We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just stayed in a 2 bedroom with a kitchen, the place was very clean and the staff was friendly. I would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropic Island Resort
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place was great! We booked a 2 bedroom with a kitchen, the place was very clean, check in went smooth and the staff was friendly! I would book this one again. My family had a great trip and everything was close by!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

stayed from 7/18-7/20 2014 in room 102, was the worst room to stay in.. half the room items either broken or not working properly, told the front desk, made no attempt to remedy the problem..

Never visit this place, we paid over $400 for this room, looked like a room that you would charge by the hour, plus no free wifi as advertised, no breakfast, and no care in the world for loud music while others tried to sleep...

Next time we'll stay in a Holiday Inn Express, at least they have free wifi and a hot breakfast!!

Room Tip: Stick to Holiday Inn or reputable hotels in the Main Land (Corpus Christi or Aransas Pass), you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jorge E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Yes the place did raise their rent, BUT my wife and i checked all around the island and this is by far the cleanest, nicest place, AND it is still $100 cheaper then other places. The staff was beyond friendly, the location was unbeatable, and the amenities were great. I recommend this place to anyone who plans to visit the island. My family will be staying here again next year!

Room Tip: They stay booked, but I would try to stay close to the rec room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here with another couple in a two bedroom condo house. Very clean. There are some less than clean places to stay in Port A and will cost you an arm and a leg to stay in their filth, but not Tropical Resort. They were very friendly and my family and I had an excellent time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Reynoldsbyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This place has raised their lot rent $100 a month in the past 2 years all so we can sit there and watch him work on his fishing boat. Stayed there 2 years in a row and watched as nothing was done to improve anything in the RV park. I guess until enough people like me get fed up with crap like this nothing will change. Count my wife and I out of this park for ever.

Room Tip: This place is "NOT" worth $519 a month to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danieldK310WQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicislandresort, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We're sorry about the misunderstanding about the price but not contacting us to verify if you'll be affected with the price change is not on us (which you're not actually affected). And as for Ken, the owner, he has a personal life of his own, too. He can't always be around the property 24/7 but will be happy to accommodate or fix something for you. The only hobby of the owner is fishing and traveling and having a business is tiring.

Our prices needed to change because of other places raising up, we're not forcing you to stay with us but contacting us to verify something is a very big help on our part.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stephanie and Ken are awesome at Tropic Island RV resort. Great accommodations and came through when I was in a pinch! Very nicely located in the heart of Port Aransas. Great pool, nice neighbors, quite, and kid friendly!

Highly recommended!
Marcus Bayona
San Antonio, TX

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcosBayona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was very clean and cozy. It is in a good location. May not be near the beach but it has all the necessaties and swimming pool is big for everyone. Enjoyed our stay with this and continue to go back every time.

Room Tip: Room with a kitchenette was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAT1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Island Resort

Address: 315 Cut Off Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4218
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range: £58 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropic Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Island Motel & RV Resort is located on 8 acres in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. City Marina and boat ramps 2 blocks away. Close to restaurants and ferry landing. We can accommodate you with motel and kitchen suites located on one side of the park and we also have approximately 150 RV sites available on the other side of the park. Our office is located between the Motel and RV park near the main road. Accommodations include Pool & Spa, BBQ Grills for Motel guest, Fish Cleaning house, Laundry on site, Boat Parking, Bath house for RV guest, Free Cable, WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tropic Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Island Resort Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing