We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spurs Game 1” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Horse Saloon & Grill

Wild Horse Saloon & Grill
Ranked #43 of 79 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Description: We are the locals sport bar and grill for Port Aransas. Best Burgers, Wings,and Booze! We offer 6 flat screens, NFL package and most Sports games if avail, Free Wifi, Dart boards, and a comfortable patio to indulge in island life!
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spurs Game 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Watched the Spurs #1 game there. Place was packed. But we got there early enough to snag a great location. Food was excellent. Nice place. Owner/Manager and waiter worked their arzes off. Fair prices. Been there 4-5 times before. Have never been disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    29
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Burgers, Zero Charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

My first thought upon opening the door of the Wild Horse on a Saturday mid-afternoon was, "Run away." As my eyes adjusted to the dark, I saw every head at the bar turn to see who had darkened the doorway. The crowd was sparse, and obviously local. Everyone knew everyone else. Ambiance? Forget about it. It's a dark, charmless space. The decor, as it were, consists of two dart boards. There is a small porch with a couple of tables, but it overlooks a gravel parking lot. My opinion of this dive started turning around when I ordered a Sam Adams at the bar, and the bartender said, "That'll be $2.75, bud." But the real draw here seems to be the burgers - hearty and delicious, no one in my party left a bite on their plates, although the accompanying fries are forgettable. This is a place your kids probably wouldn't appreciate, but if you don't require atmosphere, for an inexpensive burger and beer it's hard to beat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, OK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Best Burger on the Planet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

The atmosphere is not ideal, the people working there are not the friendliest, but the food is flat out outstanding. We have been there several time and, as strange as it sounds, the food is getting better. We have been to the gormet burger shops in the French Quarter and they are not as good as those at the Wildhorse. Best burger you will ever, ever eat. Although the workers are not outgoing, it is a local hangout and they do a great job of getting your order, delivering food and drink quickly. It is simply amazing the quality and volume of outstanding food coming out of postage stamp sized kitchen.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, local crowd”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I hate to give three stars when there food is so good but we have been a few times and there never fails to be a few overserved. I'm all for having a good time but slamming a chair up and down when your football team doesn't make a play is a bit extreme. If you're good with a rowdy, local crowd then you will be fine. With all that said the food is very good. I recommend the Italian Stallion or Trifecta pizzas. The wings are above average as well. I have not had the Jack Daniels burger yet but noticed that many order it each time I visit. The good thing is that if you are not up for the bar scene you can easily call in a to go order.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blondetexan1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Listen its a shot and a beer joint. We stumbled in one night for a burger and some wings and they both were really good. Same with the fries. I don't have kids but I probably wouldn't bring them in if I did. On the plus side though they got a couple nice tv's with high def so a beer, burger, and a game on...

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bootstrap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Horse Saloon & Grill also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Wild Horse Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing