We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Converse, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was the 4th or 5th time we stayed. There and we love it every time. We love the pool, the staff is great, we enjoyed talking to tracey and lindsay especially.The breakfast is pretty good and we like that is not too far from the beach, where we spend most of our time.Just one suggestion , some benches in front of the rooms would be great. the bed was pretty comfortable. the water pressure is pretty good on the shower. we brought our bikes this time and drove them around town, the room is big enough we kept them in the room. we also liked that there are two bbq grills, we grilled on one of the evenings.
it is also great there is small coffeemaker in the room, we used it everyday. you also watch a pretty nice sunset in front of the hotel from the picknik table. there are enough parking spaces around the hotel. and if you like the take a run or walk, the road by the cemeterie takes you ho eleven st and 1 side of the street has a really wide sidewalk, it takes you all the way to g street 1 way and the other to the road by the stripes gas station. we are planning on staying again at the end of august for at least 3 nights. we are looking forward to out next trip.

Room Tip: We would recommend to stay on the 2nd floor so you do not hear any children running back and forth .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ingrid d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    138
    24
    14
    2
See reviews for
187
123
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with family for 4 nights and made for an excellent vacation! The rooms were very nice and clean and priced nicely compared to others in Port Aransas. They serve a very good continental style breakfast in the mornings along with waffles. They also allow pets so we were able to take our little doggies with us. They also waived the pet fee since we were staying 4 nights and had multiple rooms so that shows me they are good about helping people out where possible! Check into this place you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great State of Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

First of all, pricey - but what hotel in Port A isn't? The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly! They offer free continental breakfast, which consisted of fruit, oatmeal, waffles, pastries, cereals, and bagels/English muffins. Of course, juices and coffee served as well. The pool is not huge but plenty of seating around the pool. I noticed some reviewers said it was far from everything, but realistically it doesn't take more than 5 minutes to get to the main drag.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_am_patches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Island Hotel and will definitely be back. On a weeknight, it was an incredible value in comparison to nearby hotels and included free breakfast. The fact that it was dog-friendly ($20 extra per stay) meant that we could bring our new dog to the beach. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The location outside the busy section of Port Aransas was quiet and convenient. My daughter loved the pool.

Room Tip: The second floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripsterAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here over a weekend and the price was double what it is in the week. Its a basic motel not worth the weekend prices. On the plus side, it is very clean and functional, the pool area is lovely and the staff are great. You have to drive to get to anything, quite a bit out of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staff was fantastic and very cooperative to our needs. First night stay was very relaxing and comfortable. When my knee started hurting from past problems I asked for ground floor room. (no elevator and stairs made my knee hurt) The staff was very accommodating and found us another room. Enjoying our day of beach, restaurants and partying we came home for a relaxing evening in room; that was until about 3am when we were awoken with loud conversation from room next door which was also carried outside close to our door. Realizing that Port A is a very popular place for the teenage and younger crowds my wife did not want a confrontation. The next night turned out the same way only later about 4am Fortunately we were leaving the next morning. Other than the inconsiderate neighbors the hotel was itself was good, the breakfast was nice and the pool was very clean and refreshing.

Room Tip: If possible get an upstairs room where you don't have the walking and knocking noises from above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaroldEIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel was bright, cheery, and clean! The staff was so friendly, and the had the best waffle batter for breakfast. It takes less than 2 minutes to drive to the beach. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katemallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
497 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.6 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#17 of 20 in Port Aransas
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Port Aransas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Port Aransas

Property: Island Hotel Port Aransas
Address: 2607 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Hotel Port Aransas 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one mile from the soft sand and warm surf of Port Aransas Beach, Island Hotel Port Aransas—formerly Mariner Inn & Suites—offers affordable, newly updated accommodations and a variety of amenities perfect for family vacations, weekend getaways, and winter months when you just want to soak up some sun. During your stay at our hotel in Port Aransas, lounge by our outdoor pool, have a picnic by our barbecue grills, let the kids play in the game room, or take the short, 1 mile drive to the beach for swimming, sunning and sandcastle building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Island Hotel Port Aransas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Inn And Suites
Mariner Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing