We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Palacios B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2014

great location with a view over the bay. Quiet road and very peaceful. Owner very pleasant and eager to help with local information. breakfast was homemade quiche - very tasty. Had a king size bed in a very comfortable room (en suite). Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXFrequent_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a wonderful old home, located on the east bay side of Matagorda Bay. Great porches for sitting out in the evening.
The price is pretty steep for the room we had. It was called the First Floor Suite. Had a good king-sized bed in the bedroom; but the rollaway bed in the "sitting" room was completely inadequate for an adult. It would be okay for a young child.
The house needs a LOT of maintenance and cleanup, but I understand that it has just been sold, so the current owner was probably deferring all the repairs.
There aren't many places to stay in this little Gulf Coast community, so I hope the new owners will finish restoring this old beauty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 17Bob17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here with Edith one night on our way to South Padre Island. She is selling the business but the B&B is nonetheless up to par and you wouldn't know it if the signs out front was taken up. She was courteous, friendly and took some time to tell us a short bio and history of herself and the business.
Our room was tidy but relatively small 9B & B's aren't hotels you know) but was, nonetheless, comfortable adn our night's rest was peaceful and quiet.
As for the location, it is rather remote as the small town has moved on further south(?) and has left this area without close-by eating arrangements.
The accommodations price - given the location and amenities - was a bit steep but withing range.
We had a chance to walk along the bay front and that did it for exercise.
No complaints, but if given the choice again, we would skip Palacio and seek a hotel further down.
Breakfast, as it were, was OK but nothing to write home about. Good strong coffee but nothing in the way of a solid, filling breakfast to travel on.
No recommendation unless you are an author or painter and the other amenities of the location (B&B, Palacios) is of particular interest to you.

Room Tip: quite and comfortable are the hallmarks, so any room is quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwinnettTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

For the first two nights we were the only people on the property. The breakfast was good and prepared by a wonderful host, Lindsay. The room had the best of views, the Bay and the street was quiet that runs in front of the property. This is a BB so no TV, however the internet was good and there is a lot of books to keep you amused. The property is at the moment for sale and need of a redo. However, for the rates we received and the care of management we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The hikes outside were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milehighbullet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Peaceful Pelican and the little town of Palacios, Texas is the perfect place to unwind away from the hustle and bustle of the city and work life. This B&B is quaint and well put together. The views of the bay are gorgeous from the front porch or the bedroom windows. Edith is a great owner. Her breakfast and evening reception were very nice and she was a great person to talk to about Palacios. We were on a anniversary trip and she placed roses and champagne in the room so it was all ready to surprise my wife when we arrived. We will go there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3rd floor suite. Its very large with a king size bed, 2 roll aways, and 2 futons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Simply wonderful !
Mornings on the porch with hot coffee watching the sunrise.....on the bay!
5 rooms with ample size.
Bathrooms clean and fresh towels daily.
Breakfast is good and creative entrees.
Quiet.
Right across from the bay with a sea wall to walk!
And....it is for sale!

Room Tip: One suite in rear with separate parlor. Third floor has widow's walk access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Okhobieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

An authentic turn-of-the-last century beach front B&B on the historic register that has been tastefully restored and updated. Sleep-number beds, air conditioning, and modern plumbing coexist with original floors and historical fixtures. The breakfast was superb -- healthful and delicious.

Room Tip: Each room is unique...discuss your needs with the proprietor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HaapyTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast

Address: 317 E Bay Blvd, Palacios, TX 77465-4917
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Palacios
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Palacios
Price Range: £106 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of our historic 1910 home and its scenic bay front location in the quiet shrimping town of Palacios, Texas. The Peaceful Pelican is proud to offer 5 luxury rooms, all with private bathrooms, first class amenities, wireless Internet and gourmet breakfast. Just right for a romantic getaway, a business retreat, or a special trip to one of the best birding spots in the United States! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing