We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but overpriced like all hotels in the area”
Review of MCM Elegante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MCM Elegante Hotel
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Odessa
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very nice, but overpriced like all hotels in the area”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

You can't find a decent hotel for less than $200 per night in the Permian Basin, but as hotels go the Elegante is very nice. Nice updates in the rooms on the second floor. I've heard some other rooms are a bit more dated. Staff is efficient and pleasant.

Room Tip: Pool side is a little noisy. During peak summer travel, you might want to avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thereareplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    27
    24
    17
    13
See reviews for
24
18
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I am in my room now. Waiting for someone to fix my shower so I have hot water. They do not have a buffet breakfast or a manager's reception. The bar was gross and the restaurant subpar. Every employee I have encountered so far has been totally unhelpful or unprofessional eventhough I have treated them all with respect. I tried to book a last minute manicure in the "spa" (I know spas. This place is a room with a few chairs and some Aveda products). They told me there wasn't enough time for a manicure (it was 7:15 & they close at 8). When I walked by the spa, I saw all of the employees standing around talking with each other doing nothing. It is almost 11 pm and I have to be up at 5 am for a seminar downstairs in this hotel. As of now, I can't shower. They are charging me $260 for this room. What about this hotel is 4 star???

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Odessa hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I've lived at the Elegante for a few months, and this place is horrible, even by Odessa standards. The keylocks on the back and sidedoors are never active, so anyone can (and does) come and go as they please. The whole hotel has a musty odor. If you are lucky, you might get a room with a new AC unit, otherwise you are stuck with an old one that pumps more black mold than cold air into your room. Some floors have plumbing that regularly backs up into the bathtubs which is always a fun morning surprise. Not sure there is a better way to start the day than a bathtub full of sewage. The internet connection is awful, it makes it pretty much impossible to work from the hotel. It often takes 20-30 minutes to check email, no exaggeration. The Cable is shoddy, the ice machines only work on 1 out of 3 floors, and the pool periodically gets shut down by the City of Odessa health inspector. There is a bar downstairs, and a back door where "gentlemen" like to hang out. Both spots tend to require the aid of law enforcement on a regular basis.

Now one thing I can say that is good about this crap hole is that the mattresses are pretty comfortable. Thats about it. Everything else sucks. Don't come to this hell hole.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't stay on the first 2 floors, those are the roughest rooms of all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corwyn290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Understanding the boom and the difficulty in finding hotels, this is a nice change in the area, but still pretty from from rating it 4 out of 5. Restaurant is average, but several nice places in the area, bar is extremely smoky, but so is everything else in the area. Noisy from 530-630 in the morning as the trucks leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed there twice - once before and once after flights from the Midland airport - and both visits were terrible. I have never experienced such uniformly poor service on such a consistent basis. With the oil boom, they don't have to be good to fill the rooms but if you have any choice in the matter, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angleton, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel has a lot of deferred maintenance and needs an overhaul. Most of the place seems held together by quick fixes and not decent repairs. In my room there was a gaping hole in the shower surround, stained carpets, and a mattress that was bowl shaped.

The service was average at best. While leaving for the day I notified teh housekeeper that we were out for the day and we were ready for her to clean our room. We returned later to find our room untouched, so we used dirty towels from the night before (off the dirty floor!). When I complained of the issues the front desk could care less, but they did discount our room some.

It was nice to have my morning tea at the Starbucks, which was tucked into the small room and part of the spa (no more than 10x10' total space.

Fortunately I stayed at a reduced rate since we were part of a wedding. However even then there's not much value in staying at the Elegante versus the Best Western or other smaller hotels just up the road. Don't let the name fool you as it is nothing but elegante. Pay less at a cheaper hotel and sleep better. There's too many headaches here. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stay at the MCM Elegante in Odessa every year for an event that we work at in November. There are a number of reasons we stay here, but the primary reason is how comfortable the beds are. When you have to spend an entire week at one hotel, it better be comfortable. I will say that you need to spend the extra money and try to stay on the concierge level. They have a step up in bed (even though the other beds are fine) and you get a private area/lounge/suite type place to enjoy a cook to order breakfast in the morning as well free cocktails and Hors d'oeuvres.

Keep in mind, this is an old Holiday Inn, so the walls are a little thin and it can be loud, but for Odessa, Texas, it is a locally owned place that just has a really nice touch.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the west side of the tower. The rooms that face the street tend to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.5 mi away
MCM Grande Hotel
MCM Grande Hotel
#25 of 40 in Odessa
154 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus North Odessa Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Odessa
Hampton Inn Odessa
#7 of 40 in Odessa
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Odessa
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Odessa
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Odessa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MCM Elegante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MCM Elegante Hotel

Property: MCM Elegante Hotel
Address: 5200 E University Blvd, Odessa, TX 79762-8113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Odessa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MCM Elegante Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your MCM Elegante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcm Elegante Odessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing