We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very inexpensive, kind enough front desk, but very dirty and worn out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Dallas - Plano - Southeast
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Plano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very inexpensive, kind enough front desk, but very dirty and worn out.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had a volleyball tournament this past weekend in Allen, so we found this hotel to stay in on the inexpensive list. I regret the decision.

Checkin in, the front desk staff was kind enough. He did his job, we got our room keys, and went on our way. Pulling around the parking lot, however, we realized that this place was rough. Lights were flickering, the front desk advised us to use all locks on the doors (fair enough, bad people exist), and there was a good amount of shouting going on from different directions as we were unloading the car.

Once we got into the room, the stench of cigarette smoke, bad plumbing, and saturated air coming from the old a/c unit was overwhelming. Mind you, we had a "smoke free" room. Nope. It was stank. "Alright, so it stinks a little. No big deal." Well, then we pulled the sandpaper comforters off the beds in order to check out the bedbug situation, and to our surprise there was not any obvious signs of bedbugs! Nice.

Next, the bathroom. Oh boy, the bathroom. Well, it's dirty. Big time dirty. It had constant hot water, so that was nice, but there were short and curly's all over the bathtub and scattered around on the toilet. I assume they cleaned before we got there, but it was not a thorough job. The edging of the tub and basically anywhere that there might have once been a calked seem was now an open crevice with black mildew prevalent; that explains the musty bathroom smell. So let's turn on the vent to get some stank out. It sounded like every fan blade was broken and banging against the ceiling. Crazy loud. Explains why it's most likely never used and the reason for all the moisture buildup in the bathroom that causes just another source of stench.

Towels you ask? Bring your own. Hairy, supremely exfoliating, and barely long enough to wrap around my 31" waist. They make good floormats, though. Also, bring all of your own toiletries. There was one of those tiny bars of hotel soap, and that was it. ONE bar of tiny hotel soap. We asked the desk for a little shampoo and they said they only have tiny bars of soap. Alright, to the store I go...

We stayed for two nights, and we were so exhausted by the time we got back that there was not much time to figure out the channels on their basic cable, as there was not a channel card and the on screen guide says nothing more than "cable" on every channel. But, they did have a strong wifi signal, so I had no problems getting a bit of business done in the evenings prior to bed. I was also able to stream video with my wife and daughter without much lag or glitching, so that was nice.





FINAL THOUGHTS:

If you need a place to suddenly crash overnight and you're looking for nothing more than a bed and a shower, this place will work in a pinch. Be aware though, it's straight dirty and worn out.

If you need a place for more than an impromptu overnight stay, do yourself a huge favor and spend an extra $15 a night for a place that doesn't smell like an 80 year old smoking, hoarders basement.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    14
    8
    16
See reviews for
29
13
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I would like to commend two employees at the Motel 6 Southeast in Plano, Texas, for their outstanding service! I tried to book a room for my sister who did not have a credit card of her own. Both Garius and Abrahim were extremely helpful -- offering advice on how to book through Expedia. They were extremely courteous in helping my sister get checked in. This was not the first hotel I attempted to book, and I did not received the same professional service at the other hotels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the Plano/Dallas area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozark, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

our stay at this hotel was better when it was a la quinta . . i was a housekeeper..this room is dirty...sheets worn,carpet dirty,hair everywhere,putty everywhere,mold in bathroom,tub is black,shower wall dirty, floors dirty,air doesn't work right.will not stay again.didn't even offer a new room.and had a pool but said no pool david maples

Room Tip: read these reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Worn sheets! hair on the bed, sink, floor, tub. Stained carpet. Filthy easy chair. Toilet clogs up every time it's flushed, so haven't been able to use it. Dust every where, and the best part.........the A/C unit is so filthy the air in the room is barely breathable and made me sick. All that and folks slamming doors all night. Pictures on the web site are very misleading. I regret attempting to save a few bucks. Whole property severely dated. I will never stay at a Motel 6 again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, IN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

When we made reservations this was La Quinta, but before we got there the property changed hands to Motel 6. The only good things I can say are the bed was comfy and the TV worked. The bathroom was filthy, had no shampoo etc, no radio or alarm clock, no coffee (in room or lobby), no breakfast, no iron etc. You get the idea...not a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JKJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plano hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Plano East
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Suites
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Dallas Plano/Richardson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dallas / Plano-East
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Plano-Richardson
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Dallas - Plano - Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Dallas - Plano - Southeast

Property: Motel 6 Dallas - Plano - Southeast
Address: 1820 North Central Expressway, Highway 75, Plano, TX 75074
Region: United States > Texas > Plano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Plano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Dallas - Plano - Southeast 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Plano Southeast is located off US-75 just South of Park Blvd. We are less than 5 miles from Plano Centre, shopping and dining. Our amenities include an outdoor pool, coin laundry facility, and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Dallas - Plano - Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plano La Quinta
La Quinta Plano
Motel 6 Dallas - Plano - Southeast Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing