We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to take the kids!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Farmstead Museum

Heritage Farmstead Museum
Ranked #7 of 39 things to do in Plano
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Place to take the kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We used to take our kids here a couple of times a year. My daughter had a birthday party here in 3rd grade and it was wonderful! The girls dressed up like pioneer girls and we had a party coordinator that "taught" them a lesson in the school house. They also played party games out on the lawn that were appropriate to the time period. I would ask if they still have parties because it wassuper fun and unique!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellinTexans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    3
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
607 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“a great place for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This small park gives the young kids an opportunity to experience what life might have been like in Plano back in its early days. It is broken up into a number of interactive areas so you can skip one if they are not at all interested. It is a nice way to spend an hour and it gives the little ones an alternative to a jump house or park.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nat1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Easter Egg Hunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The is the best place for Easter Egg Hunt!! Like all places, the actual hunt lasts 1-2 minutes, with the kids gathering the eggs faster than you can think. However, before and after the egg hunt, you can show the kids an actual farm with animals and fun activities.I will keep an eye out for other holiday events here!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ttangtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Time capsule back to life in 1890”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I took my granddaughter, who is four, during Spring Break this March. She loved it here, they had extra things to do because of the break. But any young child wil love this little piece of history. Once inside it is easy to forget you are in the middle of Plano. They have beautifully cared for animals. My granddaughter loved the exotic chickens. The home is a charmingly restored 1890s Gingerbread house. The docents clearly love the property. A great place to spead an hour on a nice spring day. And don't miss the sign near the donkey pen about Mammouth Jack! Plano was once known for its huge Donkeys. Great!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 1979Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice piece of history on 4 acres in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We took our six year old granddaughter here for a pleasant outdoor activity. She loved the animals (mule, goats, sheep, chickens) and enjoyed learning what life was like before there was TV and video games. After strolling around the grounds for a bit, we took the tour which allowed us into the house and one-room school. Highly recommend the tour which makes the visit much more interesting. The docent was very knowledgeable. The museum harkens back to a slower time when people had to work a lot harder to put food on the table. There are many out-buildings (huge pole barn, blacksmith shop, root cellar, smoke shed). It was $3.50 for seniors and the same for our 6yr old granddaughter.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heritage Farmstead Museum also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Farmstead Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing