We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved It”
Reviewed 5 July 2006

My family and I had a great time at Port Royal. Our condo was very nice and updated. Our kids (10 & 14) had a blast on the slides at the pool. Just remember to get up early and put towels out where you want to sit for the day. There was plenty of chairs but only some with shade. The restaurant was very nice and the food was good quality. Better than any restaurant we ate at in Port Aransas (way overpriced!!). Have patience with the housekeeping staff. Sometimes they didnt show up until 4:00 or 5:00 but they did make it. Remember that you aren't the only one staying there!! Also if you are expecting the beaches to be like Cozumel then go to Cozumel. We will definately stay again next year.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    444
    236
    113
    81
See reviews for
1,059
190
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2006

We stayed 3 nights from 6/3-6/6 and had a great time!

It seems to be hit or miss with this place given some of the previous reviews, but we definitely lucked out with a hit. At the time of booking the rooms, we requested a renovated unit based on many of the reviews here. We stayed in a 3 BR suite with a total of 7 people (4 adults, 3 girls ages 3-5). When we checked in right at check-in time, we were given a renovated unit as promised ... #4101. It was extremely clean and comfortably decorated (though a bit overboard on the "jungle" theme), and everything seemed fairly new, including the furniture, bedding, large screen TV, appliances, etc.

The pools were very nice and clean. Two of the three water slides were in operation, and they were very fun, especially for the girls! Noise in the condo and by the pool was minimal, and the cleaning staff did a good job. The restaurant in the main building was decent (food was not overpriced like it could have been), but the service was a bit slow.

The only two complaints were: (1) After heavy usage of the plumbing (all showers and sinks in use), there was a mild sewer smell that would come up through the plumping. They must have been having an issue with the septic system at the time. (2) The price, even given the nice accomodations, is still very high. With all of the fees and taxes, it came to ~ $650/night. Even with splitting the bill 2-ways, it's a hefty price to pay.l

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank paulgAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 June 2006

Overpriced and overused and staff seemed overwhelmed. We enjoyed access to beach and spent time around pool. Internet access was impossible from our room and NOBODY could fix it. Our room needed upgrades to justify the price. Wouldn't return, won't recommend.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 May 2006

We stayed one night at the Port Royale May 6. Hotel "feels - and looks - dirty" - particularly in elevators, stairwells, and hallways. Rooms are utiliarian - and very dated in furnishings. For 2 adults - almost $200 for 1 night (which included a non-refundable $25 booking fee and a $4.11 damage waiver protection fee - ). The pool is huge and nice - location - right on the beach - great for large families...not so great for couples, childless folks.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2006

My husband and I took our 4 year old son to Port Aransas for the weekend of April 21st, 2006. We were so excited about our choice to stay at port Royal based on the Port Royal website boasting the largest swimming pool, and showing pictures of children on the slides etc... we were completely exhausted after the long drive down to Port Aransas, and were beyond disappointed when checking in and shown our room! We specified in our reservations that we wanted an updated room, and were assured this would be granted. However, the room that was booked for us was completely old and out of date-so much so that the carpet was stained and filthy everywhere, and the kitchen cabinets were so worn two of them were actually broken and wouldn't open! The "view" of the gulf that we requested was actually a view of a drainage pond, and one could barely see the gulf over the sand dunes! We requested another room and after MUCH trouble from the manager, and even more of our time wasted, we were shown to another room by the pool. The night only grew worse! The bad thing about Port Royal is that people are allowed to check in at any time throughout the night, and for some this may be great, but for those with small children, these people can get loud, and the luggage carts roll by your windows at every hour of the night, waking everyone in the family especially small children sleeping in the bedroom next to the outside breezeway! The night we stayed there were hundreds of college students there, checking in at all hours of the night! There was even a pool party that more resembled a "girls gone wild" video, with college students stacking in the hot tub, people on other people's shoulders, and we were even graced with the presence of one individual standing outside our "new poolside room" that chose to sing a drunken song at the top of his lungs! We notified "JC" in management, and she was the rudest, most incompetent person we have EVER encountered on staff anywhere we have traveled! At first she admitted to it being too loud at the pool, and even sent security to "deal" with the problem, assuring us all the while that she was about to call local police to handle what the security people could not... apparently she could not deal with our complaining as she then decided it was easier to ignore our phone calls! I will end this review with the fact we won in the end, demanding a full refund for a ridiculous waste of one of our precious and rare days of vacation- we apologized to our little boy over and over for him missing out on the pool that was meant to be for families and kids but was PREFERED BY MANAGEMENT TO BE LEFT IN THE HANDS OF COLLEGE STUDENTS AT 1AM, SWEARING, DRINKING, AND CONSTANT LEWD BEHAVIOR! We went to the SandPiper up the road and were blessed to find professionals there, who know how to treat their guests! Hey- if Port Royal would rather entertain drunken and beligerant college students than the families their resort was truly built for, then I strongly suggest the owners take another look at the management in place there, because all that will result are damages to the property, and constant complaints from those poor souls who mistakenly selected Port Royal as their family vacation destination. Hope this saves even one family some heartache. Don't be mislead!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
46 Thank family_of_3NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 April 2006

I won a weekend off one of the local radio stations back in 2003. I was so excited! We got to stay in the radio station's condo for the weekend (Friday and Saturday nights, leaving Sunday) and got a free dinner for 2 on Saturday night. It was my first trip to the beach since I've been here - 1965. It was an extremely memorable one too. I had a friend and her two daughters with me and we just had a terrific time. The condo we stayed in was absolutely beautiful and a lot of fun. Very pleasurable. It got me hooked on the coast and have since gone to S. Padre (2005) and will be going again this year, 4/28-30. 2007 will be back to Port Royal again. The people working there were extremely pleasant and helpful. The meal at their restaurant was excellent. Everything was awesome. The only thing that has kept me from going back there is, of course, having money. Planning next years' stay a whole year in advance, I ought to be able to get the money together. :) "I" highly recommend the accommodations. Hopefully it's only gotten better since June of 2003.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 April 2006

My kids (ages 21, 20, 18, and 15) and I had the special rate of $115 a night for a gulf view 2 bedroom March 21st thru the 24th. Since we had the special rate we expected to get a less desirable unit. That was not the case at all. Our unit (#6322) was exceptionally clean and had a great view of the gulf.

Although check-in time was 4:00, we arrived about 2:30 and our unit wasn't quite ready. We took a look at the pool and in about 5 minutes we were able to check in. A new girl was training, and was very pleasant and efficient. When we got to our assigned parking space there were three other cars in our spot. (Your assigned parking space will hold 3 vehicles.) We contacted the office and they were very prompt in finding out who the cars belongs to and getting them moved.

The condo was awesome. The decor was great. The living room area was nice and open. The living room and kitchen area were tile, so we didn't have to worry too much about tracking sand in. It had a sofa, chair, and love seat, providing plenty of room for us to all sit down to watch television. (Although we were so busy I think my son was the only one who took time to watch tv in the evenings.) It had a vcr/dvd player, which was nice since our son could watch his movies.

The kitchen had a nice big dining room table. It was really nice to be able to cook at the condo, since the nearest fast food was 15 minutes or so away. We went into Port Aransas to the local IGA for groceries, which all seemed reasonably priced. It had a full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, and trash compactor. All dishes and cookware were provided. There was also a washer and dryer, which was great because we were able to pack less clothes, as well as wash and dry swimsuits and beach towels each night.

The master bedroom was nice and big, with a jacuzzi in the master bathroom. It had a king size bed and a large television. It had a huge walk-in closet.

The second bedroom was decorated in a beach/gulf theme and was very nice. It had a queen size bed. It also had a walk-in closet and a separate bathroom. The bedroom also had a television.

The desk with high speed internet was great. They provided the ethernet cord, so we just had to plug our laptop in and were able to send everyone back home pictures of all the fun we were having.

The balcony had a table and chairs as well as a couple of lounge chairs. It was a little warm our first night there and sitting on the balcony enjoying the breeze off the gulf was very nice.

The maids were excellent. I wish we could have taken them home with us! They made the beds, vacuumed the bedrooms, swept the floors, emptied the trash, left clean towels, and even loaded and unloaded the dishwasher each day.

The pool was fantastic. It was nice and clean, which must be a chore with the size of it. They had just finished installing the new slide, which the kids loved. They even called us a few days before our arrival to let us know they would be finishing up some landscaping work around the new slide area. The pool was still open, as well as the slide. They just wanted to let us know they would be doing some work and might be making a little noise from time to time during the day. We saw them working, but never heard any noise from the workers. I thought it was very nice for them to let us know what to expect though. We went to the hot tubs in the evenings (there were 3 or 4 of them), which was very relaxing after a long day. The bar at the pool was very nice too.

The walk to the beach wasn't bad at all. They even had security at the gate to the walkway to keep out anyone who wasn't staying at the resort. The beach area was nice. There were quite a few spring breakers in their late teens/early twenties, but they were very respectful of the families with smaller kids while we were there.

We loved Port Aransas. It is a small town with several shops where we all found reasonably priced t-shirts and other souvenirs to take home. There were a few restaurants, but no fast food places that we saw. That wasn't a problem for us though, since we preferred to cook our own meals to have money to spend on other things. We took the free ferry and saw several dolphins while on it.

Overall it was an excellent trip. We will go again next spring break, but will stay a full week next time.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
5.7 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
7.2 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Property: Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
Address: 6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-9712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN ISLAND VILLAGE... with all the amenities of modern civilization, we are the premier Texas resort for family fun and group events on the Gulf of Mexico. Come visit Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center, nestled among the dunes of Mustang Island in Port Aransas, Texas.We think the sea, sun and fun should be part of every memorable business meeting and vacation getaway. Miles of uncrowded beaches, tropical elegance, mild temperatures and majestic wildlife make it possible to beachcomb, frolic and enjoy the Royal Treatment year 'round at Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center.You won't find a more luxurious, full-service resort anywhere else on the Texas Gulf Coast...where the sun rises from the sea each morning to greet you with a Royal Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Ocean Hotel Port Aransas
Port Royal Ocean Resort And Conference Center
Port Royal Condos Port Aransas
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing