We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTRAGED MOTHER OF THE BRIDE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Plainview
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Plainview
Plainview, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OUTRAGED MOTHER OF THE BRIDE”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I was outraged to receive a call on the afternoon of my daughter's wedding from my 70 year old parents that the room that they reserved had been given to the previous guest, because they wanted to extend their stay! My mother had underwent surgery a month before this day and was very weak. She requested a Double Handicapped Room and was reassured that it would be AVAILABLE. In order to secure the reservation, she gave them her Credit Card information. Needless to say, I was OUTRAGED by what had happrend to them and this wasn't the first time that this happened. A situation similar to this one happend a year before for my son's wedding! Yes, the front desk called another hotel (which was WAY under PAR for my parents!!!, especially for my mother's medical condition!) I will NOT be recommending this HOTEL to ANYONE!!!! We have been faithful customers of Holiday Inn for numerouls years and NEVER have been treated like this! Why give a Credit Card to reserve the room, if you are going to reserve it out from under your customer? You NEED to do some SERIOUS housekeeping of your LOCAL Management and STAFF!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WBUPlainview_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Plainview, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear WBUPlainview_TX,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    29
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
17
15
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We arrived at 3pm and waited almost 30 minutes for the clerk to find us a room. This was after the Holiday Inn called to confirm and attempt to change my reservation the very same morning.

We booked a little girls slumber party there three weeks in advance because of the indoor pool. We booked a double queen suite with a Jacuzzi, that was not what we received. Instead it was two full size beds for six 10 year olds. I had all of our stuff loaded on the cart and gave my daughter the keys to the room to open the door while I pushed the cart. The girls were horrified when they walked in on a guy in the shower. We went back to the front desk for another room. The clerk just gave us another room, not apologies or offer to discount our room. I don't know if she even said anything to the other guest.

This is Texas and a lot of people carry guns we were not only lucky our girls were not exposed to a nude man, but also that they were not shot.

No one checked on us to see if we needed more towels, pillows or blankets considering there were 6 kids and one adult in the room.

I will be calling Holiday Inn to complain about the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherdtradventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Plainview, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear motherdtradventures,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the room confusion and for the poor customer service which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We arrived about 10 PM to find that the 3 parking lot lights in the back part of the lot were off, which made for a very dark area. Didn't feel good about leaving our new pickup there, but there was no where else to park. Got to the room and found that the TV remote wasn't working, so called the front desk. He said he was checking in a guest, but would be up soon. Waited 30 minutes, and then took the remote to him. He'f just left, and the woman who had just come on duty said she was new, and had no idea where to find either the supply of new batteries or replacement remotes. Also, she couldn't tell us how to turn on the TV without the remote (we'd already tried everything we knew to try), so we did without TV for our stay. Another problem was the strange sink stopper in the sink. After having no luck finding how to get it open, we had to call the front desk once again. At least that time we got an answer that worked.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Plainview, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Estelle C,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the parking lot and the bathroom conditions have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
403 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

At least 40 of us were in Plainview for a high school basketball game. When we arrived at the hotel at around 10:30pm (after driving 6.5 hours), one of our hungry basketball players saw that there was an empty cookie rack at the front desk. The woman at the front desk immediately offered to make cookies for our group. We understood that it was late, and cookies would probably bee seen the next day. We did not expect that the hotel staff would make fresh cookies for all of us. The staff was also very kind in other ways. The breakfast was very good. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

With the reviews of hotels for the town this was the only place I would stay at , the front was courteous , room was clean , it was a king suite , seems like and average hotel size tho , did have a microwave and small fridge , free breakfast , that was ok , bacon and cinnamon rolls , I didn't care for the egg omlet thing they had , they had biscuits and gravy also , the hotel was not busy , so was very quiet close to Walmart , if passing thru town and to tired to drive to Amarillo , it's a safe place to stay . Amarillo would have alot more options and better prices

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Plainview, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Julesj13,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We were in town for a funeral, and they were nice enough to let us check in early. The room was pretty plain and simple, but clean. It did have a fridge, which was nice. The hotel was right near a Walmart, so that was convenient. It was a few minutes from the interstate and restaurants. My favorite part was the FREE hot breakfast! It was very good. The pool and hot tub were decent, but not lit very well (half the lights were off and we could not find a switch). They were also a bit over chlorinated. Towels were not stocked and the front desk person did not seem interested in getting off the computer long enough to stock the towels. The fitness room was small.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Plainview, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Amanda781,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our pool and customer service. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
370 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel has been updated. Rooms are what you would expect at a HI Express, clean and comfortable. Flat screen TVs. Good breakfast. Attentive service during breakfast to clear tables, refill drinks etc. best stay in Plainview.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plainview hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Plainview
Comfort Suites Plainview
#4 of 8 in Plainview
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 8 in Plainview
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Plainview
Days Inn Plainview
#5 of 8 in Plainview
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Plainview
Super 8 Plainview
#3 of 8 in Plainview
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 8 in Plainview
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Reddy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Plainview
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Plainview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Plainview

Property: Holiday Inn Express Plainview
Address: 4213 W 13th St, Plainview, TX 79072-3912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Plainview
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Plainview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest hotel in Plainview, TX! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located off I-27 beside the Wal-Mart Super Center and the JC Penny Outlet and only 2 miles from Wayland Baptist University. We are only 3 miles from Excel Beef packing plant, by Cargill and Azteca Milling Company and only mile from the Peanut Corporation of America . The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Plainview, Texas is only a mile away from the Wal-Mart Distribution Center and Covenant Hospital. Visit Plainview and view the historic downtown along with several antique stores. The Holiday Inn Express Plainview is also within walking distance to movies and 8 restaurants including Chili s. Our guests have access to the Plainview Country Club with charging privileges for golf and meals. The Holiday Inn Express features: large indoor heated pool and hot tub, fitness center, free continental breakfast and a manager s hour free of charge. Guest room amenities include: coffee-maker, micro-fridge, hairdryer, oversized work/activity desk, iron and board and hard wired high-speed Internet access. Additionally, we feature a wireless hot spot in the lobby and business center. Come and enjoy our fresh baked cookies and awesome hospitality. We know you will enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Plainview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Plainview Hotel Plainview
Holiday Inn Plainview
Plainview Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing