We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always!”
Review of Plantation Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plantation Suites
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Bertram, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent as always!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stay here every year-they are so friendly and the location is great. This is the pet friendliest hotel on the island! The desk service is always outstanding and the staff is so friendly. We love the breakfast-waffles are the best ever!

Room Tip: Rooms on the boat side are the best, there seems to be far less prickers over there for some reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Plantation Suites and staff would like to thank you for coming every year. We are glad you are able to bring your pet which is part of the family. We love that you love our breakfast and we will look into putting more protein out. We are working with our landscaping crew to get those pesky stickers out of here. We hope to see you on your next visit with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    107
    59
    24
    24
See reviews for
156
89
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice, and have loved it both times. They recently had a living social deal going, so check that out if you are interested.

The kitchen is very good if you are in the kitchenette room. There is a refrigerator, microwave, 2 burner hotplate, and coffee maker. After a day at the beach it is nice to be able to just make some food in the room. Everything has been very clean both times as well.

The bath tub is comfortable as well.

There is a living room area in addition to the bedroom. It is a pretty big room, plenty of space for 2-4 people.

Our labrador loves the place. There is room for us to set up his food and bed. There is plenty of grass around the parking lot to take him out as well.

Staff is nice and friendly. Towels provided for pool use.

Very good hotel, especially for the price. We will definitely continue going there.

Room Tip: The kitchenette rooms are worth the extra money. Good kitchen, and more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for coming back to Plantation Suites. We will be running other promotion in the future, so look out for those. We love that you brought you Labrador with you to enjoy all the un you are having. We know that your pet is part of the family and deserves the trip too. Our staff takes pride in making sure that your experience and memories are amazing. We look forward to seeing you on the next trip to Port A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

The room was huge, clean and the beds were comfortable. Great water pressure in nice hot shower. Pool and hot tub were great. Very friendly front desk person.
Will plan on staying here every time I visit the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabodden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Planation Suites wants thank you for choosing us every time you visit the beach. Please come back to see our new look out at the pool area. We hope to see you soon, when you visit the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This place isn't a Marriott as far as cleanliness and quality standards but for the value we had a very comfortable stay! We were very close to everything and it was nice having breakfast in the morning. I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitney h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We want to thank you for choosing Plantation Suites when you visited Port A. We do want you to feel like you are in a comfortable hotel with all the amenities we offer. We are glad you had a great experience and can't wait to see you next time you return to Port A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The room was nice and clean. The location was in a great spot. Close to shops and not too far from the beach. The exterior was nice with picnic tables and bbq pits. The pool and hot tub were very enjoyable. Very clean. Breakfast was pretty good but they for some reason wouldn't leave the no stick spray out for the waffle maker and I tried twice to make one but they just ended up sticking to the machine on both sides. :( The things I didn't like about this hotel were 1: The AC was SO loud. It would kick on about three minutes after kicking off (due to the humidity). I would wake up every single time. 2. We stayed upstairs and the stairs are very steep. I was nervous just watching my kids go up and down them. There is not very good hand rails going all the way up. Other than those 2 things, it was a nice stay. I would consider staying here again if ever back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0vet0travelalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We appreciate you staying with us here at Plantation Suites. We want to thank you for your feed back on how to improve our property. I will personally find solutions to fix these issues for you and future guests. We do our best to pay attention to the details at our hotel to make sure that all guest get the experience they truly deserve. I will also contact our distributor for the waffle maker to see if they have a product that will allow us to put a spray out that will not make them stick. We hope you had memorable stay and can't wait to see you on your next trip to Port A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We just had our wedding reception at Plantation Suites. From the initial contact to check-out, we were treated very well! The manager was helpful, and he made our reception and stay at Plantation Suites seamless and fun! We were greeted with smiles, and our wedding planning company was able to set up for the reception a day ahead of time. The suites were clean, roomy, and affordable. We had a block of rooms reserved for the wedding party and out-of-town guests, and no one had a problem with reservations and booking. The reception room was perfect for our party, and we had no interruptions or complications with the party. The kids enjoyed the pool a few times over our 3-night stay. The Palm Suite (the honeymoon suite) included a large tub, king-size bed, and even a kitchenette. The guests were all treated with respect, and we will be staying at Plantation Suites again in the future. A major bonus was that we were able to bring our pets...the pet friendly policy is GREAT! Thank you to Shawn and the other staff at PS for making our stay enjoyable and successful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shandar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We want to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your wedding and guests. We are so glad that we were able to accommodate your needs and make your wedding memorable. We take pride in what we do and we always make sure we give you the guest service you deserve and also we do it with a smile. We can't wait till you come back to Plantation Suites and visit us on your anniversary. See you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our Texas tour. It didn't start off too good as we had a convertable car and as we stopped to wait for the ferry we were attacked by mosquitos. By the time we had got the lid up the car was full of the pesky critters and I got badly bitten, even thru my clothes. Bt the time we got to the hotel reception I was stressed out and scratching like I had fleas. The receptionist was very good and got us to our room as quickly as possible. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. My son drove down to the supermarket and got some mosquito repellent before I ventured outside. When it got dark I sat on the balcony in a rocking chair, it was lovely. Breakfast was very good and check-out efficient. I noticed that people had brought boats with them and there was special parking for the boats. I think this is a really lovely place to spend some time and don't let the fact that I am a naive English person put you off, just bring the repellent spray.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joylwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We want to thank you for choosing us on your Texas tour. The mosquitos around here can be a little relentless. Our commitment to our guest is to make sure we give each one the guest service you truly deserve. We hope to see you soon on your next journey through Port A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.4 mi away
Captain's Quarters Inn
Captain's Quarters Inn
#8 of 20 in Port Aransas
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Suites

Property: Plantation Suites
Address: 1909 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Plantation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Port Aransas
Plantation Suites Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing