We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good value, good location...just a bit out of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, good value, good location...just a bit out of town.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Enjoyed staying here, I like motels for a casual trip to the coast. The staff was friendly and always helpful. Heated pool was small but nice in the cool Match evening. I liked that it's not in the middle of town but out just a bit. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsyrn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    141
    24
    14
    2
See reviews for
190
123
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, VT
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The hallways and the exterior of this hotel looked a bit dirty and shabby. Our room,however, was extremely clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. An added bonus for us was the washer and dryer facility at the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed this week in one of the king suites. Nice to take a family and have room for everyone. This place is a little noisy from the traffic, but we still slept fine. Good Breakfast (waffles, oatmeal, muffins, etc.) Had trouble with our door knob, but staff went above and beyond to compensate for the trouble. Kids love the pool was a perfect 90-95 degrees. Laundry on-site is alittle outdated but worked good. You need to realize that this is not a chain hotel, but will stay there again next year. Just simply LOVE Port Arnasas.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ccash78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were impressed the moment we called the hotel requesting an early check in. The agent said normally we are sold out the night before but I do have a one room available le. I thought this was very kind as we came into town earlier than expected. Once we arrived we immediately were treated like family. I had a special request needing to keep a few things safe while I was away from the room and the staff stepped into action. The general manager was even involved and made my request happen with out any hesitation. After the beach and dinner I felt a little crispy it was late around 11 pm and went to the desk to see where I could purchase some aloe cream. She was able to find some the hotel had in stock and just gave it to me. This may not be the 4 seasons but the level of service defiantly surpasses every expectation. I have travels a lot over the years and it is the small touches this hotel does that makes all the difference. I will be back and will be booking my Memorial Day trip upon check out

Room Tip: Room 120 was perfect. Very quiet. Only thing I would request is the ability to rent movies in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

All 3 girls I met in office were SO sweet and helpful. Besides the clean rooms, there is a heated pool with cute bar area. Breakfast is included. Even a room with pool table and ping pong that I forgot to use! I always stay ON the beach when in Port Aransas - but this was great - it's changing my mind on paying so much more. It was close and easy to beach access by car. Rooms were simple - I did choose the least expensive option. Many people probably choose this hotel for option of pet (at extra charge per visit - not stay). It was great - not just for the price, either. Thanks again to the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Just ask what options for price differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyTripAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

First time to Port A, so we were not sure where to stay. This place is close to the road & a loud bar is across the street. Walls are thin so it's definitely noisy here. It's been updated nicely & clean. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast is only cold items & waffles. The hotel is a mile from the beach. There is a fridge & microwave in the room along with pergo floors which is nice at the beach.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs since it's loud at least you don't have people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This place is clean, well appointed, roomy enough and is good value. The beds are very comfortable. The location is fine and the staff are welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is nothing special, though and would be our only negative.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
517 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.6 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#17 of 20 in Port Aransas
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Port Aransas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Port Aransas

Property: Island Hotel Port Aransas
Address: 2607 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Hotel Port Aransas 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one mile from the soft sand and warm surf of Port Aransas Beach, Island Hotel Port Aransas—formerly Mariner Inn & Suites—offers affordable, newly updated accommodations and a variety of amenities perfect for family vacations, weekend getaways, and winter months when you just want to soak up some sun. During your stay at our hotel in Port Aransas, lounge by our outdoor pool, have a picnic by our barbecue grills, let the kids play in the game room, or take the short, 1 mile drive to the beach for swimming, sunning and sandcastle building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Island Hotel Port Aransas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Hotel Port Aransas
Mariner Inn And Suites
Island Hotel Port Aransas Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing