We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget rental!”
Review of Kingfish Courts

Kingfish Courts
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingfish Courts
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Great value! We decided to save on the hotel so we could stay longer and do more. This is just what we needed! The only 'cleanliness' problem was that the floors were a little gritty (but, hey, ground floor, near the beach). I was a little uncomfortable not having a deadbolt on the door, but nothing ever happened to make us feel unsafe. The owner is very nice and even shared some fresh eggs with us! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Three weeks before we went out to Port Aransas, we called ahead to check availability. Management said their website was down and they couldn't check. They said to come down either way and we could definitely get a room with them. We tried calling them once we were a couple of miles outside of Port Aransas and nobody picked up, called multiple times and nobody picked up. Their website had been down for about two weeks and made it impossible to pull the place up once we were close. We pulled up to the motel and as we were walking in, someone came out of the office and after exchanging pleasantries, informed us that neither the owner or manager was there and she was just a family member, but she knew there was no vacancy. We were left stranded with no place to stay and another hour of searching high and low for a place to stay for the night. Obviously the owner never bothered to check our calls because none of our missed calls were ever returned and their website is still down. Horrible management, irresponsible and pathetic management!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
11  Thank Abraham Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and I fish and are not sitting around in a room all day. We want a place that's clean, comfortable, has a usable kitchen, good AC and shower, a front door that locks, all for a reasonable price. We found all that and more at the Kingfish Courts. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Will be going back many times.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This is a great place to stay. We were amazed how clean it was. We had a graeat time. If we asked for towels or toilet paper, we got it right away. In motels you might get them an hour after you ask.Shirley & her girls were very efficient & very nice. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was nice & clean. The bathroom was clean. Don't know what people complain about. We plan on going back and recommend it to anyone going to Port A. I already told some friends that are going in a couple of weeks, but unfortuantly they had already boooked somewhere else. It is quiet and there maybe roosters, but they don't crow all night,as a matter of fact we never heard them unless we were outside. Forgot to mention the playground they have for the kids. Our kids loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This time was maybe our 3rd year staying at kingfish courts and we love it everytime we stay there. It's quiet, and very peaceful. The owners are always very nice and sweet. I never have problems with roaches or any other kind of bugs, but seriously what place doesn't. All the times we have been there we have taken friends and relatives and everyone loved the place. We will continue to go back as long as they are in business. The owners always make me feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Awful place to stay!! The lady kept calling me wife, whereas I am not married to my boyfriend. We were looking for a quiet place to stay that was close to the beach and from the deceiving pictures we thought we had found a nice place. Right from the start the lady was rude and demanding. The cottage was very old with stains on everything and holes all over. The kitchen was not a kitchen, just a wall with a stove and an ancient microwave. The bathroom was ok, except for the shower. It was disgusting! How can you call a hole in the wall a shower? And if you happen to not be a small short person, good luck even fitting into the shower. The bedroom was awful, a huge ac unit on the ceiling making it impossible to hear the person beside you, much less get any sleep. Oh and as if that's not a turn off, maybe the ROACHES will be!!! There were about 10 gigantic roaches. Needless to say I didn't get any sleep and we left the next day. WORST place to stay!! Also, if you like waking up at 4am to roosters and an assortment of birds that the owners own then this is the place to go. The owner was rude and when we told her we were leaving (didn't even care at that point to get our money back) she demanded to know why, when I explained about the roaches she actually DEMANDED to see them and rushes past me into the cottage. It's a good thing we had killed and thrown them in the trash, my boyfriend pulled them out of the trash and she looked as if she still didn't believe us. WORST experience ever. The only plus was that we were only charged for that one night we stayed. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JackandBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Yes this place is cheap, but you WILL get what you pay for! If you plan to get a good nights sleep...DON'T STAY HERE!! The owners thought it would be a great idea to keep 20 ROOSTERS right next to the cottages so they can crow ALL NIGHT LONG and keep their guests awake! Then they also thought is was a great idea to put a huge AC unit over the bed upove the heads of their guest and if you think the roosters are loud...no worries because when the AC kicks in..it'll drown out the crowing! Then last but not least..they are infested with roaches the size of skate boards!!! So after not getting any sleep at all..we saw the roaches crawling on the wall and watched it slip into the ceiling!!! I found one in my suite case after we left!!! GROSSS!!!! I love Port A..it's my home away from home...luckley I knew there were better places to stay and went there to finish out our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tera010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfish Courts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfish Courts

Address: 1610 S 11th St, P.O. Box 72, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5763
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Kingfish Courts Hotel Port Aransas
Kingfish Courts Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing