We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Located on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Retreat
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Located on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here two nights--loved the location, just a short walk over the dune to the beach. Plus, the condo/hotel had two very nice swimming pools. We stayed in an efficiency condo which was plenty of room for two adults and 2 children. Well equipped kitchen. Called maintenance because the sliding glass door wouldn't lock, and a man was there within 20 minutes to fix it. Wifi was a little slow, but maybe we had too many devices!

Room Tip: facing the beach was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your vacation. We always try to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability as quickly and thoroughly as possible. We hope go see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    35
    19
    9
    18
See reviews for
81
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom with another family. It was pretty outdated and there were odd family photos of a variety of families, but perfectly nice for the very reasonable price with beach access. The pool at this location is very nice and there are lots of areas to cookout. We would stay here again due to reasonable pricing and location, not quality of rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
We thank you for your response. We recommend that our guest go to our website islandretreatporta.com to view virtual tours, still photos and descriptions of each of our units as they are all individually owned and each will be different from the next. This way you will be able to choose the perfect room for your island vacation. We hope that your next stay with us will be more enjoyable and the room will be to our liking. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Vernia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stay here every time we are in Port A. We have been going to Port A for 50 years and have stayed many places. It's right on the beach via boardwalk and is very well priced. This place has earned my loyalty through my many stays with my husband and kids, and I will always call this my home away from home. The staff is so very helpful and always professional. I think I've only had one not-so-pleasant experience with one front desk person, but the other staff members have made it up to me by being awesome people. The condos we've stayed in have always been clean and comfortable. If you want to stay somewhere you can feel comfortable, safe and have easy access to the beach (by boardwalk), then stay here.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, We've stayed in the efficiency all the way up to the penthouse and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. Island Retreat strives very hard to maintain a family friendly environment for our guest. We are happy to know that we have been successful in providing this for you and your family. Thank you for your continued business throughout the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A great room this year! We visit annually with 3 other families. This year we booked early enough to select a room to fit our needs. The owners of 162 have done a wonderful job of making this a very functional room with ample counter space in the kitchen (check out the circular counter in the photos) as well as seating for the living area (the chairs at the counter swivel to the living space). The kitchen is well stocked with utensils and cookware as well. All of the beds were comfortable; we got a good night's sleep from day 1! We were also surprised with a blu ray player, Netfix, and games in the room. Another added bonus was the second bathroom. If I could change anything, it would be for the room to be on the next level so that we could see the ocean, but being on the ground floor does have some advantages- being able to walk out from the back door to get a better connection and unloading/loading the car. Lastly, the help at the retreat were very friendly; they come by daily to change out towels and replace paper goods. We did not use any of the other facilities. A suggestion if you are visiting with people in other condos- on our last night we had a progressive dinner starting in one unit for appetizers, moving to another (the largest) for the main meal (2 people combined for this) and finished in ours with dessert. It was a fun evening for all and not too labor intensive for any one person! Fun times in Port A. again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank benick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We really appreciate your feedback. I am sure the owner will be pleased to know you enjoyed your stay so much. We do try our best to keep our facilities comfortable and functional to provide the best experience for you and your family. Thanks again for your positive response. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

(June 22-25, 2014) What a great location! We were so happy to be able to see the pool from this first floor condo, and the beach was a short walk away on the very well maintained boardwalk. Island Retreat is close enough to town to get to stores easily (with car, could also walk but it would take a while), but the condo unit itself felt very private. We didn't have any noise issues from neighbors or the beach, and we all slept very well. I'll tackle each room in the unit with a brief review, but first a note: This is not a hotel experience, so bring your own shampoo/conditioner and hair dryer. They do provide soap. Also bring your own coffee - they provide filters.

Entry: when you first pull up, the 70's looking buildings and kind of worn look are a bit off-putting. But don't worry. Go check in with the very nice staff, go to your unit, and open the door. You will be happy.

Kitchen: I love being able to stay and cook on a trip like this because it's more relaxing to just stay put. This kitchen is very nice and well appointed in terms of appliances, plates, silverware and drinkware. It's a bit utilitarian in the utensils and cookware department. They desperately need better knives for food prep, but you can get it done with patience. There's plenty of storage for all that you might bring. The unit does not provide spices or condiments other than salt and pepper (which we found after we bought some). If you want to save money, stop at one of the HEB stores along the way before you get to Port A. You can also shop at Family Center IGA in Port A itself, but it's pricey and the produce isn't always in good shape. The dining space is pretty small - a 2-seat table and the bar with 4 bar stools. Comfortable enough for our needs.

Living Room: nice homey decor without being too overdone. There is a couch and 2 matching chairs; an additional recliner and a leather library chair; a coffee table, a side table, and mounted flat screen TV; large picture window with a wide window sill and white wood blinds. It was really nice to sit in the morning sipping coffee with the blinds open to see how the day's weather was unfolding. (living room window faces east). There is a door to the patio here with a storm door. The storm door has a large gap under it that lets in heat and humidity, so we didn't leave the living room door open much.

Master suite (bedroom/bath): The king bed in the master suite could benefit from a memory foam topper, but it's not saggy or problematic. I'm pretty used to a firm bed, and it was comfortable enough. The bathroom has 2 sinks, a great walk-in shower, toilet and closet. I found this bathroom very relaxing and pleasant. Neat touch: the vanity mirrors tilt - this is useful for us shorter folks.

Second bedroom: The two double beds in the second bedroom are truly doubles - very small for a pair adults. We had 2 children in there, so it was perfect. There is a closet, a chest of drawers and a small shelf. The window faces east, and the girls enjoyed taking turns sitting on the wide window sill looking out at the surroundings. (volleyball pit, pool, boardwalk, picnic areas)

Second bath: small but very well appointed and functional. There is a bathtub with shower and a curved shower rod, a single sink and toilet. This was fine for two 10-year old girls.

Porch: Not large, but large enough for 2 people to sit on as well as to store 2 boogie boards, 2 noodles, beach chairs, beach umbrella and a cooler. There are also lots of pegs on which to hang wet clothing and towels. We kept our beach shoes out there as well - the tables on the porch have nifty bottom shelves perfect for this! There is a gated exit to the yard area - easy walk to the pool or beach from there. You can see a tiny bit of beach from the porch. It's very nice to have the sand dunes between the condo and the beach because it serves as a decent wind break - you get a breeze, but it's not 20 mph constantly on windy days.

For the price, I would definitely stay here again, specifically in this unit. (#27) I'm sure other units are good, too. A service note: there was a power outage for part of the complex in the middle of the night. I woke at 1:30am feeling warmer than I expected to and found that the power was out, so I called the emergency number for management. They were already on it and the utility truck was on the way. All was well within an hour, and the management was very pleasant even though they were handling a stressful situation. Well done, Island Retreat staff!

Room Tip: There is a disclaimer on the reservation confirmation that says Island Retreat can't guarantee a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trooper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for you positive feedback. Management, as well as the unit owner, will be thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with the Island Retreat. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fritch, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in a studio and it was nice. A little out dated but o.k. Pools are awesome and short walk to the beach. Great time accept we killed 5 spiders in the bathroom during our stay. I really don't like sharing our room with creepy crawly things that bite you.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a balcony with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickytside41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you had a great time while staying at our property. Island Retreat has monthly pest control services, however sometimes issues may still arise, please let us know if you experience any pest issues on your next trip and we will have pest control perform an additional service inside and out of the unit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The condo was very spacious, pillow top beds, sofa, small dining table, large fridge, stove & microwave. They did have plates, cups utensils, although if you plan on cooking take your own pots & pans. Great location!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We appreciate our traveler's feedback, thank you! The Island Retreat Rental Program does stock pots and pans in any of the participating units that have kitchens, please let the office know if you are lacking on your next trip. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.3 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Retreat

Property: Island Retreat
Address: 700 Island Retreat Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-6012
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended budget accommodation for families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Retreat Hotel Port Aransas
Island Retreat Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing