We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be closer to the beach!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
On the Beach RV Park
Topton, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Could not be closer to the beach!”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I have no idea where the negative posts come from! No, it's not spread out with 50' between campers but certainly not to where you can't put out your awnngs! Our spot was up against the fence facing the road. The spot had a clear view of the Gulf, concrete pad just outside our door and with a picnic table. The management could not be more helpful or friendly. I've spoken with three different office people so far and they are all pleasant and enjoyed having a conversation.
You must get a reservation as the park is always full due to it's location. The beach is 100 yards from the park and another 100 yards to the water (depending on tide/winds).
On the negative is the WIFI which is iffy. But who doesn't have a 'droid' these days! The electricity is metered @$.17 per kWh. Seems high but based on law, it's what the park pays; no mark-up. Propane is site-delivered every Wednesday @ 2.25 per gallon.

We don't tow a car so we relied on the hourly shuttle that goes right by the park. For a quarter you can ride to all the major areas of Port A. There's a large IGA grocery store with a huge wine selection. And 1/3 of a mile down the road is a convenience store which has the basics along with wine and beer.

We're on our fourth week of an eight week stay and could not be happier. People who say they have problems with management probably have problems where ever they go. JMO.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnIslandTime_9, General Manager at On the Beach RV Park, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank You Paul,
We appreciate your review of our park, it is always nice to hear that folks enjoyed themselves. You mentioned the Wi-Fi, it seems like you get a system set up that works, then the usage increases, and the system is behind the curve. In 2013 we put in a dual-wan enterprise class router and installed a third access point, with a long range dual band radio. December 2013 we replaced the equipment at bath house and the office equipment with the dual band radio models. They each allow N and G and the same time, the N is fastest and the G slower but goes father. We are seeing a hundred different users a day in our sixty site park and we are still ahead of the curve. :)
Port Aransas is a friendly town with a sandy beach is that is hard to beat and a transportation service that is the best I’ve seen. You mention the shuttle, but there is also the flex “B”. It will go to any location in Port “A” at a set time in the morning to pick you up then take you to a commercial location in Corpus Christi. When they drop you off they will provide a pick up time at that or another location $ 1.25 each way. We look forward to when you can visit us again! Thank You Again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    25
    7
    8
    15
See reviews for
31
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Overall the park is well kept and maintained well. However the park is small and the spots are right next to each other with very little private space. We took our dogs with us as the map indicated there was a "pet walk" to access. The pet walk was a joke! It was basically the sidewalk on the outside of the park with sand and tons of stickers that got stuck in the dogs paws and fur. We were lectured by one of the hosts for not having our dogs on the pet walk although it was not appropriate for dogs since it has stickers and is right on the street.

In addition the ladies bathroom was out of toilet paper for most of the time we were there (two days) and was never replenished. Although the sign on the door said that they cleaned the bathroom everyday at noon. It was not cleaned once while we were there.

Upon check in we were given 3 pages of "rules" to abide by or you will get kicked out of the park. Not a very pleasant way to start a relaxing trip when you get a list of rules.

The value for what is paid is not equal. We will look for other RV parks before staying at this one again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CedarPark30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnIslandTime_9, General Manager at On the Beach RV Park, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We have three pet areas, one is your site, another on the street side of the fence and the third is over a half acre adjoining the park. Our host spoke, ask them to pick-up the poop they left in front another guests’ RV. They were walking at the front of the guests’ sites along the “B” row, when they should have been at the other end of their, on the park road. Our parks speed limit is 5 miles per hour.

Our bathrooms are used by several people, they are checked several times a day and cleaned a minimum of three times. The posted sign is for a time when our guests can expect the bathrooms to be closed for an extended cleaning. Two days without toilet paper, someone would be looking for employment or have a PRESIDENTIAL PARDON!

The Pet and Campground rules are on one page, a Welcome letter with advice is two pages.
The basic rule is enjoy yourself, while not infringing upon the rights of others to enjoy themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We arrived on the 18th expecting something completely different than what was advertised. The first thing I noticed was the huge sand dunes that are much smaller in the picture which make it appear closer to the beach than it really is. We reserved 10 days in the H3 spot, the park is so small that we hit a pole and a flower pot trying to get to that spot. (We offered 3 times to pay for them but were told not to worry about it) Supposed to be a pull through but was not, we had to move to a spot in the middle of the park. The next morning I got up to go use the shower and it was nasty, no water pressure, the shower head was so clogged that only half of the holes had water coming out of them, water was spraying everywhere. I used my own small camper shower from then on. The next night I went to the laundry room opened one of the washers and there were about 10 live, huge bugs in it. (The same with the other 3 washers) My husband got the bugs out of 2 of them so I could do laundry. On the paper you receive at check in (the rules) it states that they only mow the lawn on Thursday’s, THEY MOW EVERYDAY AND NOT IN THE LATE MORNING OR AFTERNOON, AT 7AM! One afternoon my husband was reading at the picnic table outside our camper and some lady decided to water the grass, spraying him and his book with water. He came in, she never apologized. We were supposed to stay until the 28th but the overall feel of the park was not friendly and nothing seemed to be as advertised so we left on the 26th knowing that we would not get a refund but figuring at least there was money left over, ($80.) it would more than cover the pole and flower pot. 2 days later without authorization our debit card was charged over $40. Throughout the rest of our trip we paid cash only, day by day and never gave our debit card to anyone. We will only stay at KOA’s or state parks from now on. (they are held to some kind of standards) I’m guessing that the reason they want your money all up front is because the park is so disappointing everyone would leave early.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Owens394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The location is amazing! The people that run the park are always busy with the upkeep and helping customers. It was a very pleasant experience. Yes its a small RV park, but thats what we wanted with a child and a dog. The bathrooms were always clean and the sand showers were a blessing. They make sure cars do not speed through the park which is a blessing for anyone with children. The only small downfall we could come up with would be that we "wished" there was a bigger dog walk area. But of course that isnt a reason for us not to return. We have already started planning our next years vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cooks101109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnIslandTime_9, General Manager at On the Beach RV Park, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank You for Your Review of On the Beach RV Park, It is rewarding to hear people notice, the effort that is put in improving and maintaining the landscape at On the Beach RV Park. Last year the flowers along the fence were stunning. I might be bias but the were the best I've seen them. This year we are going all out for the best landscaping we have ever had. I know our guests come here for the Beach but we like to add color to the park. You mention the only improvement you missed, was a larger dog walk. The park in 2013 has permission to use the lot adjoining the park for extra parking and since that it is almost 1 1/2 acres the NE 1/2 will be available to walk and pick after your pets. Of course my dogs favorite was a swim in the Gulf with me. I always had to call him back. It seemed like Kip the English Springer was part explorer of the Gulf of Mexico. Come back and visit us again. Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockdale, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Sites are very small and too close to eachother. The space between my camper and the neighbors was literally 10 feet - I know this is accurate because my neighbor was my uncle and we set up a canopy in between us for shade - since there are no shade trees. There was no room to park our truck. We had 2 adults and 3 children and paid over $50 a night, this is usually how much we spend for a nice rv resort. I've stayed at State Parks with better amenities for way less! The restrooms were small - one toilet and one shower & you have to pay a $5 key deposit to have access. My 11 year old son went to ask for the key to the restroom & was scolded because he didn't have an adult with him (they have a rule that children under 16 must be with an adult at all times). They were supposed to have free wi-fi, we were there for a week & it never worked. The only good thing about the park was the distance to the beach - you can pay 1/2 the cost down the road at IB Magee Beach Park & they have a nice shower house. Won't visit this place again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

At first glance the park looks quaint however the sites are so small we couldn't extend our awning without hitting our neighbor's window. The price they gave me on the phone was for only two people and one vehicle. I can see why they have to charge for additional parking however it would have been nice to know this up front. We had problems just parking close to our site. There is one shower and one toilet in the entire park for over 50+ sites. You have to pay a deposit to get a key for that. We could barely get out trailer parked in the small space snd then had to weave our way through the park to get to available parking. Even though the location is good I will never stay here again. There are much nicer sites down the street and the prices are better

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Blgeason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here during Spring Break and experienced a very good time during our stay. The staff was more than friendly and helpful. The other campers (both short timers and Winter Texans) were very neighborly. Because of the proximity to the beach, expect a little noise from the Spring Breakers. There is a trolley bus stop at the entrance that takes you to all the stops in town for 25 cents. The laundry room is easily accessible. I would stay here again next time on the coast.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itikibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
540 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
846 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.0 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach RV Park

Property: On the Beach RV Park
Address: 907 Beach Access Road 1a, Port Aransas, TX 78373-6102
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gulf View RV Sites,with 23 miles of Port Aransas, sandy beach literally start at your door. The Gulf of Mexico provides the azure background for beautiful sunrises and sunsets to enjoy. The call of breaking surf can be heard throughout the park. You only need to be here; all types of surfing, excellent kayak area, sailing, fishing, shelling, right on a fly way for birders,$6.00 For shrimp right of the Polly Anna, even the Monarchs pass through on their Journey to Mexico. You can be on a beach in a relaxed fishing town setting, yet 40 minutes to all that Corpus Christi has to offer. Want to lay back, the city of Port Aransas, has much to do and see, the trolley stops right at the park or you can even a stroll the sandy beach to town. The stops right at the park. The island trolley makes a continuous loop stopping at the beach, downtown areas, birding facilities, the marina, jetties, fishing pier, city pool, and Mustang Airport among other stops. We are On the Beach only a few blocks to the nearest Stripes, Beach-Mart (souvenirs), Palmilla Beach and Golf Resort and Port Aransas Community Players. These services are all within 1 1/2 miles: IGA Market, Dr. Bruce MD, Carter Pharmacy, Dr. Canon (Chiropractor) and Texas Dental Oasis Christopher Kight, D.M.D. Gulf Coast Taxi Service also will pickup food from the local restaurants and delivery to your door. When you come to visit the Gulf, why not stay on the Beach? You'll have full hook-ups including cable TV, WI-FI, patio and picnic table. Pet owners are allowed just comply with pet rules. They are other newer parks in Port Aransas; there is only one "On The Beach RV Park" especially since we are the only RV Park right on the beach. The office has ice, and a selection of RV Parts. Welcome to the Coastal Bend of South Texas and the relaxed life at On The Beach RV Park! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
On The Beach Rv Park Hotel Port Aransas
On The Beach RV Park Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing