We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came for three nights - stayed for a month”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Came upon this hotel by pure chance...their "Dog Friendly" sign attracted our attention. Very reasonable one time per stay pet fee was a bonus as well as their heated pool...when I say heated, I mean almost bathtub warm which was great for the kind of weather the south has experienced this winter.

VERY friendly staff...and free breakfast. Good location with easy access to everything.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms a quieter, I would think. Book ahead, this place fills up quickly on weekends and hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Clean room, comfortable bed. Staff friendly and helpful! Good waffles too! Changed our room to ground floor so we wouldn't have to carry luggage up stairs since we are in our later 60's. Also helped with printing up our boarding passes for our flight home!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stumbled on this little gem last time we were down in this area and immediately fell in love. The rooms are clean and neat, the water is hot, and the front dest staff are cheerful and friendly. They also have emergency sample supplies available of those little things you might forget to pack. We have stayed here twice now and both times have loved it.

Room Tip: There is an economy room that is small but you can't beat the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

It was Perfect! Awesome Hospitality, along with the Breakfast and all that, that in implies.

the Staff is Excellent! hey always happily greet you at all times and see if you are comfortable and if you are in need of anything.

I can honestly say they take care of problems and handle them. My favorite is being able to take my family pet, my little 3lb dog. So Welcoming.

Thank You Island Hotel in Port Aransas in Texas.

Lots of Gratitude,

Donna Leeth and Jo Ann S. Martinez (Girls Weekend away) for my Birthday

Room Tip: No Fitness Center or Restaurant but I felt like one was there with the Free continental Breakfast a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 981JoAnn981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is the BEST place to stay on Port A, especially with Pets!!! The ENTIRE staff was friendly and very loving to our 3 little dogs. The hotel has 2 poop bag stations so no need to buy/pack yours to clean up after your pet. It did not matter what time of day or night, someone was always available at the front desk if you needed anything. This hotel has the BEST TEXAS HOSPITALITY I have ever experienced. My husband and I had such a wonderful time that we have already booked another trip back while we were there.

The staff we visited (Megan, Lindsey and Heather) really stood out and made you feel comfortable, welcome and at home. Also the maintenance supervisor was super friendly. The cleaning staff was also friendly and accommodating! Our room was very clean and the full kitchen is similar to a condo kitchen. It had a full size fridge/freezer, range, oven, dishwasher, double sink, pots, pans, utensils, paper towels and even dishwasher soap and cloths. Our Suite had a balcony from the living room to the bedroom. Both rooms had french doors and when you opened the doors, the breeze was amazing!!! Both rooms also had flat screen TV's. The master closet was large; so if you need room for your hanging clothes and a place to store luggage, it is big enough for everything. The bathroom was HUGE. Double sink, toilet and a LARGE tub/shower combo with jets. We are shower people but I'm sure the jetted tub is awesome.

The breakfast was good. Coffee, OJ, apple juice, milk, cereals, instant oatmeal, pastries and muffins, bagels, apples and bananas and a TEXAS shaped waffle that was delicious. I highly recommend the waffles and they cooked perfectly every time.

My only suggestion to the hotel is to move the fire extinguisher from out of the kitchen directly in front of the fridge and mount on the wall next to the adjoining door next to the kitchen. I can't begin to tell you how many times I got hooked up or physically hit into it on accident just pulling stuff out of the fridge because the fridge opens to the right and NOT to the left into the wall. Not to mention that someone must have had a previous fight with the extinguisher because there is a chip in the tile directly below where the fire extinguisher is mounted.

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this HOTEL!!!! Every staff member we encountered was nice, friendly and helpful. We have been vacationing to Port A for 21 years. We've stayed at many other pet friendly hotels BUT........ ISLAND HOTEL IS THE BEST!!!! We have finally found our Port A spot!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texafornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at the Island Hotel last week and greatly enjoyed it. The owners are very nice, hotel is clean and neat and the heated pool was a real treat. Excellent place to stay while in Port A. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXace49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We absolutely lived it here. The staff and service were excellent!!! Rooms were very clean and comfy!! Breakfast was also great! We will definitely be planning to stay here again!! We arrived very late in Friday and they have us a discounted rate, which was very nice of them. Most hotels don't do that. Great location and overall excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andijoanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Aransas
0.4 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
550 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Aransas Pass/Corpus Chris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Port Aransas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Port Aransas

Address: 2607 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4818
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Aransas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range: £55 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Hotel Port Aransas 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one mile from the soft sand and warm surf of Port Aransas Beach, Island Hotel Port Aransas—formerly Mariner Inn & Suites—offers affordable, newly updated accommodations and a variety of amenities perfect for family vacations, weekend getaways, and winter months when you just want to soak up some sun. During your stay at our hotel in Port Aransas, lounge by our outdoor pool, have a picnic by our barbecue grills, let the kids play in the game room, or take the short, 1 mile drive to the beach for swimming, sunning and sandcastle building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Island Hotel Port Aransas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Hotel Port Aransas
Mariner Inn And Suites
Island Hotel Port Aransas Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing