We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Travelled here in October and took advantage of a three day special offer. The room was basic but very clean. The breakfast was nothing special but we didn't expect anything more. There is quite a large pool with chairs,tables and BBQ equipment,plus the use of poolside towels. The motel is about a mile down the road from the centre of the port which in my opinion is just far enough. I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to any traveller

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDSYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Island Hotel Port Aransas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews and weren't disappointed. We had a room with 2 queen sized beds. This included a mini fridge, microwave, small table & chairs, dresser, etc. The room was very clean. Beds were comfy. A/C worked well. There is a small pet fee, but it's reasonable and pretty much the norm when traveling with pets. Good areas to walk the dog & baggies were provided for pet clean up. The room was pretty quiet. We could hear the people upstairs occasionally & some loud, drunk people outside the first night, but other than that it was peaceful. The staff was super friendly. Wi-fi is included. Pool was nice but crowded when we tried it out. A decent Breakfast is included--standard fare of pastries, cereals, fruit, waffles and the like. The location is good--a short drive to the beach & restaurants. We were happy to have found this place!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank mommyinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is a great value for the small price you pay. The room we stayed in was immaculately clean. They have a great breakfast with lots to choose from. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. It's not right on the beach front but you can get there in just a couple of minutes. Will definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILOVEJASON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Finding a time when family can come together for a mini vacation gets harder each year with grown kids who are now married. Finding a place to stay with a reasonable cost is very difficult to do along many of the popular tourist spots along the Texas coast. We knew getting something directly on the beach would be outrageously expensive. We were pleasantly surprised with the Island Hotel in Port Aransas which is only about a 5 minute drive to the beach but had very easy access coming and going. Located kinda on the south side of town directly on the main drag made for a great off the beach location. We reserved two rooms, one with kitchette & 2 beds for my wife & I and our son & his wife plus another plain room for daughter & husband along with their furry little friend. Yes, it is pet friendly, just leave a sign in the window if you leave your pet there while out on the town / at the beach. They had a nice fenced swimming pool and picinic area with small BBQ pits available. They also had outside showers / water hoses for rinsing salt/sand off before going to your room or into the pool. They also have a decent continental breakfast & dining area included in the price of the room which also help ease the cost especially with a larger group. We will definately plan on staying there again! About the only negative thing we encountered was in our kitchette which was sparsly furnished with utensils, otherwise a very good experience.

Room Tip: only about 4 have kitchettes and those go quickly. If you need that, book early. We ended up with...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmkkdx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Better than average motel on the lower end of the rate scale, equal to national chains. Rooms are modern and clean at a great rate, especially during off season. Breakfast is usual motel quality. Only negative is its remote location but on an island only a few miles long that's not big, unless you're walking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harold4855857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We arrived at 2am several nights ago. When we checked in we needed three rooms for myself and family. We brought two other families with us. Each of us have a disabled member in the family.
Andrea went out of her way to make sure we had ground floor and that our check in was smooth and speedy. upon check in, she went another step and found us a roll away bed for our daughter.
This young lady was very respectful friendly and was more than helpful in every way. My wife and I were surprised and very pleased with how pleasantly she behaved at that time of night, what a refreshing example of welcoming people into the establishment.
During our stay, we also encountered Kimmy. Oh let me just tell you. This young lady also went above and beyond by bringing extra towels and offering us anything else we need. My daughter asked her if she had anything to color on. This young lady didn't. But about five minutes or so..my daughter had forgotten about the question but Kimmy knocked on our door and presented my daughter with pages she had took the time to find and print from the computer.
This Hotel has many things to offer and such friendly and courteous staff, we will return to the area and we Will be staying with
Island Hotel.
Thank you for such a wonderful peaceful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Little Hotel Little Price with Big time service.Nice ize rooms, Pool,Breakfast extra clean rooms,shiny floors,showers, extras like microwave,fridge,coffe-maker, dinette table,bottled shampoos/conditioners. Just overall very pleasant experience excellent staff and very friendly and helpful. highly recommend this hotel if you are on a budget but looking for high quality comfort and a safe place to stay the night

Room Tip: Close to all your fishing places stay out late only a short drive to the jetties,piers,beach.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criselia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#6 of 20 in Port Aransas
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
541 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.6 mi away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#16 of 20 in Port Aransas
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Port Aransas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Port Aransas

Address: 2607 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range: £48 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Hotel Port Aransas 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one mile from the soft sand and warm surf of Port Aransas Beach, Island Hotel Port Aransas—formerly Mariner Inn & Suites—offers affordable, newly updated accommodations and a variety of amenities perfect for family vacations, weekend getaways, and winter months when you just want to soak up some sun. During your stay at our hotel in Port Aransas, lounge by our outdoor pool, have a picnic by our barbecue grills, let the kids play in the game room, or take the short, 1 mile drive to the beach for swimming, sunning and sandcastle building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Hotel Port Aransas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Hotel Port Aransas
Mariner Inn And Suites
Island Hotel Port Aransas Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing