We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Texas Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Texas Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Pharr
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

we stayed here for a month. Room was comfortable. Clean and roomy.
Pool area needs help. furniture worn and uncomfortable and very limited at pool.
Price was okay. Employees not very helpful, we had mail at the office for
a week and were never informed that it had arrived. how hard is to call the guest
room and inform us something had arrived for us.
Not very sound proof. had family next to us one night kids yelling and TV very loud
all night. Not kidding!! Noise until 3/4 in the AM

Room Tip: had room close to laundry and vending was helpful. also adjoining room only on one side so noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arl1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

This hotel is a great value for the price. Of course you know, it is a budget hotel, but with some plesant perks. The staff was very friendly. My sister and I came in very late at night and were looking for a cheap room. We choose the King Room to save a few bucks and the man at check-in graciously upgraded us to a Double Room for no extra charge. The room was very large with the two double beds, a sitting area with couch and coffee table, a desk and chair, closet, safe, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, and a full size ironing board and iron. Also, they have newer AC units that get super cold. They have a free breakfast in the morning with the basics, juices, coffee, pastries, toast and a waffle iron. Plus, free parking and free Wifi (you have to get your username and password at the desk though). The morning staff was also very friendly. So, clean rooms, convenient location, friendly staff and low price make this a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zapopan, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Even some travelers would consider location as an advantage for shopping purpouse (a few minutes away from "Rio Grande Premium Outlets" and "La Plaza Mall"), the rooms are too noisy: either get turned-on the whole night your A/C equipment or TV.
Attitude from Staff people is not the best and they lack of interest to help non-English speakers.
You ought to pay extra for Internet service in your room.

In the other hand, ammenities like TV, fridge and microwave oven at room are delightful for travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4d4l0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Hotel was great. Room was large and clean. Staff very friendly. Rates extremely affordable on their website when you have their rewards card. Will definitely come back again. Very close to airport and crossing the Mexico border.

Room Tip: Book off their website and sign up for their rewards card. When booking, don't put in your rewar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janmar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In the woods @ the end of the road
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

I've stayed here a couple of times before without any problems. When I called from San Antonio to make a reservation, the clerk told me I had given too many numbers for my credit card. When I showed up, I was told the charge would be $6 higher than the walk-in rate posted on the sign outside. My request for a non-smoking room got me a room with cigarette burns every inch around the edge of the bedside tables. When asked if rates had gone up, I got the run around from the same receptionist who had taken my reservation. She told me I had paid $43 in Sep when, in fact, I had paid $34 and took out the receipt to prove it. She then proceeded to tell me I was "disrespecting"
her. Clerks with attitude just make my day after a 900 mile drive! The owner didn't have the guts to talk with me about any of this. I left the next day and will dispute the additional charge with my credit card company as well as making a complaint to the chain's national headquarters.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hermit8547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI1357, Manager at Texas Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
I am very sorry to hear that you had this issue while staying at the Hotel, I take all guest comment to hart, and have talked with My staff to make sure that this will never happen again. I hope that you consider staying with us again.

Thank You
Krris Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pharr hotels

Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

When we traveled to the Rio Grande Valley to visit our family on the 4th of July weekend we arrived at the Inn a little early, before the regular check inn time. The employee that helped us was very courteous and friendly. Even though, we arrived a little early, he went and made arrangements so we can check into the room. The room was very clean and all the amenities of necessity were readily available. We stayed for 3 nights and the kids enjoyed the outdoor pool which was clean and well kept. The outside appearance of the hotel was pleasant and the employees were very friendly. They serve a basic continental breakfast with waffles which we got tired of after the 2nd day. The beds were a little firm but we got used to it. If we ever travel to the Rio Grande Valley we would definitely give this hotel a consideration. The hotel is a very budget friendly hotel and the service offered surpasses the price you pay for the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mglsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

I do not recommend this Hotel at all, it was a very uncomfortable stay, the room was not very well cleaned, it had small pieces of trash on the floor of food wrappings from the previous guests, the shower had no hot water, the bathroom floor was sticky, the room had a strong humidity smell because the AC was driping and was wetting the carpet. The bed comforter was very old and ragged. The TV had no remote. So as you can see theres not much to rescue about this experience, oh and I forgot to say that it took forever for the front desk to get me a room even tough I had a reservation.
Dont go to this place, they have low prices but as you can see they offer nothing. I booked this place on Hotwire and thought I was getting the lowest price, but when I got there I saw that the Hotel had lower prices than HW.
This will be a choice only if you are on a very low budget and need a place to stay for a night.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything is uncomfortable
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 604847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pharr
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 12 in Pharr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Pharr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Donna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites -- Pharr
4.0 mi away
Studio 6 McAllen
Studio 6 McAllen
#22 of 42 in McAllen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 1 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Texas Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texas Inn & Suites

Property: Texas Inn & Suites
Address: 1130 East Expressway 83, Pharr, TX 78577 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - McAllen / Pharr)
Region: United States > Texas > Pharr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Pharr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Texas Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Texas Inn & Suites is located in the beautiful Rio Grande Valley city of Pharr, Texas, just 1 mile from the city of McAllen. Our charming facility offers spacious guest rooms and suites. All suites are equipped with sofa, some with jacuzzi. We also offer ADA compliant guest rooms. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure our facility is conveniently located close to restaurants, businesses, and local landmarks. We are less than a mile away from Basilica of Our Lady of San Juan Del Valle-National Shrine. The McAllen Miller Airport is only five miles away. Tourists and day trippers will find dozens of interesting attractions. Shopping and dining in Mexico are less than five minutes away. Beach goers will enjoy the crystal blue ocean and the warm glistening sand of South Padre Island, only an hour and a half drive away. We serve a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. All guest rooms, suites and ADA compliant rooms are furnished with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, complimentary local calls, international direct calls, and wake-up service. Our lobby and front desk are open 24 hours. Fax and copy service is available at the front desk. Relax in our outdoor pool. A fresh breeze is blowing through the Rio Grande Valley, bringing with it infinite opportunities. Come and stay at our facility, you are bound to find what you are looking for at the Texas Inn & Suites in Pharr, Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Texas Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing