to make sure of that. Our room was very quiet even though we were near the elevator and stairwell. The bed was super comfortable and the furnishings were of period. I love the old photos on the wall in ornate frames.
For dinner try the Huisache Grill within walking distance, it is the best restaurant in new Braunfels in a historic building. Great wine list and atmosphere. A trip to New Braunfels is not complete without a stop at the New Braunfels Smokehouse. Try the smoked turkey and smoked bacon salad besides all the wonderful meats & German breads.
One note of interest:We did not see the turn of the century man walk into the elevator as the story goes but I woke in the middle of the night with the distinct feeling that someone had walked by my bed (even though my better half was fast asleep next to me)...my colleague had left the bathroom light on in her room in case she had to get up in the middle of the night, she was surprised that the light was turned off some time during the night and she insists she did not touch it.
Living or Dead...apparently there are plenty of fans of this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank feedmefarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

After reading negative reviews about The Faust, I was a little nervous about our weekend stay. However we were pleasantly surprised, it was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms were clean and the queen bed was comfortable. Sure the room was small, but it is a historic site and we had no problems with noise or any so called rude employees. They offer a light breakfast which was plenty for us. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Wanted to like this place, but didn't get to stay. Made a reservation for a Saturday in July. Cute building, looked forward to visiting the on site brewpub. Checked into my room at 3 pm. It had a strong smell of mildew, and I soon discovered that the carpeting next to the bed was soaked. Upon investigation, the ice machine in the adjacent room had leaked. The desk manager (Joel) feigned sympathy but said the hotel was booked. His only suggestion was that we stay in the room after housekeeping staff vaccums the mess. But the mildew smell was nauseating and that was an impossibility. Although many other guests had not yet arrived, we were turned away. No offer to pick up the phone to call a booking service, or even to suggest lodging elsewhere. Fortunately I live only 45 miles away so was able to return home. The next huge hassle was getting a refund (I had prepaid using an online agent). Many calls, including to a rude manager named John, who tried to cast doubt on our story. The owner, Robert Abbey, was equally unresponsive. Nobody ever returned a call; the onus was always on me to pursue this. It was not until I enlisted the help of the booking agent that they finally issued a refund.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixieAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We had our wedding here in March and the experience was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful and well-run ceremony and dinner. The staff was very nice and helpful - Doug, the wedding coordinator, was especially great. The banquet room and lobby are beautiful and have an old fashioned, vintage atmosphere.

We stayed one night at the hotel. I didn't think that the room or bathroom was unusually small as some of the other reviewers have noted. The hotel is old fashioned and very charming. People should come to the hotel knowing that they will be staying in a unique atmosphere that replicates earlier times. It's design is not modern and that's one of the reasons why I loved it. The hotel also has a bar with it's own brewery. I didn't try the beer but my husband loved it.

The downtown plaza and gazebo are just a block away. In the morning we walked down the street to the Red Rooster Cafe for a really delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newlymarried11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christiane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada New Braunfels
Ramada New Braunfels
#15 of 33 in New Braunfels
364 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 33 in New Braunfels
551 reviews
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Faust Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Faust Hotel

Address: 240 S Seguin Ave, New Braunfels, TX 78130-5119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in New Braunfels
Price Range: £67 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since coming under new ownership in July 2009, there has been a great deal of effort put towards restoring The Faust Hotel & Brewing Company to its original luxury and grandeur. The project has been extensive and is still in progress, but many changes and upgrades can be found throughout the entire property. Our newly redesigned guest suites feature 1920's Art Deco design while incorporating modern amenities including:Wireless Internet, Flat Screen Televisions, Refrigerators, Microwaves, Keurig Coffee Makers, Brita Pitchers. In addition to our guest suites, we have a variety of accommodations to suit your needs including rooms with 1 or 2 double beds, queen and king size beds. The brew pub has something to please everyone in your party: Flat screen TVs, darts, live music, trivia and the comforting surroundings of a classic brauhaus. The Faust Brewing Company now features an array of house brews, including Faust Golden Ale, Altered States German Altbier and Mike Crowe IPA, as well as a variety of seasonal favorites. Leading the production is Ray Mitteldorf, a professional brew master with 17 years experience. For a complete experience, the pub has recently launched its new tapas-style menu, created by Chef Chris Kilisz. His exclusive menu features items specifically designed for sharing and pairing with the pub’s own microbrews: their signature dish, the Faust Wellington, Mini Dogs topped with sauerkraut, sautéed bell peppers and onions and spicy mustard, and German Nachos, to name a few. Just as the pub isn’t limited to beer (there’s liquor and wine, too), the menu isn’t limited to German-inspired options: it boasts a broad spectrum of international cuisine with dishes such as the Croque Monsieur, Souvlaki Skewers, Proscuitto Caprese Bruschetta, and Cochanitas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Faust Hotel New Braunfels
Faust New Braunfels
The Faust Hotel New Braunfels, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing