We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Honest Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Honest Review”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I figured out why some reviews are outstanding and some are poor for this hotel. Its a condo hotel and the owners give it a glowing report while the other guests give it an honest review. Yes they have a GREAT pool but you can't use it even on 80 degree days cause its not heated. Only the small heated pool and 3 hot tubs are usable. Truth is this is an old hotel, with repairs needed and uncomfortable beds. Rooms are clean but dated. But not woth the $250 plus tax and RESORT fees bringing your total to over $300 a night. I expect better for that price.

Hotel is also very isolated being miles from any restuarant or store.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DAS4251987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    440
    232
    111
    81
See reviews for
1,048
187
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo for 6 nights at the end of February. Got a really good deal. It was a great stay even though the weather was cool and foggy. We made good use of the whirlpools and heated pool. It was nice to be able to walk down the boardwalk to the beach. The staff, especially Keeta, was very friendly and remembered us from day to day. The condo was nice and clean. The bathroom was clean. It was great to have a washer and dryer in the unit. There was maid service each day which is something we didn't expect from other condos we have stayed in. The only thing I would say is to get a more comfortable couch...but since each unit is different it is hard to tell what you will get. We did go to the on-site restaurant on a Friday night. The food was good although we thought it was high priced and did not have "family" prices. We did not have children with us so it was fine for us but a family with 4 children got up and left. I think that should be changed since it is the only restaurant around unless you want to by from the "over the counter" bistro downstairs.

Like I said, we were there in February. Not sure how busy it would be during spring break or summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

What an awesome place!! Although the weather was nice, we made good use of the hot tubs. Staff very friendly and accomodating. The 2 bedroom was very nice and comfortable. The resturant was not open during my staff so ate at the bristo in the hotel. Would have loved to been there when the resturant was open. Will definitely come back here and recommend this place to anyone I know going to South Texas!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I had a very good stay here. I stayed in a 2 bedroom condo overlooking the pool area. It was beautiful, clean and lots to do. The only bad thing was the weather wasn't good. I would love to go back. I might wait until later in March the next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Just went for a 2 night stay. We had a one bedroom looking over the pool. The weather was a little chilly but made the most of it. The staff was friendly and if we needed something just let them know. Room was ready at 10am like we requested. The pool and slide was closed for maintenance. We enjoyed the hot tubs that were open. Nice to have a bistro area and store at your service. The condo was clean and nice the bed was a little uncomfortable. Told front desk at check they need to upgrade bed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruiserbeachmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times, the last being August of 2013. The rooms we have stayed in were very dated, but we were never in the room anyway. The newly upgraded pool is wonderful. Our kids love the water slides. Every time we stay here we buy a beach pass, so we can also drive down the beach. The pool is huge, and the boardwalk is very long, so walking the distance of the pool and boardwalk several times a day going back and forth from the pool to the beach is NO FUN. We load up our coolers and beach items in our car every morning and park our car on the beach. We go back and forth all day without having to carry things and then at the end if the day one of us drives the car back to the resort parking. Food in the lobby is good, however we have never eaten at the restaurant. Sea weed and jelly fish vary by season. We didn't see any at the hotel beach last August, but last March there was a ton. No complaints other than outdated decor in the units. We will definitely go back. Oh.... And we saw a rattle snake on the path to the outdoor bathroom. Be careful!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank alw00d1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I visited Port Royal for close to 2 weeks in Jan. Our stay was split up between a 2 bdrm and 3 bdrm, both were super clean, beautiful view of ocean in 3 bdrm and the 2 bdrm had a view of pools and ocean, both were breathtaking. Very welcoming and warm accommodations, well-kept and stocked with everything we needed to make meals when we chose to. All we had to do was provide the food, seafood pretty much from ocean to table. Port Aransas is a quaint beach town, where after a while I imagine everyone would know your name. Restaurants were plentiful and many fed us well. Location was great for dolphin excursions, paragliding and picnics on the beach. Weather was perfect everyday we were there except 2, we were beyond thrilled! Corpus and S Padre Island are close and had some neat things to do. Our favorite was riding horses on the beach, what a thrill of a lifetime! Whenever we returned to our condo the staff was ready for us. The condos are all getting a face lift or have one already and wont disappoint, top notch. The Bistro, on site was nice for a close meal. Whatever we needed the staff was on it delivering the kind of hospitality that makes you feel like your special, we both needed that and appreciated it! Guest relations, housekeeping and maintenance were business like with a hug. Everyone was friendly and there to please. If you want a condo on the ocean we certainly recommend and vouch for Port Royal, wish I could give them 10 stars, yes, it was that good.
Thank You Port Royal for a trip we will never, ever forget. You helped make two 50ish people (thats all Im saying) feel good to be alive! We will be back ASAP.

The Ulrichs

Room Tip: Ask for a condo on top floor with a covered deck and straight on view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2ulrichsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
781 reviews
5.7 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
432 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
335 reviews
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
460 reviews
7.2 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Property: Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
Address: 6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-9712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN ISLAND VILLAGE... with all the amenities of modern civilization, we are the premier Texas resort for family fun and group events on the Gulf of Mexico. Come visit Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center, nestled among the dunes of Mustang Island in Port Aransas, Texas.We think the sea, sun and fun should be part of every memorable business meeting and vacation getaway. Miles of uncrowded beaches, tropical elegance, mild temperatures and majestic wildlife make it possible to beachcomb, frolic and enjoy the Royal Treatment year 'round at Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center.You won't find a more luxurious, full-service resort anywhere else on the Texas Gulf Coast...where the sun rises from the sea each morning to greet you with a Royal Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Ocean Hotel Port Aransas
Port Royal Ocean Resort And Conference Center
Port Royal Condos Port Aransas
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing