We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Port Aransas TX(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Hotel Port Aransas(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amelia's Landing Hotel(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain's Quarters Inn(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Suites(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropic Island Resort(Port Aransas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,632)
Filter reviews
1,632 results
Traveller rating
700
469
250
126
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
700
469
250
126
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barlife guardssplash padpool areanice resortbedroom condobeach accessthe grillfamily vacationoff seasonwasher and dryerget awayocean viewcorpus christifull kitchenspring breakslides
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,554 - 1,559 of 1,632 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We stayed at Port Royal for 3 nights with another family in a 3 bedroom condo. The room was ok, decorated with typical beachy stuff, but he towels & bed linens felt like we checked into a bottom-rate motel!! Horrible for $600 -a- night prices.

The main attraction here is the pool. We were able to take all our own drinks & food down to the pool. I suppose most places won't let you do that.

The manager was an idiot, by the way. He found our 9 yr old after she slipped on the stairs to the slide. He marches her over to us, like a principal at school with a kid in trouble, and tells us we have to fill out an accident report. She is traumatized by the whole scene and is crying, and he had absolutely no concern for her. He had no public relations skills whatsoever. More people in our group had reported him to be just as bad with their dealings.

For this kind of money , I'm going to the kind of place that actually works for it, like a Hyatt!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank molleetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

Each year our family (8 of us) selects a week of vacation in which we take down at the Texas Coast. In years past we've stayed in Corpus
Christi at the Holiday Inn on Emerald Beach, but this year we decided
to make a change and stay in Port Aransas in a 3 bedroom condo at Port Royal....what a HUGE mistake!

Upon arrival, we immediately noticed the obvious wear and tear our condo had (front door paint was half missing, looked like it had been
kicked in and the door to the patio stuck so badly the teenagers could hardly open on their own), but it wasn't until that night that our problems really began to surface.

To make an incredibly miserable story short, our 2nd bathroom was not
functioning (plugs not working and the shower and sink faucets had no
hot water, shower knob had no stopping point) so every last 8 of us had one shower for 3 days. After sitting in our room for the entire first day of our stay without any water, while three maintenance men and a local plumber tried to resolve the problem, we now had a working shower knob, but no hot water in the sinks or shower!

Maintenance returned for the 2nd day, where they were able to give us scalding water and hot water as choices for a shower.

During the 2nd day, while waiting for maintenance to arrive, my dad woke up in the master bedroom complaining that his eyes were burning.
After checking underneath the bed we found a dirty diaper and a baby toy. (note: we didn't have anyone younger than 12 years old in our room) After fixing breakfast we opened the dishwasher only to find food in the bottom! That was about all I could take.

On our third day we finally had cool water to shower, but H was cold and C was hot, but still not hot water in the sinks. But we didn't complain because we didn't want to be stuck in our room for another entire day while maintenance and the plumber tried another attempt. We were just happy to finally enjoy a 2nd shower and make it to dinner at a decent time.

I'm not an extremely picky person, I can deal with the fact that older hotels will have some 'run down issues', but paying $600+/night
for a condo that didn't even function properly until half of our stay
was up is what I had an issue with...and still do!

I made an appointment with the General Manager during our stay who did compensate for one night and a free dinner, but it's sad and unfortunate that we only had 2 days out of our entire week where we were all able to leave the room and enjoy the beach and poolside.

NOTE TO MANAGEMENT:Have a DRCR (Daily Room Condition Report) so you can stay on top of your unit problems. I feel like we ironed out most
of the kinks for the next guests to have a nice stay while we suffered through half of ours. Also try investing some of your profit back into the property itself, quality is lacking.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Beachy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We just returned from a 4-night stay at Port Royal and we had a great time! After booking our 2-bedroom condo, I read some of the negative reviews here and was a bit worried! But all turned out well. First of all, the staff was very friendly and informative when we booked our condo. They answered all my questions completely. Then, the day before we were to arrive, something came up and we needed to change our arrival and departure dates. I called and they were able to change our dates, with no added charges or penalties. Again the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Our condo was very nice. Sure, the decor was a little dated, but so what?! The condo was large and completely furnished. All the appliances were quite new, clean, and worked great. The kitchen was completely furnished with pots and pans, dishes, coffee maker (and complimentary coffee), toaster, dishwasher....everything! There is daily housekeeping service, and they were very thorough and efficient. (They even loaded the dishwasher for us when we left dirty dishes in the sink!) The only negatives about the condo were the outside (could use a little sprucing up, a fresh coat of paint), and the balcony. We had one of the "partial gulf view" 2-bedroom condos. (The other choice for the 2-bedrooms is the pool-side view.) The condos are set off the beach and at an angle, so there isn't too much of a gulf view, more a view of grass. We probably would have preferred the pool side view. (Or a 3-bedroom condo with a full gulf view.)

The pool is great!! It is very large, clean, with lots of pool chairs and tables. Also, there are 4 large hot tubs, and 2 swim-up bars, one of which also served food. We loved the pool!!

There is a long boardwalk leading to the beach. It's a good walk but not too far. There are showers to clean off the sand when you get back. The beach was nice. One day is was extremely calm, hardly any waves, then another, it was extremely rough, lots of big waves. Just depends on the weather!

We ate one dinner at the hotel restaurant, which provides a great view of the pool and the gulf. It was good and not too expensive. Service was good. We also got pizza at the on-site pizzeria. It was very good and again, not too expensive. We also purchased several items at the store. It was nice having some forgotten essentials (and late-night snacks!) readily available. Again, they could have really over-charged, but they didn't.

The location of Port Royal is nice, as it is between Port Aransas and Corpus Christi. It was just short drive to either. We ate several dinners in Port Aransas, and they have a nice selection of restaurants, from pizza to seafood. There are also many gift shops, fishing excursions, etc. We also drove the other way down the beach towards Corpus Christi for some fun miniature golfing. If you want to go all the way to downtown Corpus, it's about a 30 minute drive. There's plenty to do in Corpus (Aquarium, USS Lexington, fishing, shopping, etc.)

A couple of things to note. First of all, we stayed Monday through Friday, at the end of July. It was not too crowded, and was very family-friendly. I have a feeling that the weekend would be much busier and maybe a little younger crowd. (We noticed a lot of folks checking in on Thursday, and Thursday night the hot-tubs were packed with twenty-somethings.) So if you are looking for a family vacation, I would definitely recommend going early in the week as opposed to the weekend.

Second, consider the location. This is the Texas gulf coast, not Cancun or Hawaii! If you are looking for large, soft white sandy beaches and clear blue water, this probably isn't the place for you. The beach is nice, though. It is a drive-on beach all along Mustang Island, but it's not dangerous, the cars drive very slowly and folks are just looking for a place to park and get out. We saw very few cars actually driving along the beach - it's really not anything to be concerned about. Just don't expect the beach to be something it's not. (If you want Hawaii, you'll have to go to Hawaii!)

All in all, we were very happy with our stay at Port Royal!! We would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sejmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2007

Thinking we were staying at a 5 star resort with nice updated furnishings,
We were sadly mistaken, For spending over 1000.00 for 3 nights in a condo that looks like it was furnished by garage sale finds from the 80's.
Hasnt been updated in proably 20 years, walls could use painting,
furniture was minimal and the whole condo was very cheaply furnished. Bed spread was paper thin and the ceramic floors needed a good bleaching very dirty,
Upon reaching the room as you stand outside the door the door was very dirty with mildew and paint peeling off and looks like the whole outside need a good power washing even the stairwell was grungy

I was disappointed, I have never spent 292.00 a night a it looked like a college kids apt with old furniture

I wish I would have checked into this more. But all our friends say this place was great,

Maybe not all the condos were like ours but
ours was a 1 bedroom king and it was terrible.
We had to park very far from our room as well


Pools were gourgous long walk to beach but maintained nicely


I wish I could get some kind of refund because I feel ripped off

We left after 2 days even though we paid for 3

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank Dunkysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

We stayed during Spring Break and the hotel did a great job of the wild Spring Break crowd at bay. The only down side was that the beach was a drive on beach, not too great for young kids. They have a little store on site that stocks the regular beach essentials. The pizza shop is located downstairs and it's not so great, but it's not horrible...convience is key.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TXbeachluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews