We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“German Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Das Cafe
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“German Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I go for the Wienerschnitzel and German fried potatoes -- we are never disappointed and we spent 8 years in Germany

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank norm h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Echt Deutsch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Das Cafe offers excellent, authentic German cuisine, mostly for take-out because the small restaurant has only four or five tables. We found the rouladen, Jagerschnitzel, and Wienerschnitzel the equal of anything we have had in numerous trips to Germany, and the kuchen - particularly the pflammkuchen - is terrific.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank joanmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin,TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth it and especially be wary of getting a Groupon.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

They obviously don't want to serve you if you go in with a groupon. Even if you call in a to go order, they just put you on hold for about 10 minutes and then hang up. If you decide to go in and order, they will make you wait 40 minutes even if there are no other customers in the restaurant that are waiting on food.

And last but certainly not least, the food wasn't very good. My girlfriend isn't picky at all about food and even she didn't like what we got. The best thing we ordered was the turkey ciabatta but that was just one measly slice of lunch meat on day old Ciabatta.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wantabefoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Authentic German food in Central Texas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We tried this new German restaurant in Pflugerville because of a Groupon. However, we did not read the fine print on the Groupon and did not know that it only applied to 'carry out' orders. We had invited friends to join us for the dining experience, so we could not use the Groupon. Even with the unwelcome news at our arrival that we could not use the Groupon, we had a delightful evening dining in the very small dining area. The food was authentic German and very well prepared. Our friends are German descendants and were raised on home cooked German food; We all enjoyed our meal. I spent a lot of time in Germany during my military career, and also considered all of the dishes we tried to be very authentic.

When we tried to redeem our Groupon at a later date for a 'carry-out' order, we were told it would be at least a one-hour wait for our order (and perhaps even longer to 'eat in') due to the overwhelming response to a recent Groupon. The overwhelming response speaks to the quality of the food, but plan (even call) ahead before deciding to eat at this place as the wait may be much longer than you are willing to deal with.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AustinBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Das Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing