We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”
Review of Hotel Pharr Plaza

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pharr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pharr Plaza
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Pharr
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I stayed with my wife to do some holiday shopping. The service was excellent, the rooms were very clean. I called many hotels and Pharr Plaza had the best rates for rooms. The room had a personal refrigerator as well as a microwave. The channels that are a available on the tv are very pleasant. The location of the hotel is best for travelers. Free local calls and Wi-Fi is offered. Also very close to an HEB and other restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

No doubt if you are from the valley you are used to encountering customer service workers that do not speak English. Having lived in the RGV since the age of 8 I've picked up a good deal of Spanish, enough to work through any communication briers that usually exist.

No doubt racism was not the cause of their problems, but rather bigotry against people that don't speak Spanish. There's usually a soft-judgment against folks that 'should' speak Spanish but don't; but in this case it was so pronounced that I felt compelled to write this.

Further, as Haydens has said, the place is a dump. Despite being newly constructed, it seems that lazy, half-heart-ed, behavior is the rule of the day. In retrospect, what seemed like obvious bigotry may have simply been people trying very hard to do no work at all.

An odd thing too, given that I've only met hard working Mexican immigrants...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DuckHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

When we arrived there was wet paint in room and door ways that they did not inform us about. The bathroom still had trash from the previous occupants and room was hot and had a mysterious smell. The tile floor was extremely nasty and the grout was beyond gross. It was overall very unconfortable and not the cleanest. Very disappointed.
Oh, I also might add that there were roaches in the bath tubs.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haydens814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed a week and got extra prize. Cheap. Rooms ordinary, kept clean and neat. Ice in reception, also micro oven to lend. Quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeionMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

This Hotel is clean, nice, the rooms are big, and they have great rates.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lrgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Called hotels from Mcallen to Weslaco to find reasonable rate , microwave/fridge that would allow two small dogs. This was best, and turned out to be wonderful.
No deposit needed for my two small dogs. Some charged 20 bucks a night per dog per day - you know they don't really like dogs there...
New hotel on the south edge of town on Highway 281. Room has small fridge, lotsa hangers, and a tv and microwave in nice armoir.
TV had good channels. No alarm clock in room. Free local calls.
Very clean, really nice people hanging out in the lobby.
A resident orange tab cat gave my dogs something to be interested in.
Not near any restaurants, but a half mile north is Taco Fiesta - the best and cleanest Mex restaurant I've been to in years! So about a quarter mile north or south are different restaurants.
My GPS said it was .30 miles further than it really was. My GPS gave wrong destinations for most everything in the Rio Grande Valley.
Service was very good and nice, rooms clean as can be, outside grounds clean.
Not sure if it's the area, but after walking my dogs around the grounds, I found BIG greenish looking ticks crawling on my one dog. My dogs had a few ticks from staying at my moms, but I never saw big green ones on them before.
If you head south on 281, you'll come to the longest international bridge in the world! I drove it and my dogs over and back, as they've never been to Mexico before. It's 3 miles long one way. About two-three bucks entry each way.
Another world's biggest is the deserted Valley Fruit Company north of the hotel, but south of Highway 83. It was the biggest fruit distribution center in the world back in it's hey-days.<I>
The place to go to visit Mexico is about a half hour drive east, and south of Weslaco: Progresso. Very safe, as it's geared for tourists, and if anyone caused any problems, their town-mates would kick them out.
Pay two dollars to park, then walk a sorta long walk across the Rio Grande River. 25 cents to enter, 30 cents to re-enter USA.
Pet pharmacy on the right about two blocks in. People pharmacies all over. Best prices for my meds was at Lupitas on the left side a few blocks in. They sold more of the wicked drugs there.
Go upstairs at the Galeria (on the left) for great music the old folks and locals love to dance to while enjoying a drink. No food, but I did get their nacho plate which was ok, but wouldn't order it again. Two small STRONG margaritas and the nacho plate was 13 bucks.
Way down on the right is my favorite bar, Neon Moon, which has delightful musicians. Ask them to sing the bird whistle song, or do some Elvis, or 50 Cent, or Brooks and Dunn. Bartender there remembered my drink from two weeks ago, and everyone who goes there says the same thing! Big tile dance floor, 2 for one strong margaritas, excellent food, exceptionally great service.
Across the street from the Moon is 777 Casino. Hear there's a Boy's Town behind the 777.</I>
It's been windy the whole week I've been here so far, but otherwise the heat would be intolerable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yup2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leonor06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pharr hotels
3.5 mi away
Texas Inn & Suites
Texas Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Pharr
23 reviews
5.4 mi away
Motel 6 Pharr
Motel 6 Pharr
#8 of 12 in Pharr
33 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Pharr
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pharr - Rio Grande Valley
3.2 mi away
Value Place McAllen Pharr
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pharr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pharr Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pharr Plaza

Address: 3400 S Cage Blvd, Pharr, TX 78577-6761
Region: United States > Texas > Pharr
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Pharr
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing