We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no complaints!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottages at Seashell Village
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“no complaints!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

this year,09, will be our 4th year coming back. the prices are good, the cottages are clean, the staff are friendly. we love staying here...its like home away from home. we even have our family staying there too every time they visit port a. its walking distance to the beach and you can also use the pool, its like the best of both worlds for your kids. its a nice desent place to stay with kids, not like in padre where you'll have to tell your kids "cover your eyes" every time you drive by the beach. ive heard they remodeled the cottages and can't wait to spend many spring breaks here.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasLuvmykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    13
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas Hill Country
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

Overall, this place was just right for 2 couples who only needed a place to sleep for a really good price. Nothing fancy, but it was clean. There wasn't much room for "hanging out" inside, but there was ample space for sleep. Very cold A/C!!!

We only had two complaints.
1.) The drain in the shower was poor, and the shower basin filled up with water. We reported that to Management on checkout.
2.) We had a boat, and there wasn't much room for it in the overflow parking. It was actually a pain to get the boat in and out.

We did find out from the Office that Seashell Village Resort (the owners next door) are planning on tearing the cottages down this fall to make room for additional resort buildings. So.... if you want to take advanage of the cottages and their inexpensive rates, make haste.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Froschlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

We arrived at 5:50 P.M. to a closed office and found our keys (as well as other guests) were left in a mailbox. The cottages had no on-site management and several cottages were occupied by a group that had already "taken over" the outside area at 6 P.M.. Extremely, extremely loud music played outside until past midnight, and several of the men appeared to be arguing in the parking area outside the rooms. I like to drink and have a good time, but this was way beyond that. There was no one to contact in regard to our unrestful night, other than a message machine. The envelope with our keys did provide the police phone number, and I wonder if this is how this place is "managed". When we left the next morning I told the manager that I had a complaint about the situation from the night before and she indicated that she was aware of the situation and said "you just never know how guests will be". The management should have done something about the situation if they were aware of it. I did not think this was a safe place to stay!
As far as the cottage itself, it is typical of what I would have stayed in back in the the 60's or 70's, but it is now very well worn...but it is clean and the grounds are well maintained...it is more "dingy" than "quaint", but it is very close to the beach. Stayed in Shark Reef Resort the next night and it was MUCH better.

  • Liked — proximity to beach and shopping
  • Disliked — no management
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AustinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2008

We reviewed the comments on Trip Advisor before we called The Gulf Beach Cottages. We were apprehensive, but decided to chance it due to the excellent prices. When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were incredibly clean. I highly recommend #15 of the cottages. The staff were out of this world friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return to #15 if available.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank portalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Aransas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2007

A little bit of old Port Aransas with a few extras. These Old Cottages are a little worn but still have that old Port Aransas feel. The cottages have been recently purchased by the adjacent property and the office is a bit hard to find. The amnesties including a nice pool are now available to Gulf Beach. The grounds were well kept and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank island6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2006

This was my second stay at the cottages. We returned to Gulf Beach because it was so quaint, had lush & relaxing courtyards. The cottages were what I expected, but the court yards, outside furniture (what was left of it) and lawns were neglected. The court yard used to have inviting shade, nice lighting at night & numerous tables and chairs for socializing. It was great for relaxing in the evening after being at the beach all day. Instead, the lawn was unmowed- full of weeds & had an isolated picnic table near the front entrance and no shade. The Gulf Beach website still displays the lawns and courtyards that I remembered from last year. When discussing this concern with the manager, she sounded overwhelmed, defensive and indicated that she was not happy with her maintenance staff. Jodie( the manager) pointed to the one remaining courtyard at the back of the property and told me to use that one - I suggested to her that the one remaining courtyard would not accommodate all of the guests (& she agreed). I think Gulf Beach plays second fiddle to their property next door.


  • Disliked — unkept lawn & rude staff from the get go
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank smill08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2006

My, how things can change in one year...and not for "the better". The Gulf Beach Cottages has a new owership and with that, propery priorities have apparently changed too. The outside sitting area where we use to love to hang out and enjoy the breeze is now un-mowed and covered with tall weeds. It use to draw us outside with its clean tables surrounded by lush tropical blooms and sweet Christmas lights at night. Not anymore - the "feel" of the place is simply not warm or welcoming. We had a major plumbing problem that caused us to cut our trip short. The manager, Jody, said we could move to another cottage that wasn't cleaned yet but we'd have to change the bed linens ourself (she did agree to refund us for the nights that we lost). Overall, the experience was really sad...we hate seeing this formerly quaint and wonderful place on such a downhill slide. We won't be back.

  • Liked — They allow dogs.
  • Disliked — Not as clean and well kept as it use to be.
  • Tips/Secrets — Find another place - this one is going downhill fast.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachlovingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Double Barr Cottages
Double Barr Cottages
#35 of 42 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Palm Inn
Blue Palm Inn
#31 of 42 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Seashell Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Seashell Village

Property: The Cottages at Seashell Village
Address: 506 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5747 (Formerly Gulf Beach Cottages)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Cottages At Seashell Village Hotel Port Aransas
The Cottages At Seashell Village Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing