We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General Manager very rude”
Review of Plantation Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Suites
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“General Manager very rude”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

First i want to say this place is NOT close to the beach. The island is small so basicly all the motels are close. When i read a place is close to the beach i expect to see it. You cannot see it at all. WE let the front office know there was a problem with our room. The front desk noted everything. WE figured everything would be taken care of. Got to our room from a full day to find our floor was still not clean. You could feel sand on the floor. The floor does have tile on it. There was hair on our pillow, we requested bottom floor and got a 2ns floor. We used a wash cloth and wiped the floor, the rag was black. This tells me the floors has not been mopped even before our stay. When we checked out we talked to the manager Shawn. He would not listen to our complaint. He had more excuses than trying to help us. Once he looked at their book to see the complaint he was like just check them out. My daughter slipped on the tile and he told her well you are on the beach. So be careful if you stay here if you fall he probably would not even care. If my daughter had fallen i would own that plantation motel and can promise you there would be no problems. NOW maybe if we had gotten a suite with a kitchen we would have been treated better. Shawn has very poor attitude and dont know how to handle issues.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kayleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
I want to say thank you for choosing Plantation Suites as your destination spot to Port A. I apologize for the service you received her at Plantation Suites. We should of took action when the complaint was first brought to our attention. As the GM I take pride in making sure that every guest is my main priority when they stay at Plantation Suites. I was not aware of the situation until you were checking out, due to meeting I was in that weekend. I had to do some reading of the incident book to make sure I was handling your situation properly but I was not given the opportunity. Please call me if there is anything I could do to resolve this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    104
    56
    24
    23
See reviews for
148
89
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had a great time. Friendly people who work here. Great location and great atmosphere. Very close to beach and shops. Wow is the correct title for this location. Workers are very professional. A need for more people like them. Great rates. Clean place. Great breakfast. I will return again and recommend this place to others. Many thanks for the swell time. Port A. Rooms are very roomy. Need a break from reality, come to this exciting place. No one else will treat you better than this place. We had a room next to the swimming pool and the hot tub. Excellent weather. Surrounding areas are very green and well kept. Access is real easy from main road. Ample parking for all. The Internet is free with good reception. Plenty of ice machines with ample ice. Fast checking and fast service when in need. This place should be rated very high among other lodging locations. Good place to relax and great place for comfort and safety. Leave your world behind and travel to an exciting paradise as this location close to the beach. No need to go to the Bahamas, this is a lot better. Check out this place and you will have ample memories to talk about. More visits and reviews coming so stay tune.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eds L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We want to thank you for choosing Plantation Suites and Port a as your "Bahamas". We really appreciate you comparing us to a beautiful place like that. We enjoy giving you the customer service you truly deserve. Our staff continues to take big strides to make sure each of our guest are well taken care of. We are happy that you were able to not think of nothing but relaxing in the sun at the pool area or the beach. We look forward to you and your family coming back to your Oasis!! See you Soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

2 bedroom, allows dogs. Thank you!! We opted for the suite overlooking the pool. A lot of room and everything we needed. Breakfast provided - was OK. Big plus not having to cook in the mornings. :) Very close to the beach - make sure to get a beach parking permit. Only complaint we had was on the cleaning, we had to have it addressed a few times. They apologized

Room Tip: The suites are worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnsonsinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We want to thank you for staying with us here at the Plantation Suites and Conference Center. We are glad that you are able to bring you dogs with you. We take pride in our service and we do appreciate you letting us know about your issue. We will take note of it and make sure we give every guest superior service. We will see you soon on your next visit to Plantation Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here because we got a Groupon. The room was very nice and clean with a little kitchen area. It was decorated nicely. The allow dogs which was a plus for us. It rained while we were there; so, we had to spend a lot of time in our room or on the porch. TV was nice. Breakfast was okay; but, the room was very small and overcrowded.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoTxTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you very much for purchasing our Groupon. We love that you brought you pet with you to enjoy you vacation. We continue to approve our rooms for our guest to enjoy. We want to make sure that our guest are as comfortable as possible. We will see you the next time you come to Port A and hope it is not raining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Our family which consisted of three couples and a four year old grandson had a wonderful stay. The rooms very clean. Service friendly and pool clean. You only had to drive about half a mile to the beach. Make are you pick up a beach parking ticket at the gas station at the corner. It is just twelve dollars for the entire year. Wonderful family trip!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We appreciate you choosing Plantation Suite as your Port A destination Spot. We hope your grandson had a wonderful time as well as your whole party. We take pride in our rooms and service. Our pool area is a great area to relax and enjoy the water. We want to see you soon when you come back to Port A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampasas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our family used to stay here when the kids were little. The last few years, it seemed to be getting shabby. On my recent visit to Port A, I needed a place for just one night (hard to find on the island) so I decided to try it here again. I'm happy to say that it's been spruced up since my last stay. Very clean, comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the service was fantastic. I wasn't feeling well when I arrived, and they quickly found me a room well before check-in. The breakfast is pretty much what you would expect, but again, the staff works hard to keep the breakfast room clean and the food items refilled. Overall, this is a great choice for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We here at Plantation Suites would like to thank you for giving us an opportunity to earn your trust and business. We have put in a lot of effort to make sure that our rooms and customer service is superior to all our guest. We thank you for your feed back and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This motel is fairly new and the facilities are in good shape. I called on Friday night for reservations for Saturday and Sunday nights. A lady named Lorraine was immensely friendly and helpful. I also liked that this motel was a little bit down the road from the close quarters in the business/restaurant/motel area. The breakfast is the usual continental fare and included. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank You for recognizing one of our Guest Service Rep.(Lorraine) that works hard to make sure you get the quality of service you deserve. We are about 2 minutes from all shopping and restaurants, but have a great restaurant right across the street. We look forward to seeing you when you come back to Plantation Suites in Port A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.1 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#17 of 20 in Port Aransas
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Suites

Property: Plantation Suites
Address: 1909 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Port Aransas
Plantation Suites Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing