We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catfish Kingdom”

Springhill Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 116 Restaurants in Pflugerville
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Catfish Kingdom”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

If you are in the direct mood for catfish, this is the place to go if you are in the Austin/Round Rock area. Just in between the two in Pflugerville, is Springhill Restaurant. The food is darn good if you have a hankering for seafood and other foods that compliment its catfish. And there's even a menu of other fried foods such as as Chicken Fried Steak and Chicken Fried Chicken. Now with two locations. One in Pflugerville and the other in Bee Caves just on the south side of Austin. Where you will find real silverware and not plastic forks and paper plates (unless you choose the buffet where you'll receive all you can eat foods on a paper plate). Waiting staff is kind and generous and easy on the eyes. Not bad for a seafood buffet price of $11.50 which does include your drink, just not your tax. Look no place else than Springhill Restaurant for your catfish cravings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dambreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great catfish”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

When we want catfish, this is where we go. They have a great lunch buffet, too. Good food, reasonable prices. old Texas atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wjsonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I am sorry, but a sit down restaurant where you have to eat with plastic silverware? Food is average at best.

Helpful?
Thank genelary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“everyone else seems to like it...”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I live near Springhill, so I have been here multiple times. The service is usually good and the folks are friendly. Everyone I've been with at Springhill loves the food. The folks I go with usually get catfish dinners or chicken fried steaks.
I find the batter/seasoning to be too spicy for me. Clearly, I'm the odd one though.
Most folks really do enjoy Springhill which is why we go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LonghornK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“DOWN HOME and GREAT!”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

This 4-star rating is only for the food. If you're looking for a fancy-smancy place, this isn't it. Being at Springhill is just like sitting down in Mom or Grandma's kitchen. Their Deep Fried Mushrooms are the best ever. Period. Their specialty is the Catfish dinner, and with the three piece one you get all kinds of side dishes to choose from including corn, deep-fried okra, the totally yummy mushrooms, texas toast, french fries, onion rings or beans. You also get a couple of hush puppies, which I usually don't waste my time with. The glasses of soda are huge, and since everything is served on styrofoam, it's easy to take leftover home and believe me...there will be leftovers. Their serving proportions are what keeps us returning, that and the taste of the good ol' country food. They have a delicious buffet with fried chicken, fish and lots of goodies to choose from. I've never had it but it's a big seller. There are vintage signs, photo's and other goodies around the restaurant and it's got a nice, cozy feel to it. It's not far off I-35 north of Austin in Pflugerville, Texas.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jjsnork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Springhill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Springhill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing