We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright...”

Peggy's on the Bayou
Ranked #10 of 73 Restaurants in Orange
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It was alright...”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Decent seafood that was somewhat overpriced for what you get. The restaurant inside wasn't all that nice either.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ELI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a little adventure”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The only places near the hotel were fast food and Denny's. I wanted seafood. This place was way out, down a long dark road past the oil refineries, about 8 miles from the hotel. The staff were all so friendly and the food was yummy! I had gumbo and stuffed flounder. It is right on the bayou, people come there in their boats

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tucked in on Cow Bayou, Peggys on the Bayou!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Ah Peggy. I think she started out just wanting to feed up web footed lads who fished hunted or just plain old huanted the bayou's, back waters and marshes. One thing has led to another and her food is drawing int he socialites. It's more than just the food though. When you walk in the door, someone shouts; "Grab a seat, will get to you in a minute." Just like at Grandmas.
It's not some fancy evening gown and black tie affair. No Sir, this is home. Home cooking, Southern down home hospitality and growing pains that are kinda putting a crimp in things but not to worry, she's been adding on since the first week.
It might take a bit to get your order, but this isnt a freeze dried microwave and quick fry get it out there place. It's made right.
I've pulled up to the back porch and ordered burgers, fries and bait shrimp and I've walked in the front door for a relaxing evening with a lovely lady.
Take it from a big grumpy old Swamp Irish. There might be ritzier settings with more fancy geegaws, but for just plain old good eating, finding Peggys is well worth the looking.
Give Peggys a try and see if you don't feel right at home on the back water bayous of Orange Texas! Tell Ashley Big Mike sent ya!
Oh, and Peggy does need to get a hat rack, this is still Texas and we still need a place to hang our Stetsons! We know to kick our hip boots off on the back porch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePainKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Cajun food”
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Peggy always greats us. Everyone is so nice. The restaurant isn't the cleanest but its a bait shop. You know what you're getting. The hamburgers are excellent and crawfish pistolettes are even better!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferhaley182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge City, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good local food, ambiance-not really”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Had a visitor from out of state and took to Peggy's.
Several tables were filled about 6:30 pm.
The tables were packed in as close as possible as the former "bait shack on the bayou" is really small. The dining area seems to double as storage.
They do have a porch area outside on the water, don't know if they use it--may be too hot in summer. Crab boats are parked on site, hoping that means really fresh seafood.
You can see inside the kitchen, and it's not all that pretty.
The cooks were walking in and out of kitchen in dirty aprons, dining room floor looked dirty.
I just didn't get the feeling of being really clean.
We ordered fried shrimp po boys on jalapeno bread.
Simple food on paper plates, don't expect presentation.
The poboys were tasty, but don't think I'll be returning real soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txgirl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peggy's on the Bayou also viewed

Orange, Texas Gulf Coast
Orange, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Orange, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Peggy's on the Bayou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing