We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - Never Again”
Review of Plantation Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plantation Suites
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overpriced - Never Again”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed for a two nights mini-vacation in a busy vacation weekend (I realize now the big mistake I made). I paid over 250 dollars a night, and what you get is the kind of service you would in a motel. The rooms are old. What is advertised as "deluxe breakfast" is a lousy collection of the cheapest possible breakfast items, not yummy at all. Everything in the property would need major attention.

I guess my biggest trouble was the feeling of being ripped off. If this was max 150 dollars a night, it would probably be fair. For 250+ dollars it was just an insult.

I now even question why should anyone go to N. Padre Island. The beach is horrible, windy and fully of stinky seaweed. We will NEVER be back. Stay in Rockport or even Corpus Christi.

The hotel is quite a walk from the beach, which is not nice anyways.

The only positive would be if you have a ton of kids and dogs and you want something that allows you to cook and put them to bed when they are tired, this is probably the place for you. The room we got was sleeping at least 4.

I do not recommend the hotel and Port Aransas as a whole. Big disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank latakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for you honest opinion of Plantation Suites. We take pride in the service we give and we go the extra mile to make sure that your stay here is a great experience. We make sure the property is clean and up to date everyday. We always like feed back for our breakfast so we can accommodate everyone. We do make our eggs fresh and our cinnamon rolls and muffins are made fresh daily. We do change our menu daily for our guests. We are sorry that it was so windy when you came which can bring a lot of seaweed to our beaches. We take this very seriously and will make all the appropriate changes in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    107
    59
    24
    24
See reviews for
156
89
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There were 8 in our party so I rented two suites. The pictures look just like the online ad...but looks can be deceiving!!! In our first room, upon entering we ran into a huge puddle of water under the a/c unit. In the second room there was a broken plug plate next to the nightstand, the a/c was so loud you couldn't hear the TV even turned up, the door jam going into the bathroom was broken-locking us into the bathroom at times, the sofa sleeper mattress was awful even for a sleeper, the face plate around the bath vent rattles so bad it will drive you nuts, and we wanted to stay because it said it was dog friendly.....only there is NO place for them to relieve themselves due to the extremely high volume of sticker burrs! This was NOT worth $1000!!! WE WILL NOT BE GOING BACK!!!

Room Tip: Do Not Take Dogs, or plan on getting a Good nights sleep or plan on walking to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We want to thank you for letting us know how to improve our property. We do room inspection every day to make sure this does not happen and we do apologize for the technical problem you had in your room. We will pay closer attention to the detail in our room so our guest will have the best quality suite on the Island. The sticker burrs are really bad on the island and we are working with our landscaping company to figure out the solution. Plantation Suites will also be building a dog park in the back of property to solve this issue in the future. We value your opinion and will make sure we do a better job for every guest that visits us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay at Plantation . The pool was very nice. Breakfast was good and varied each morning. The staff was courteous and accommodating. They gave extra sheets and a blanket for the pull out sofa without a fuss. Everything was clean... The room, the breakfast room, the pool, and the common area all clean. And I was there during a very busy weekend. I will return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank teamvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello teamvf,

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the review and rating. It's always so good to hear from our guests. The next time you are thinking of coming to Port A. give us a call and we'll reserve your favorite room!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Really liked this hotel! Beds were very comfortable and ac worked great (which is very important to us). Staff was very helpful and nice. Room was very clean and grounds were kept clean. This is a hotel that allows small dogs (we brought our two), so I was surprised not to smell animals or see dog poop out in the grass. The only two very small drawbacks for us were #1-the shower had very low water pressure so it was hard to get shampoo out of my hair! and #2-the small fridge did not work real well, so we kept most of our cold stuff in our cooler and kept adding ice.
Pool was nice at it is heated but a little small. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TARA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello TARA J,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! It’s very important to us what you say and how your experience was at Plantation Suites. We will be sure to have maintenance check the water pressure and mini refrigerators to make sure everything is working properly. We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay. Come see us again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Read all the tips before booking. I missed it and we had three people in a king suite with no pull out sofa. Our 6' grandson slept on a 4.5' couch! Didn't work well. Also, though they are dog friendly, there is no place to walk your dog. Property is filled with stickers. On boat slip 7, about the first 5' off the pavement is the only spot on the entire property that is not filled with stickers. If you get a downstairs room, pray no one is above you because you can not only hear them walking, you can hear them. I will say, the breakfast, which is free, is awesome. Whoever does the cooking is great! Our grandson is picky about his eggs and he ate a large helping every morning. The staff is also very friendly. If you don't have a dog, and don't have small children that go barefoot, you'll be fine, just request the pull out sofa ahead of time and don't take for granted it is included.

Room Tip: Room 13 is by the dumpster and they empty it at 5:30 Friday morning! Not really dog friendly since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BransonRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
That's awesome that your grandson enjoyed our breakfast. We do give out air mattresses out just in case you have that extra guest with you in our King Suites. The sticker burrs on the island are bothersome and we are doing our best to find a solution to eliminate them for our property. We are going to put a dog park in the back of our property that will allow our pets to be free of sticker burrs. We all want to thank you for your feed back and will find every solution to make sure our guests are comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollister, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Tried out the Plantation Suites for a quick overnight get-away and was pleasantly surprised at the quality and cleanliness of the hotel. Expected a little better than Motel6 but got more of a La Quinta Type room! 2 Queen beds and sofa. The area is very clean and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The included breakfast was a surprise as it offered a little more than the normal continental fruit, bread, and cereal choices. Very convenient to the beaches and restaurants. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdsholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello pdsholl!

Glad you got the chance to stop by and stay! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a "good news/bad news" review. First the bad news. In all fairness to the Plantation Inn, a portion of our four day stay was over the Easter weekend. That may account for the debris & over-flowing trash cans in their picnic area that lasted the length of our stay. The floor of our room was gritty with the area's fine grey sand. You had to wipe your feet before you got in bed.

Again in all fairness, this may have been fallout from the city's edict that guest rooms rented for two days or more could only be cleaned & linens changed every other day (a water conservation move, I was told). So if you are going to stay for several days, be prepared to make your own bed.

The other bad news was that the breakfast room was a mess & they ran out of some items, but again that may have been a consequence of the high traffic of Easter weekend.

On the good news side, the location is convenient, the office staff was very courteous & responsive, and the complimentary breakfast was a notch above average in terms of selection, They have dedicated boat parking for those that come to fish the bay as well as a dedicated "fish house" in which to clean your catch. Add to that there is a complimentary beverage provided at check-in, Beer, Soda or Water.

All in all, we would probably stay there again, but I would hope that they cleaned it better.

Room Tip: If you stay downstairs, you may hear the footfalls of those in the room above, but if you stay upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Plantation Suites would like to say thank you for stay with us during Easter weekend. We want to make sure that your suites is clean and have the best quality service. We make sure that our housekeeping staff gives all new towels and makes the beds daily. I will make sure that our staff goes the extra mile and double all rooms when cleaning them. I will monitor the breakfast room to make sure we our fully stock for everyone to enjoy. We hope you caught a lot of fish and enjoyed them with your family. We can't wait to see you soon on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.4 mi away
Captain's Quarters Inn
Captain's Quarters Inn
#8 of 20 in Port Aransas
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Suites

Property: Plantation Suites
Address: 1909 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Port Aransas
Plantation Suites Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing