We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elevated comfort food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whiskey Cake

Whiskey Cake
Reserve with OpenTable
Whiskey Cake is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 875 Restaurants in Plano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Elevated comfort food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I tried the deviled eggs and fried green tomatoes appetizers. Though it sounds mundane, it is anything but that. My main course pork brisket on grits with poblanos and peach salsa. It was amazing. For desert my group shared a couple pieces of the whiskey cake. It was very good and fairly rich, so I definitely recommend sharing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    257
    76
    29
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OMG Burger- 'nough said. Actually, so much more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Whiskey Cake has become my favorite overall restaurant in DFW. It's in the perfect "center" of everything I love. Urban and hip, but not pretentious, it offers fresh, often locally sourced foods with seasonal menus, offering great local beers on tap in addition to the 'run of the mill' varieties.

It is a little drive out from Dallas, but worth it. You can't get reservations for less than 6 or 8 (can't remember), so show up on the front side of dinner rush or you can wait an hour plus.

The menu is a great eclectic mix of delicious burgers and salads and unique takes on sandwiches, but it also offers a great selection of foods that I usually don't find- except in restaurants twice its price. Examples: the duck is amazing. I am not an appetizer person, but their goat cheese and bread appetizer is striking.

Try it. You know you want to. I'll see you there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustEmHug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a chain - yay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

It may be in a mall parking lot but it is not mass produced. Fresh and different.
Very Loud and boisterous . Younger crowd. Food was well, good but I can't remember what I had...except for the whiskey cake.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkhill87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loud and meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We found Whiskey Cake In OKC and really enjoyed it. The Plano location didn't live up to the same quality. Even though it's the same design it's much louder. The service was okay. The pork, eggs and grits were mediocre at best. The first time around the pork was cold. The second time around the pork was hot but overcooked, dry and tough. The gross were to salty and the sunny side eggs were almost cooked through. The bass was good, but not fantastic. Quite a disappointing brunch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Once a great chef driven menu is now strange ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

What was once a great chef driven me u has become a weird and odd menu with some good but lots of bad. For example, wonderfully cooked duck on a bed of......heavily peppered barley. Yep, barley. With the seasonal vegetables mixed in. So not only did the barley totally throw off the profile but you couldn't even get to the veggies. Drinks are good. Very loud place. Fir the prices I expected better service that was confident in its product and discerned between a foodie experience and a wasteful
experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whiskey Cake also viewed

 

Been to Whiskey Cake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing