We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you temper your expectations - it is OK !”
Review of Plantation Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plantation Suites
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Selected this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews -- I expected a little more, but I guess it was OK.

-- We had 5 in our party and therefore needed to use the hide-a-bed ... It was not useable for 2 reason - First was the physical condition ( only about half of the springs were in place to support the mattress and many of those were broken ) - and Second was the "ick" of the mattress. After the maintenance lady (thumbs up for her by the way, very nice and helpful ! ) determined it was not repairable, we were moved to a room that was much more up to date (Tile floors and newer furniture).

- The servicing of the room consisted of making the bad and changing the towels, nothing else. If it is a time crunch, leave the bed and sweep/mop the floor and clean the shower would be my preference !

- The location is OK - close enough to the beach to walk if you don't mind cutting through a small field and walking about 150 yards down a somewhat busy street, but it was manageable.

- The outdoor facilities available were not really available. We tried to pitch some horseshoes and lounge at the picnic table, but were greeted by swarms of fire-ants and mosquitoes. Hopefully, they will be able to get that under control - it would have made the evenings more relaxing. we didn't use the pool because of the mosquito issue, but it seemed to be fine.

- The breakfast area was clean and the selection was typical of a motel environment - decent coffee/juices - cold cereals - donuts - etc. They did have a waffle maker and a daily "hot" item. The waffles were good, but the hot item was not that appealing. Overall it was fine for what it is.

I guess I will leave it at that - "Plantation Suites is fine for what it is"

------------------------------------------

On a somewhat brighter note - the dining options in Port A are good. We ate at Moby Dicks and Crazy Cajun and both get a thumbs up. I wish we could have checked out a couple more that I had heard good reviews on !

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wspmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2010

They say they are the "Best Place to stay in Port-A" and that exactly what they were! We were greeted by friendly front desk. Room was very clean, very nice, comfortable and had all the trimmings: fridge, microwave, swivel flat screen, tile, table, everything. We had a family of 6 and all were very comfortable (2 queens and a pull out sofa).

Pool and hot tub were very nice, towels by the cabana.

Breakfast was very good, lots of choices and as they ran out, it was filled quickly.

Minutes from restaurants, clubs, beach...ferry, everything.

I would HIGHLY recommend Plantation Suites to anyone going to Port A. They have become our new Port A residence for sure!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy2badad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

This was our 6th visit to Plantation Suites. Tracey welcomed us and our room was ready. They are in the midst of updating/refurbing the rooms and, even though we had one of the older rooms, it was clean and tidy with all the amenities in place.

When booking at P.S., we know when we will be staying and always call ahead. We always get the best room rates this way. We have never experienced any service issues at Plantation Suites, found the folks there very pleaseand and we are repeat guests.
We will bring my wife's sister down to Port A and Plantation Suites again this year. She came down from Chicago a year ago, loved the place and wanted to return.
The pool and hot tub are always clean and the place always tidy. The breakfast is just fine...they have a daily hot item, make your own waffles, cereal, fruit, pastries, juices and coffee. What more could you want.......

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We arrived at 6 PM to check in and were told our room wasn't ready, but that it would be ready in 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, we checked and it still wasn't ready. One of our friends arrived to check in when we had come back to see if our room was ready. Plantation Inn had screwed up their reservation and given them 2 rooms (don't let Rosie take your reservation over the phone, she doesn't have a clue what she is doing). They only needed one, and since both were ready, we ended up taking one of their rooms. The next day, we returned at 4:30 PM and our room had not been serviced. We called and requested service. Nobody came. We called at 5 PM, and again, nobody came. We called at 5:30 PM and simply asked for clean towels, forget cleaning the room. At 5:45 PM, FINALLY somebody came with clean towels. Their "hot breakfast" is a joke. We went into town and got our own breakfast after we almost barfed to see what they offered.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gr8things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

This is the 6 th year John & I have come to Port Aransas for 7 0r 8 nights in mid February. After the 3rd year we decided the motels situation was not workable and decided to go to Florida. So we started searching the web and could not find suitable reviews for Panama City Beach where we used to go. So we thought we'd search Port Aransas again. We found Plantation Inn & Suites on the web and it sounded too good to be trued, so we called the chamber (3 years ago) and they said it was rather new like under 10 years and that the operators continued to up grade the motel and they only knew good things. So we called and made reservations--that was 3 years ago. We love the motel. We have stayed in motels from North to South and from the Atlantic to the Pacific. We even were motel managers in Colorado. So we have a fair idea of what is good or not good in a motel. The rooms are huge compared to most. All about the room spells "CLEAn, COMFORTABLE WELCOMING. The cute breakfast room is so inviting and the breakfast way beyond the average continential breakfast. There is even a computer for guest use in the lobby. We already have our reseravations for next February and plan to take our feline friend. A good motel makes all the difference in the world for a vacation stay. J & J Missouri

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We went there for our 6th anniversary and have absolutely No regrets about choosing this trip. We went for their Brass Pro Fishing Adventure and we felt like thieves because we got a lot of bang for our few bucks :) The room was surprisingly spacious and clean, their heated pool was great, the Breakfast in the morning was More than just a couple of pastries and coffee, I mean come on they had biscuits w/ gravy one morning Yum! the Staff is EVER so KIND. Especially Janey, Tracy, and Ben who by the way went with us on the boat out fishing and took pictures, which they put on cds for us and mailed them to our house Free of Charge. Our trip included a Shrimp Boil which was simple yet Delicious. It was Great! We will be looking forward to going back. Note: This is not a Hampton, But its NOT a mangy Days inn or Motel 6 either. This is a comfortable hotel without the "corporate" feel. You feel like a guest, not a customer. I think the people who low-rate this place have TOO high expectation for a hotel on the Island close to the water. Musty smell? Its on the ISLAND next to WATER..hmm put 2 & 2 together :) *Bottome Line, Loved it Would Highly recommend*

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perezsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Online service to book room was slow. Call directly to hotel. Pool and cabana area are lush with plants and comfortable. Breakfast area and selection had plenty of variety and was actually pretty good. The room smelled like an old musty cave but was clean. The mattresses, pillows very comfortable. Room is deep and long with kitchenette at back. Appliances worked well. Tile floors were perfect for our dogs. Bring rugs or dog bed. It had recently rained a lot and we were attacked by billions of aggressive mosquitoes as soon as we got out of the car and had to make a quick trip to a convenience store to get bug spray. Everyone was lighthearted about it and offered to share their bug spray. We had a good time overall but transferred to a condo after two days because of noisy upper floor family and cheaper prices. Charges for pets were excesssive and not posted on the online information..

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ex-Detroiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Aransas
0.4 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
858 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
7.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Aransas Pass/Corpus Chris
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Suites

Address: 1909 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range: £70 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plantation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Port Aransas
Plantation Suites Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing