We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family place”

Peggy's on the Bayou
Ranked #9 of 73 Restaurants in Orange
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good family place”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Peggy's now has two locations in Orange and we have eaten at both. I prefer the one on Hwy 62 because of the room inside. But both offer the same menu and quality of food. I've eaten the shrimp taco, gumbo, platters and pistolettes and they were all good. The service is kind of hot and cold. I've eaten there in groups and with my husband. Kids love the 'crabby patties'.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Araybtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gladewater, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

the name is absolutely correct. it sits right on the bayou. if you eat on the back screened porch, you overlook the water. a large group, on jet skis, were there, when we were. the wait staff did an excellent job of getting orders taken and delivered to tables. i got the "grilled" shrimp. it wasn't . it looked to have been boiled.my son loved it. my son and husband liked their food. all in all, great place and friendly people.walk around, outside and look at the boats docked their.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge City, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Tried it again, mixed feelings”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I really wanted this visit to succeed, so i called ahead for a table (a family birthday-table for 6 at 7pm.) The floor didn't look much cleaner on this visit, the bathroom was smelly, and the staff looked tired.
There did seem to be more space, and more tables, since they have expanded a little bit.
I think it's more than they can handle, however.
My party of six waited a long time for the food, and the place wasn't full.
The disappointing part was that four of us got food, and the other two plates arrived much later.
Gumbo was great, the crab burgers and handmade onion rings were tasty, but was disappointed in the service-it's like we ate in shifts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txgirl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It was alright...”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Decent seafood that was somewhat overpriced for what you get. The restaurant inside wasn't all that nice either.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ELI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a little adventure”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The only places near the hotel were fast food and Denny's. I wanted seafood. This place was way out, down a long dark road past the oil refineries, about 8 miles from the hotel. The staff were all so friendly and the food was yummy! I had gumbo and stuffed flounder. It is right on the bayou, people come there in their boats

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peggy's on the Bayou also viewed

Orange, Texas Gulf Coast
Orange, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Orange, Texas Gulf Coast
Bridge City, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Peggy's on the Bayou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing