We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique historic hotel”
Review of Luther Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palacios
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luther Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palacios
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Past reviewers have about said it all. This is a must stop for anyone interested in south Texas history. The hotel is showing its age in places but my room was large and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Jack is a wonderful host and took me on a short tour when I arrived to tell me some of its history. Be sure to look through the great scrapbooks Jack has put together covering the history of the hotel with pictures and stories of the notables who have stayed there over the years. Later that evening we sat on the front porch, enjoying the view and the gulf breeze. Quiet and relaxing. I look forward to my next trip.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are usually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank texasrepublichistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is an old hotel that has been well maintained..It is clean and safe and the location is wonderfull..In the 30`s it was a popular resort hotel .. Many Texas governors stayed here and President LBJ slept here It is located on the bay and within walking distance of the downtown area.The seawall is about 50 yards in front and has walking trails..the climate here is typical of the Texas coast.. Palacios is a quiet relaxed town and the home of the largest shrmp boat fleet in Texas..fishing and bird watching are nearby.

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrederickK337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and granddaughter stayed in May of 2014. Jack is the best host ever. He knows what is going on in town and in the past 100 years of the town. There is so much History. Books and Books that Jack put together of letters from Lyndon B Johnson, Rita Hayworth, Sherry Temple and so many more I can't remember. The hotel is 110 years old and shows it but our room was delightful and the future itself was a treat. Wonderful soft bed, Antique dresser and a fridge and microwave. I would say great for a couple that don't want to do much in a small town. Enjoy the quietness. There is a playground direct across the very quiet street and a pier. We had a wonderful time. See you around Jack!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Tell Jack what you want and if he can make it happen, he will. South rooms of course have a bay view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_Feet_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is value for your money. It has a great position in front of the Gulf of Mexico. It has the history of one of the few remaining hotels (possibly the only one) fronting the Gulf. The Hotel looks tired, it was built in 1903, and is slowly being renovated by Jack the Owner. This added to the quaintness of it's character. Remember this is a very quiet town, no hustle & bustle. Peace and Tranquility. So if you want to Party this is not the spot. Fishing on lighted piers is great fun and good sport which are accessed from the a paved promenade. This lends it self to lovely evening walks along the waterfront. Over this last two weeks travelling, we have stayed in many hotels. This is the cleanest and the most comfortable hotel by far. Most of all, the owner Jack is a wonderful noble host, who is a great historian with a wealth of mementoes from all the famous people who stayed at the hotel (Shirley Temple & Linden Johnson) and who is always on hand to help. Thank you Jack for your hospitality. sorry we could only stay 1 night. We will be back next year for a week or two. David & Linda Powell, England

Room Tip: Continental breakfast, cereal, toast, coffee and juice. No restaurant in the hotel. A very good Mexi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank red8921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Luther Hotel was a great blast from the past. Jack is a perfect gentleman that is eager to make you comfortable and show off this historic hotel. Sitting on the front porch sipping wine and visiting with other guests while looking at the Gulf of Mexico is one of the most restful and fun experiences I have had in a long time. If you are looking for a vacation to relax and enjoy family and new friends the Luther is the place to go. Thanks Jack for a fantastic time. Wish I was there for your Easter festivities. I know it will be a great trip to the past.

Carol C.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is just a wonderful hotel. It's full of history. You expect to see Rita Hayworth walking down the hall at any minute. The rooms are very comfortable, very clean and the rate is very reasonable. The view from the front porch is fantastic. Every afternoon there is a gathering of guests who chat and enjoy the view. Jack, the hotel owner is always there mixing with the crowd. It seems like only friendly people come to this hotel. We have stayed at the Luther about 8 times over the last 10 years and are planning to go back next month. We really love this old hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Do you like vacationing by the Gulf of Mexico without the large crowds? Do you like staying in a historical hotel? Do you enjoy personal touches by the owner/staff? Then the Luther Hotel in Palacios, Texas is a must destination. Jack, the owner, tells the delightful tale of the Luther and gives a guided tour. (Ask Jack about must see area destinations like the La Petite Belle and the buffet at the Hotel Blessing. We also found the local citizenry to be tourist friendly and very helpful.) We stayed in the corner front room with a full kitchen. I could see Lucille Ball in the kitchen cooking a meal in her dress and apron. No, it wasn't her ghost and she never stayed there, but it had that 40's feel. The bedroom was updated and very comfortable. Next time we might try the Magnolia or Presidential Rooms with the balcony access. This hotel has withstood many hurricanes, but might not be there if a Category 5 hit. Whatever room you choose, you'll be able to say, "I stayed at the beautiful, historic Luther Hotel in Palacios, Texas!" Wende B.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sparklebug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palacios
24.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Lavaca
25.0 mi away
Best Western Port Lavaca Inn
Best Western Port Lavaca Inn
#3 of 8 in Port Lavaca
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Peaceful Pelican Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Port O'Connor
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Luther Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luther Hotel

Address: 408 S Bay Blvd, Palacios, TX 77465-5434
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Palacios
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palacios
Price Range: £53 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful old hotel, full of charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luther Hotel Palacios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing