We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 3 night stay in #27”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Retreat
Austin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great 3 night stay in #27”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

(June 22-25, 2014) What a great location! We were so happy to be able to see the pool from this first floor condo, and the beach was a short walk away on the very well maintained boardwalk. Island Retreat is close enough to town to get to stores easily (with car, could also walk but it would take a while), but the condo unit itself felt very private. We didn't have any noise issues from neighbors or the beach, and we all slept very well. I'll tackle each room in the unit with a brief review, but first a note: This is not a hotel experience, so bring your own shampoo/conditioner and hair dryer. They do provide soap. Also bring your own coffee - they provide filters.

Entry: when you first pull up, the 70's looking buildings and kind of worn look are a bit off-putting. But don't worry. Go check in with the very nice staff, go to your unit, and open the door. You will be happy.

Kitchen: I love being able to stay and cook on a trip like this because it's more relaxing to just stay put. This kitchen is very nice and well appointed in terms of appliances, plates, silverware and drinkware. It's a bit utilitarian in the utensils and cookware department. They desperately need better knives for food prep, but you can get it done with patience. There's plenty of storage for all that you might bring. The unit does not provide spices or condiments other than salt and pepper (which we found after we bought some). If you want to save money, stop at one of the HEB stores along the way before you get to Port A. You can also shop at Family Center IGA in Port A itself, but it's pricey and the produce isn't always in good shape. The dining space is pretty small - a 2-seat table and the bar with 4 bar stools. Comfortable enough for our needs.

Living Room: nice homey decor without being too overdone. There is a couch and 2 matching chairs; an additional recliner and a leather library chair; a coffee table, a side table, and mounted flat screen TV; large picture window with a wide window sill and white wood blinds. It was really nice to sit in the morning sipping coffee with the blinds open to see how the day's weather was unfolding. (living room window faces east). There is a door to the patio here with a storm door. The storm door has a large gap under it that lets in heat and humidity, so we didn't leave the living room door open much.

Master suite (bedroom/bath): The king bed in the master suite could benefit from a memory foam topper, but it's not saggy or problematic. I'm pretty used to a firm bed, and it was comfortable enough. The bathroom has 2 sinks, a great walk-in shower, toilet and closet. I found this bathroom very relaxing and pleasant. Neat touch: the vanity mirrors tilt - this is useful for us shorter folks.

Second bedroom: The two double beds in the second bedroom are truly doubles - very small for a pair adults. We had 2 children in there, so it was perfect. There is a closet, a chest of drawers and a small shelf. The window faces east, and the girls enjoyed taking turns sitting on the wide window sill looking out at the surroundings. (volleyball pit, pool, boardwalk, picnic areas)

Second bath: small but very well appointed and functional. There is a bathtub with shower and a curved shower rod, a single sink and toilet. This was fine for two 10-year old girls.

Porch: Not large, but large enough for 2 people to sit on as well as to store 2 boogie boards, 2 noodles, beach chairs, beach umbrella and a cooler. There are also lots of pegs on which to hang wet clothing and towels. We kept our beach shoes out there as well - the tables on the porch have nifty bottom shelves perfect for this! There is a gated exit to the yard area - easy walk to the pool or beach from there. You can see a tiny bit of beach from the porch. It's very nice to have the sand dunes between the condo and the beach because it serves as a decent wind break - you get a breeze, but it's not 20 mph constantly on windy days.

For the price, I would definitely stay here again, specifically in this unit. (#27) I'm sure other units are good, too. A service note: there was a power outage for part of the complex in the middle of the night. I woke at 1:30am feeling warmer than I expected to and found that the power was out, so I called the emergency number for management. They were already on it and the utility truck was on the way. All was well within an hour, and the management was very pleasant even though they were handling a stressful situation. Well done, Island Retreat staff!

Room Tip: There is a disclaimer on the reservation confirmation that says Island Retreat can't guarantee a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trooper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for you positive feedback. Management, as well as the unit owner, will be thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with the Island Retreat. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    35
    19
    9
    18
See reviews for
81
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fritch, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in a studio and it was nice. A little out dated but o.k. Pools are awesome and short walk to the beach. Great time accept we killed 5 spiders in the bathroom during our stay. I really don't like sharing our room with creepy crawly things that bite you.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a balcony with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickytside41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you had a great time while staying at our property. Island Retreat has monthly pest control services, however sometimes issues may still arise, please let us know if you experience any pest issues on your next trip and we will have pest control perform an additional service inside and out of the unit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The condo was very spacious, pillow top beds, sofa, small dining table, large fridge, stove & microwave. They did have plates, cups utensils, although if you plan on cooking take your own pots & pans. Great location!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We appreciate our traveler's feedback, thank you! The Island Retreat Rental Program does stock pots and pans in any of the participating units that have kitchens, please let the office know if you are lacking on your next trip. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We are repeat visitors in the past few years and this was our first trip back this year (2014) and we continue to be very pleased with Island Retreat. As I've indicated in a previous review, be sure to look at the photos of the units on their website when selecting a room. We've done that and have not bee disappointed. The main reason I am leaving another review is to commend the staff for an IMPECCABLE job well done. The staff at Island Retreat continue to do an amazing job and on this trip I met the Front Desk Manager, Casey, and must compliment him on his professionalism and efficiency. Everyone we came in contact with during our stay was friendly and professional and did their best to make our stay a happy one. If there is any way to give the staff there a raise, they certainly deserve it. We've been staying in Port A ever since I was a kid, and have stayed just about everywhere, and I don't think I've ever been as continually impressed about staff anywhere else as I have been at Island Retreat the past couple of years. I look forward to our next trip! Thank you!

Room Tip: Check out the room photos on the Island Retreat website. Many units also have virtual tours now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review. We are glad you continue to have a great experience here at Island Retreat. The pictures of the units and the ability to pick out units is the best method to ensure that your accommodations are exactly as expected. Many of our unit owners take pride in knowing that travelers hand select their unit. Thanks again for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This place looks a little shabby from the outside but the interior of our condo was quite nice, clean and comfy. We stayed in until 36, which is a 2nd floor condo that faces the court yard with a partial view of the ocean from the balcony. The grounds are impeccably maintained with pool, bball and volleyball courts and a large area for grilling food and sitting outside to eat. This would be a great place for groups of friends to rent individual condo's and spend a week at the beach.

They provide you with towels and linens during your stay and cleaning items were in the kitchen
From the court yard there is a short walk along a path to the beach. See photos.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aminah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We appreciate your traveler response. The unit owner will absolutely appreciate that you enjoyed staying in their unit. The property is slated for an exterior renovation project which will bring new life to the Island Retreat property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This condo complex was clean & the grounds were well kept. The unit we stayed in was excellent - clean, good kitchen, updated bathroom, comfortable bedding. Balcony looked out towards the beach, which was only just a walk away, we were pretty close to the boardwalk. Check in time is a little late for my liking (4pm) but we just went to grab a drink, they did call us when we could go & get the keys. Drive up to your doorway, so helpful unloading. Will stay here again. Super reasonably priced before high season.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPKaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for your traveler response. The owner of the unit you stayed in will be thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We had a good time while staying at island retreat. The condo was in good shape, it did smell a little mildewy or like cigarette smoke when we arrived. Whatever it was made my son's and my allergies run the whole time we stayed there. The amenities were nice, the walk to the beach is great!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BDTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you, we love when travelers review our property. We are sorry that you experienced this inconvenience while staying with us. All but one of our rooms are non smoking units and we do our very best to prevent smoking within the units. Non smoking table tents are being placed in units to remind our travelers that they are renting a non smoking unit. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.3 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Retreat

Property: Island Retreat
Address: 700 Island Retreat Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-6012
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended budget accommodation for families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Retreat Hotel Port Aransas
Island Retreat Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing