We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't feel like guests”
Review of Tarpon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tarpon Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Port Aransas B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin,Tx
113
Reviewed 7 January 2005

3 day stay starting New Year's Eve:

We didn't enjoy our stay at the Tarpon Inn due to the noise and lack of on-site staff/means to contact hotel staff after hours.
- the wood floors/porch and street allow for a lot of noise, even on the 2nd floor (we were in room 21)
- the rooms are more rustic than antique.
- hotel staff were not responsive or attentive to guests needs

Details of our experience

At check-in we were invited to a Private Party at the hotel (we weren't able to attend):
At 1:34am New Years Day I had to tell a parent of the children (several kids younger than 10 years of age) to quiet down as the kids jumped and screamed on the moonwalk just below our room's window. Our room did not have after-hours information on what to do should the need arise to contact hotel staff. (I did obtain the list from front desk the next day while posting my concerns from the night before). Reception Desk closes at 9pm.

There were doors that opened to nowhere - as it appears every other room was converted to a bathroom for the adjoining room. After midnight, someone was trying to open the door that evidently led to a room next to ours when the hotel was built 100+ years ago, but now led to a blank wall outside our bathroom. The person was looking for her kids.

At 9:00 pm on January 1 we heard someone outside our door say "....the couple from Austin, I know they are in there..."

We checked out early before front desk opened at 8am, so I emailed the hotel to recommend:

- Inform guests there will be a private party so guests may take that into consideration,
- Reassign guests to a quieter part of the hotel (or offer reassignment) when there will be noisy events just below their window,
- Provide hotel information at check-in regarding contact after hours,
- Be discreet when discussing hotel guests, or concerns raised by hotel guests.

After several days there has been no acknowledgement from the hotel of my email.

We did enjoy Port Aransas and the Casino Cruise, so try some other hotel and visit the Tarpon Inn to see the Tarpon scales.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 139 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
112
Reviewed 23 July 2004

No phone, no TV, just great rooms, great service. This is not the place for a bunch of kids that want to watch TV and play in a pool. It is fabulous for those wanting a relaxing and romantic vacation. The rooms are beautifully decorated. We loved rooms 26 and 28. We also enjoyed sitting on the covered porch, with our ice chest of course, just watching what was going on in Port A. We have traveled alot and this is on of our all time favorites.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2004

We've driven by the Tarpon Inn many, many times while in Port A. But this year we decided to actually stay there on a weekend anniversary getaway. We were very pleased with our stay.

As some of the other reviews mention, the inn is short on many amenities. There are no telephones, televisions or alarm clocks. But frankly, that was part of the charm.

Our room was very nicely decorated with antiques. And despite the warnings from previous posters, the plumbing was more than adequate. The antique sink was really cool and the "old school" porcelain tub brought back memories of my childhood before drop-ins became the standard in most bathrooms. And we took several showers coming & going from the beach and there was always plenty of hot water.

The wall-mounted a/c unit wasn't exactly ideal but it was adequate.

The porches with rocking chairs arguably could be the best feature of the place. With seabreezes to keep you company, there may no finer way to relax in Port Aransas than in those chairs.

My biggest complaint would be our rude awakening at about 6:30am from the foot traffic on the floor above us. Its a very old hotel and there's nothing but wood between the two floors so its probably to be expected.

Next time we visit, we'll try and request an upstairs room. That way you don't have to worry about guests above you tromping around and you get a bteer view from the porch in front of your room.

One final note, they were remodeling the lobby and I didn't see legendary tarpon scales. Perhaps it was covered up by the work. They also appeared to be doing some work out back with stacks of pavestones ready to be used. Perhaps they are going to do something with the barren courtyard. They also were cleaning out the old Beulah's location behind the inn. Perhaps they can go ahead and give the inn a much-needed paint job while they are at it.

All in all, its a great place to stay if you'e looking for a throwback weekend. And a nice bargain to boot compared to all the new motels in Port A and Aransas Pass.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FlySwatter_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, Texas
13
Reviewed 10 May 2004

Wonderful place to stay! I love the quaint little rooms.....it has a log cabin feel with southern like charm.....the beds were amazingly comfortable! And I love the Ralph Lauren sheets, the old style bathroom with the feeted tub and huge showerhead. The fact of no tv and phone is great because who needs it when you are a walk-away from the pier and shops! Recommend this place very highly and will be going back soon!!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cedar Creek, TX
15
Reviewed 3 May 2004

We love the Tarpon Inn and have stayed there for years. I like the charm of the old building and we have brought our child when she was a baby, but realize that it is much more of an adult accomodation. We have spent many rainy days napping on luxurious Ralph Lauren linens in the quiet absence of phone or TV. I love to sit in the rockers on the front porch and smell the sea air. It is my favorite spot to stay at the coast. I don't mind the vintage plumbing - it adds to the ambience. If you need a modern, sterile, high-tech run-o-the-mill hotel, stay somewhere else, like in Corpus Christi at one of the big chains with no personality. The Tarpon is a unique treasure.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
RED OAK, TEXAS
14
Reviewed 4 April 2004

We have been staying at the Tarpon Inn for 10 yrs. We have loved it from day one. It's history is wonderful. Yes, it has no phones or TV, but that is the great thing . The front porch and rocking chairs is a great place to do some old fashion visiting with new found friends!!! Patty and Jay are great!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Antonio
15
Reviewed 29 March 2004

We just spent our 8th, 3 day weekend at the Tarpon Inn. We've been going off and on since we were highschool kids for Spring Break back in the late 70's. Back then, it was the perfect spot because of a) The porch (the longest in Texas?) b) because of the affordable price and c) it's so close to the beach. It's been hit or miss over the years but things seem to be looking up since the new owners are giving the place some much needed TLC. Fast forward to 2004 - it's still the perfect spot. For all of the reasons above and then some. Small but clean rooms, (they're all different in style and our goal is to sleep in all 28!), the above mentioned porch with it's rocking chairs allways makes leaving hard. The best part - no phones and no TV! (I do bring my iPod for my bike rides - you can pick up a great, like new beach cruiser for rent right across the steet at Mike's, 13 bux for 24 hours!). The staff is small but super friendly and there when and if you need them. If you're looking for a place to really chill, unwind and truly relax then do yourself a favor and do what we do - go back in time - go back to the Tarpon Inn. It's worth every penny of the 65 bux a night!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.6 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
361 reviews
2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
866 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
0.7 mi away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#16 of 20 in Port Aransas
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Inn

Address: 200 E Cotter Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5124
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Aransas
Price Range: £121 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 200' long porches to relax on since 1886, the longest porches in Texas stretches and relaxes along with you. The salt air and breezes are gently encouraged by old-fashioned ceiling fans. The sweet creaking of roomy rocking chairs blends with the pages of a novel being turned. Where each room is decorated in period antiques and no two rooms are alike and where there are no televisions nor telephones. If our place sounds like your kind of place, then please consider this an invitation to make yourself at home. We're waiting to treat you as part of our Tarpon Inn family and encourage you to wonder if it's possible to stay forever,or at least a couple more days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tarpon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Hotel Port Aransas
Tarpon Inn Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing