We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Small Complex!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mustang Island Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mustang Island Beach Club
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice, Small Complex!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised at how friendly all the families were here! The grounds were clean and they have great covered parking. If you have a big vehicle, parking will be hard as the spots are tight. Our unit (#111) was clean and had everything we needed. The pool is small, and if it were a busy weekend, it would be extremely crowded. There is also no shade during most of the day around the pool. The walk to the beach down a little road is easy, but watch for snakes - we saw one while here. If you prefer, you can drive down the road and park at the start of the boardwalk. I would stay here again!! But would make sure and pick a weekend again that would not be busy due to the smaller pool area.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beachfun09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    26
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
51
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Staff- great!!
Parking - very convenient !
Overall size of complex-nice!
Too close to road, but knew that going in.
Don't mind the longer hike to the beach- figure I can use the exercise. The rates are cheaper than others nearby, so I expected these differences.

Will not stay in unit 202 again. Major repairs and updates need to occur:
Ceiling is falling down over the dining area.
Floor slopes from entrance to the dining area. Thought we might end up on the first floor during dinner.
Patio/deck and doors need major repairs ( and please provide more than 2 outdoor chairs for a unit that sleeps 6)
Dishwasher needs to be properly installed. Falls forward when drawers are pulled out to load dishes.
Finish floors where laminate meets tile.
Replace mattress in pull out sofa...
go ahead and replace the whole sofa! Very old!
Bedspread in master has cigarette burn hole
Ceiling fans old and noisy!
Overall- take more pride in your ownership!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borger, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family picked here to stay for our big family vacation. With eight people in our group, we stayed in Unit 113 where we fit comfortably. One bedroom had space for three (or four kids), another room had a king sized bed and the living room had a queen sized pullout soda and a click-clack bed that can sleep another. The room also had balcony access from the living room and both bedrooms. The resort has a nice small swimming pool, hot tub, and a game room that can keep older kids entertained. The resort has beach access that is about a 10 minute walk or can be accessed by a vehicle that needs a little clearance because the road is a little rough. If there are negatives it would be the parking lot can be a little small for bigger vehicles and your shoes will attract stickers. There are a few signs saying watch for snakes but we didn't see any. I don't know how all the Units look but if they are similar to 113 then this place is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

First time staying here. We chose it first & foremost because they allowed pets. Other big condos on both sides of MIBC where we've stayed before wouldn't budge on the pet policy. Best decision we've made to try this place out. No loud obnoxious guest. No screaming poolside guest. No parking problems. Very secure.
Only problem, not enough vacation time. Ms. Beth was the greatest, from the beginning to the end of our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvis1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We finished up a stay here recently and were very happy overall. The location is nice ... several miles out from the main town of Port Aransas. The condos were some of the nicer ones I've stayed in. There was some wear and tear, but that is pretty typical of any location on the coast. The property was nice and clean. The layout was perfect with lots of space and a nice long balcony area that could be accessed from any of the bedrooms or main living area. The kitchen could have had more tools, but it had enough to get the job done. Being able to cook easily was a very nice positive.

Beach access was nice and easy. There is a road that takes you about halfway from the property to the beach and then there is a nice wooden boardwalk the rest of the way. The road is dirt so be careful as there are the pre-requisite potholes that will hurt if you're going fast. Since it is a few miles out from the town, the beach is anything but crowded so you can let your kids run free without bothering others :)

Really about the only negative was the noise from the highway and I'm not sure what can be done about that short of work from the state or city. Bring some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper and your room is close to the highway. I will be looking for a room furthest away from the highway next time -- and yes, there will be a next time.

Room Tip: Get a condo as far away from the highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank From_Dallas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have been here many of times, and sometimes all is great and sometimes we have small situations, the first time, linens were not very clean, the second time everything was excellent, then the third time we had a condo that was smelly and so run down, they should have never rented it out, it was in no condition to be rented out. So there is always maybe a little obstacle or so, but you cant beat the price, so you pay for what you get. So some rooms are going to be ok but some are not.

Room Tip: Just get on the web site to them and pick a room, and call and ask questions about the condo. the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 981JoAnn981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently spent a week at Mustang Island Beach Club (rented unit 103). I have read some of the "not so nice" reviews and have to disagree with them all. Our unit was beautiful and very comfortable. I've seen other units there that are remodeled and tastefully decorated as well (all of the units are privately owned). Great floor plans, very spacious, HUGE DECKS, nice views and the complex is small and family friendly. Also, a very pet friendly complex if you choose to bring your pets to the beach. During our stay we visited some friends that were staying in town at the Pelican. I was so thankful we were NOT! No comparison at all. They had a very small room, cheaply decorated, a tiny deck, NO views, and the trek to the beach from the Pelican was simply exhausting through the hot hot sand. Not to mention they paid much more per night than we. MIBC has a fabulous dune crossover, and if you don't want to take the short walk to get to it, you can drive and park at the base of the crossover so getting to the sand and surf is a breeze.
Yes, this complex is older, but so are most of the condos in Port A. It is as well kept as the rest. Yes, it's not "in town", but a 10 minute drive did not bother us at all, considering we got to escape the crowds in town and on the beach by staying a few minutes away. No, this complex is not dirty. It's the BEACH and there is sand and the grass has burrs, but our unit was clean and very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
6.0 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mustang Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mustang Island Beach Club

Property: Mustang Island Beach Club
Address: 6275 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-9706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mustang Island Beach Club is a 32 unit boutique condominium located only minutes from both Port Aransas and the Padre Island Seashore.Amenities Include - Private boardwalk to the beach, Game Room, WiFi, Fish Cleaning Stations, Oversized Balconies, Boat Parking, Covered Garage Parking, Pool/Hot Tub, Friendly Office Staff, Views of the Gulf and Bay depending on unit, Pet Friendly, Port Royale Restaurant next door ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mustang Island Beach Club Hotel Port Aransas
Mustang Island Beach Club Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing