We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The rooms (suite) were good. There was a washer and dryer in the room, which was a welcome addition. The building was just a few dozen meters from the Gulf beach, which was very nice. We did not avail ourselves of the housekeeping services because we did not need anything and the people did not intrude on our privacy, which was appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NedCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    63
    24
    29
    43
See reviews for
111
66
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This property has both motel-type rooms and condo units. We stayed in a single queen bed motel room over the weekend. Small, but adequate for our needs for a short trip. Small kitchenette area with sink, cabinets, toaster, microwave, coffee maker and fridge. Fridge was 3/4 size with separate freezer. Microwave did not work, but everything else did. Room was relatively clean. Kitchen was supplied with only a few basic cups, bowls, plates, etc. I would recommend bringing what you need with you. Room was damp and air conditioner noisy, but worked ok. Bathroom small but serviceable. We had a room on the second floor, bldg 2, that faced the parking lot. Would have preferred first floor, facing ocean, but that was not available when I contacted hotel. Check in and check out was quick with no problems. Wi-fi and TV worked ok in our room. Very few towels provided, bring your own extra towels. Short walk to the beach, seemed to be one of the closest properties to the actual beach. Two swimming pools, one hot tub, one of the pools is heated. BBQ areas, well kept grounds. All in all, I think a good value for our $$. We paid $90 per night. I found the cheapest rates on the Beachgate website. Oh, and a plus for us: pet friendly, extra $15 per night for doggie. Beach bar / restaurant right next door for quick snacks and drinks. Will stay again and try a condo unit next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have been going to port a for 50 years. beachgate is where I have finally settled each summer for 'beach weekend'. . reasonably priced and the closest housing to the beach....just walk thru the dunes 100 yds and u have a safe beach with protection from the cars...or go down the beach just a little way and u can drive right up to the water. condos vary in price and view. we are always on the front and have great ocean view. units are designed to be either 1,2 or 3 bedrooms with large living and kitchens. just off 11th and minutes from down town. rent a golf cart and see the island. the best thing is that beachgate is right next to beach lodge, another motel, which has the 'beach bar and restaurant'. walk from your room thru the fence and 25 yards to friendly open restaurant and bar with porches looking directly at the gulf. great fried oyster sandwich and other gulf treats. beer and wine...u can stay at fancier places but u cant just walk out of your room to the beach....several pools

Room Tip: ask for second floor or higher for great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzchipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had paid our deposit and checking various web sites the day before leaving for Beachgate saw reviews that worried us. Called BEACHGATE, was told too late to cancel for $ back, but spoke to Stephanie who instantly found us a room without a review issue and assured us all would be fine. WOW ...SHE KNOWS HER JOB! and she WAS NOT KIDDING !:)
Anyone who has patronized beach establishments can tell you to EXPECT some considerable wear/tear/dirt/bugs/trash from "SPLASH DAY" or "party hearty" crowds swelling the HOLIDAY TIMES AT ANY PLACE so close to the beach. Sure, you may get lucky with a deal on some new place that cut prices to start the business and looks great but their lack of experience coupled with the surprises they suffer from crowds or the weather unpredictable events are NOT worth betting your annual vacation on, imho.
We PREFER EXPERIENCED PROS who've suffered "holiday hell" before, AND ARE READY FOR A QUICK RECOVERY FROM IT, and clean up BEAUTIFULLY for geezers like us that just want to enjoy the peace and quiet of an AFFORDABLE GORGEOUS place with courteous, helpful attentive helpful folks in charge that KNOW how important this is to us boomer/geezer couples AND GREATLY APPRECIATE their HARD WORK AND ATTENTION TO DETAIL.....THANK YOU, STEPHANIE !! and ALL THE MAINTENANCE AND CLEANING PERSONNEL...We had a GREAT TIME...the Ferry trip from Aransas Pass showed us Dolphins on the way, The breakfast at AVERY'S was outstanding, as was the food at SAN JUAN'S and later FINS w view of Marina , the BEACH was drivable and VERY CLEAN, The long jetty was a challenging walk and we found that folks were SPEARFISHING from there so some SNORKELING visibilty was possible further out if one is very careful w ingress and egress. The museums and shops here and Rockport/Fulton were cool and we went to Corpus Christi for the Nina Pinta Santa Maria tour which is at their outstanding museum offering more every year as well.
We simply had a BLAST! :) ...MOST of it due to Stephanie and the courteous, kind and INFORMATIVE BEACHGATE PERSONNEL personified HOSPITALITY ! :)
Once again THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH..and GOD BLESS YOU ALL

Jim&Penny

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great location- right on the beach. Rooms are old and smelly. Furniture is falling apart.There was one couch you couldn't even use it was so damaged. The kitchen and dishes were dirty. Coffee grounds left over from a previous guest. You couldn't pay me to use the microwave it was so gross. The room was spacious and and the bathroom was clean enough. Wifi was slow and spotty which really sucked since there is hardly any cell service on the beach. The rates are stupid high for what you get.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to avoid noise from the pool and other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I had a small room with a good view. Had the floor not been flithy, it may have been acceptable. On the third day, someone in the next room locked themselves out and in a very private moment, they wanted to go through my room. Not once, but twice. They never brought towels and I was working in the room most of the time. They never offered to clean the floors after I told them it was filthy. They never changed sheets in 6 days. If you don't ask for something, you are not going to get it or you may not get it if you do. The telephone in the room worked, but the volume was so low you could not really hear the other party. Terrible, terrible, terrible,. If there was a lower score, I would give it.

Room Tip: Go to another facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lionsde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I decided on a last minute trip to the beach. The night before we found this place. Reserving the Condo online was a breeze. The place takes half the $ up front, the other half on checkin.

Don't use your IPhone to find this place. There are two South 11th streets. The main entrance is on Anchor street. The is a main office to checkin and greet you, get room keys call ahead if your are checking in late! They have a board with the favorite restaurants, etc to view. Special thanks to *Stephanie*, for recommendations and drawing out some locations on a map for me.

Had a room on the 3rd floor, no elevators. But the stairs were a breeze. I had Condo 535. The room was very large with a queen bed, large bath, a full kitchen, 2 futons and a balcony with chairs outside. The unit had 2 window air cons one on each side.

The room wasn't the cleanest I've stayed in. Thing were not wiped down, floors still with some dirt. Fridge was not cleaned out, nor the coffee maker as it was filled with a paper towel and coffee grounds.

The sofa had bed pillows, which was still had hair one them, was shows they were not changed out. The bed however was very clean, with clean linens in the bath as well.

The location was great. Right on the beach. They also had 2 pools, but come on YOUR AT THE BEACH! A resturant next door offer breakfast-dinner, which was ok, convenient.

There are offer restaurants down the street, get there early has they are smaller mom-and-pops that fill up fast and close early. Local bars are pretty close. A quick 5 min drive back towards the ferry

Overall I would stay again. I primary picked this place for beach access and availability.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3ill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel

Property: Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel
Address: 2000 On the Beach Dr, Port Aransas, TX 78373-6003
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re just a small friendly beachfront place. No boardwalks or long trails through the dunes, just a few steps out the front drive across the sand "On The Beach Drive" and you are on the beach! No one is any closer, only a few as close. With so many unit type options to choose from, we've got the perfect room for you! We have 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom Condominium style accommodations with full bathrooms for each bedroom, a spacious living area, dining area and fully equipped kitchens. We also have a number of Motel style rooms to choose from. Some with 1 bed, some with 2 beds, some with 2 bedrooms. Some with Kitchenette Efficiency facilities...most all of them with small refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachgate Condo Hotel Port Aransas
Beachgate CondoSuites And Hotel Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing