We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible experience!”
Review of Regency Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency Star Inn
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Plano
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My family has stayed at this hotel several times. This will be our last! Upon checking in at 7pm we did not return to the room until 10pm for the night. Upon going in the bathroom we noticed a towel hanging on the back of the door. Unsure if it was a used towel we did not bother it. Upon getting ready to put my 2 year old in bed we noticed BLOOD on the sheets. We called the front desk and could not reach anyone by phone. So we went to the front desk and spoke with the person at the front desk who was not very customer services oriented. She finally decided she needed to come to the room and see what we were talking about. At that point, she grab the towel and said she could give us more sheets but they did not have any other rooms for us to move into. She also told us we should have told them about the problems when we first checked in and we informed her we did not come to the room and inspect it then. We were just getting in the room and trying to go to bed. At first, she was not even willing to change the sheets on the bed, she wanted us to do it but, we had to insist that she do it. She was more concerned that no one was going to be at the front desk. We were not given any compensation for checking into a "dirty" room or any understanding so we checked out of the hotel the next morning! Lastly, the next morning we found a dead roach in the bathroom under the sink. Upon checking out, the hotel STILL charged us for two nights and said the computer would not let them change it and we would need to call the hotel manager!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upset4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joeb_actor, General Manager at Regency Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are so sorry that you had such a bad experience. I am aghast at this myself and have had a long talk with all of my staff about allowing such a problem to happen. We did take care of the adjustment as well and assure you all the proper steps are being taken to avoid this happening in the future. Feel free to contact me at the hotel if you need further assistance or wish to discuss this in more detail. Again, our sincerest apologies for this stay, which certainly is not our standard. We hope to be able to have another opportunity to give you a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had a very nice experience. The rooms were very clean, quiet, and comfortable (if a bit small). The breakfast was great. I was traveling with 3 small children who are hard to please when it comes to food, so this was a very big deal for me! They loved having the options of waffles, yogurt and pastries each morning. The staff were all incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We accidentally forgot a pair of pants in the room when we left and the staff were kind enough to search for them, find them, and hold them for me. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will certainly stay here the next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. The only noise we heard in the room was the ding of the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennysuemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joeb_actor, General Manager at Regency Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to provide this feedback for us. We are glad that our breakfast took care of your little clan and that you had a comfortable stay at an affordable price!
With all of the restaurants within walking distance and all the shopping around us, I hope you had time to explore our city and have an enjoyable time! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spent three nights here while attending a conference in the area. The room was nice, the staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was good! The only negative was that our shower was a little temperamental, but I'm sure that was a fluke.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbody9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joeb_actor, General Manager at Regency Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you found our newly-renovated rooms, comfortable. We are addressing issue with the shower so we hope your next stay will be totally uneventful. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The flexibility and compassion of the two people we dealt with at the front desk through the week of Jan. 6-10 was a bright ray of sunshine on an otherwise difficult time.

My mother was very ill and in the Medical Center of Plano at 15th & Coit. This hotel is extremely convenient to that hospital and has multiple choices of eateries either in walking distance within the complex it is located in or very short drives away on Preston Rd. & Plano Pkwy. The rooms, the free breakfast etc....were all a high value for the reasonable room rate paid. Without a doubt, however, the finest thing this hotel offers is the front desk staff. We had to modify our reservation several times as my mother's condition changed. The man and woman we dealt with were exceedingly kind and considerate and took care of us like family.

We are grateful to you both for that!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cynoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joeb_actor, General Manager at Regency Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

We are so happy we can help you in your time of need! Being in the medical district, it tugs at our hearts to see what families go through both emotional and financially to be with their loved one during medical emergencies and procedures. That's why we always offer a flat medical rate regardless of how our regular rates may fluctuate with business in town. For those in dire need, ask the social workers at our local Plano hospitals about our Lighthouse of Hope program. We are a part of the Plano community and care about those going through medical crises in our hospitals and other care facilities. It also helps that we are surrounded by plenty of restaurants and stores within walking distance of our hotel.
We hope we can be there for you in the future should the need arise! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

No problems with this hotel at all. Joe was very nice to use at check in. Our room was neat and clean. Breakfast had a good selection. The hotel was quiet even with it be crowded due to New Years Eve. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank TravelingCess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joeb_actor, General Manager at Regency Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words! Our whole staff appreciates giving you and strives to give you great service everytime! Our location is away from the traffic, but close to many restaurants and shopping, including at least 6 restaurants within walking distance! We hope to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our room has been renovated with LG TV and granite vanity-top. The beds are comfortable. Breakfast is above average, especially for this room rate. A/C is quieter than I expected. Overall, this is a "Best Value" choice for the price range and location. However, there are still a few things need to be improved, but not deal breakers:
a. TV signals are weak.
b. Bath fan is in-effective.
c. Lots of mildew around bath tub, probably the result of the in-effective fan.
d. No power outlets near the beds.

Room Tip: No swimming pool on this property, if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sombreros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joeb_actor, General Manager at Regency Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience. We do pride ourselves in being a great value as well as providing excellent service. We are also proud of our location, surrounded by restaurants and great shopping nearby. Thank you also for bringing up the issues you had. We will work on correcting those. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was my first time staying at a Comfort Inn. I typically stay at the other Choice hotels (Comfort Inn & Suites & Sleep Inn). My experience during my stay this weekend was very disappointing from check in to check out. The front desk person did not answer the phone and was MIA from the desk when we went down after no one answered. There was no mention of the breakfast at check in. The room was disgusting. It had dingy, stained sheets, unclean toilet, microwave didn't work, a heating/ac unit that blew bits of black matter onto my bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cremes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joeb_actor, General Manager at Regency Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

We sincerely apologize for all the problems you experienced during your stay. By the description of your problems, it does sound like you were accidentally checked into a room that hadn't been cleaned/inspected. I am truly sorry and I will address this with our staff. With renovations going on, we will strive to give you a clean, comfortable room at a very nice price! Thank you again for your constructive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plano hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Dallas Plano Parkway at Preston Road
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Plano West
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Plano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Plano East
0.4 mi away
Studio 6 Dallas - Plano Medical Center
1.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Signature North Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Star Inn

Address: 5021 W Plano Pkwy, Plano, TX 75093-5008 (Formerly Comfort Inn Near Plano Medical Center)
Region: United States > Texas > Plano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Plano
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Regency Star Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Plano Medical Hotel Plano
Comfort Inn Plano
Plano Comfort Inn
Regency Star Inn Plano, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing