We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pioneer Beach Resort
New Braunfels, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The staff is quite unfriendly. In fact, they are downright rude. The restrooms are not cared for as they have been in the past. The park tends to smell like a septic tank. Camp sites are very close to one another, even in the "Premium Pull-Through" sites. I'm sorry to say that this park is not what it used to be, and this represents our last stay here. There are better choices for the money in Port Aransas.

Room Tip: At anything less than the Premium sites, you will be uncomfortably close to your neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    16
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
31
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My family [ myself, husband and 10 and 9 yo ] spent the second weekend of spring break herer and we were pleasantly surprised. My only suggestion is that if you want close access to the small boardwalk that leads to the beach you reserve a premium site, the place is very big and we were able to just walk to the beach. Since we were not one of the many that had a golf cart it was nice to be closer. I like that they had an employee checking to see if you actually were staying at the Pioneer park at the end of the boardwalk, it kept the rowdy-ness down to a minimum.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ybstrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We have stayed there a few times and its generally clean and well taken care of. It could use some updating of fixtures and technology but for an RV resort its one of the 2 best in Port A by far. For an RV park it isn't cheap though. Great access to the beach. Pool is a bit dated and boring but works just fine if you just want to get wet. Go to a water park if you expect more. My only complaint is the usual complaint of how stand offish the majority of the people who RV full time seem to act at times. This isn't a Pioneer thing exclusively but they do seem to look down their noses at times to us part timers in the RV deal. Gulf Waters and Pioneer are the best parks with decent space in the area but expect a premium for it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Staff was very nice and helpful at check in. Staff on a golf cart showed us to our site and assisted husband in backing in our 38ft RV. There were five families in our group and the RV park allowed us to be together which made more enjoyable for all. Children didn't have to cross the road. We were close to the bath house and real close to the boardwalk to the beach. Trash was picked up from each site every morning and today Monday looked like they were going thru several times. There are definitely a lot of golf carts and I guess we saw so many because where we were set up was on the way to the boardwalk. I will say the golf carts are quiet. Our original slot our 50amp hookup didn't work so we moved next door as we knew our neighbor was only going to need a 30amp. Our cable connection wasn't very good but it could have been our fault as we aren't familiar enough with our TV set up yet.; the staff did offer to come to our site to check it out if there was a problem, we just didn't call. We didn't have any problems hooking up to WiFi but there were times of day that it was slow.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trudy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We recently rented one of their cabins and my son and his family stayed in an RV spot. We arrived around 7pm and because the office was closed, we picked up the key as pre-arranged. We were met by an army of ants in the kitchen and had to go out to buy bug spray. The next day when we went to the office to formally check-in, we reported the ants. No offer was ever made to spray inside or outside the cabin, but we were told the ants were just trying to get to some water. We asked to have someone come and wipe down the cabinets and countertops where we had sprayed. Our request was met with reluctance and it was stated that they would just "wipe the area with a dishrag like we could", but housekeeping finally did come. We continued to experience the ants for the duration of our stay and we were not able to use the kitchen that we were paying for during our entire visit. We complied with the requests to have garbage and linens out by a certain time each day. However, one day our towels were never picked up and although we called the office to report it, we did not receive clean towels until 8:30 the next day. In speaking with the people in the cabin next to us, we learned that they had ants the first day only because someone did come and spray inside and outside their cabin. Their linens were skipped the same day as ours. While we understand sometime things "just happen", the attitudes of the employees that we encountered did not reflect good customer service. To the contrary, the staff was defensive and failed to follow up on any issues presented. We will not be visiting here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NancyHumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royse City, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed at Pioneer on our last trip to P.A. and will definitely stay here again. There is a boardwalk taking you right to the beach. Lots of activities at the community center. Two pools, child and dog-friendly.

However, this is a huge (500+ site) rv park. We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend and will not come back during a holiday. We were unable to access the internet during most of our stay (inadequate wifi coverage for the park). And, you have to pay extra for cable tv and visitors ($10 per car). It was insanely crowded and not very peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertram, Tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

This was the best beach trip ever. we had a spot near the beach and the kids loved the two pools. The on site breakfast was nice too. All of our neighbors were so nice.I would go here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrrisonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
2.7 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#6 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Beach Resort

Property: Pioneer Beach Resort
Address: 120 Gulfwind Dr, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4955 (Formerly Pioneer RV Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Pioneer Rv Hotel Port Aransas
Pioneer Beach Resort Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing