We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happily surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“happily surprised”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

When we booked this hotel/motel for our vacation, i was a bit leery because the reviews weren't very positive and the property website made it sound very "bare-bones". When we arrived, we were very happilly surprised. The rooms were fully stocked with all the necessary stuff; pots, pans, dishes, flatware, cooking utensils, coffee maker, coffee,etc... We did have a little trouble with the WiFi, but if we moved out onto the porch, it was fine. There was a heated swimming pool and hot tub. The customer service was very good. It was clean, no bugs!!! I am glad i didn't listen to all the negative comments and was able to rate this trip myself. We had a fantastic visit, and YES we will visit again.

Room Tip: From what I saw, all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sthomasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    64
    24
    29
    43
See reviews for
115
67
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

8/19-8/21/13
Booked this hotel because they allowed a dog. We stayed on 4th floor of motel. Room was not super clean but I wiped it down and felt better (there was trash under the beds and the bathroom was just a bit old and gross).
There were 2 queen beds. There were no pillow cases on the pillows, so we called up for cases. They gave us 4, and 2 of them had dried blood stains (I later learned this may be a sign of bed bugs).

My mom stated the next morning she felt like something was crawling on her but didn't see anything. We noticed a few bugs (one floating in dog dish, one on my beach hat, one on bed) but we had no idea what they were. They looked more like ticks. We saved one to show the staff but accidentally threw it away. When I got home I looked them up and they looked like pictures of bed bugs on internet, so I called and spoke to someone at the front desk. She stated the manager wasn't available, so she would pass on the message. I followed up the call with an email to the head of maintenance, and an email to the manager. I tried several more times by email and finally was able to reach the manager by phone almost 2 months later. She seemed very apologetic, and even confirmed they were bedbugs, because the people who checked in after us complained of them. She stated they replaced the furniture in the room. She offered a refund and a discount for another stay. I had to follow up by email and phone for another month before I saw only a partial reimbursement (for one of two days). Of note, my mom saw bites on her arms and legs about 5 days later. I read that this delayed reaction to the bites can occur.

Overall disappointed with this place, firstly due to the bugs, but also because they do not maintain their grounds (if guests are rude enough to leave their dog's poop on the ground, it stays there, so there is a dog poop smell everywhere, and you have to be careful where you walk). Also disappointed in the staff. On some hotel websites, they also mention a disinterested staff.

Nice that they allow dogs, but beware for sure.

Room Tip: Avoid hotel, the condos may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding in November 2013. We got two hotel rooms with fridges and mini stoves that linked up so our kids could have their own room. Considering that there is NOTHING to do on this island in November and that the rooms and everything in them is from the 1980's and falling apart I think they were pretty overpriced. Maybe in the summer it'd be a steal, but in the winter? Nope.
Like I said a lot of it was falling apart, but the linens were clean, the TVs worked and the showers got hot. The view IS beautiful and the beach is very close. It's NOT close to anything else though, not walking distance to a gas station or restaurant unless you want to be walking for 10-15 minutes.
The wooden staircases and decks seem relatively sturdy... but they made me nervous and my toddler fell down a flight of them (he was fine).
The pool is heated and the hot tub gets nice and hot, so that's great!
The laundry room was hard to find and expensive, and the dryer didn't do a great job (ran out of change and had to take my damp clothes home as-is).
Overall, next time, I'll try to find something else.
P.S. If you do stay here, do not enter from the beach- people kept getting stuck in the sand.

Room Tip: The double hotel rooms linked by a hall seem to be a better value than the condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It is a not a 5 star place, but that I think is not what most are looking for with this type of place. The rooms where clean for the most part and the staff was friendly and helpful. And you cannot beat the proximity to the beach. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mbthom1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The rooms (suite) were good. There was a washer and dryer in the room, which was a welcome addition. The building was just a few dozen meters from the Gulf beach, which was very nice. We did not avail ourselves of the housekeeping services because we did not need anything and the people did not intrude on our privacy, which was appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NedCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This property has both motel-type rooms and condo units. We stayed in a single queen bed motel room over the weekend. Small, but adequate for our needs for a short trip. Small kitchenette area with sink, cabinets, toaster, microwave, coffee maker and fridge. Fridge was 3/4 size with separate freezer. Microwave did not work, but everything else did. Room was relatively clean. Kitchen was supplied with only a few basic cups, bowls, plates, etc. I would recommend bringing what you need with you. Room was damp and air conditioner noisy, but worked ok. Bathroom small but serviceable. We had a room on the second floor, bldg 2, that faced the parking lot. Would have preferred first floor, facing ocean, but that was not available when I contacted hotel. Check in and check out was quick with no problems. Wi-fi and TV worked ok in our room. Very few towels provided, bring your own extra towels. Short walk to the beach, seemed to be one of the closest properties to the actual beach. Two swimming pools, one hot tub, one of the pools is heated. BBQ areas, well kept grounds. All in all, I think a good value for our $$. We paid $90 per night. I found the cheapest rates on the Beachgate website. Oh, and a plus for us: pet friendly, extra $15 per night for doggie. Beach bar / restaurant right next door for quick snacks and drinks. Will stay again and try a condo unit next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have been going to port a for 50 years. beachgate is where I have finally settled each summer for 'beach weekend'. . reasonably priced and the closest housing to the beach....just walk thru the dunes 100 yds and u have a safe beach with protection from the cars...or go down the beach just a little way and u can drive right up to the water. condos vary in price and view. we are always on the front and have great ocean view. units are designed to be either 1,2 or 3 bedrooms with large living and kitchens. just off 11th and minutes from down town. rent a golf cart and see the island. the best thing is that beachgate is right next to beach lodge, another motel, which has the 'beach bar and restaurant'. walk from your room thru the fence and 25 yards to friendly open restaurant and bar with porches looking directly at the gulf. great fried oyster sandwich and other gulf treats. beer and wine...u can stay at fancier places but u cant just walk out of your room to the beach....several pools

Room Tip: ask for second floor or higher for great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzchipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel

Property: Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel
Address: 2000 On the Beach Dr, Port Aransas, TX 78373-6003
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re just a small friendly beachfront place. No boardwalks or long trails through the dunes, just a few steps out the front drive across the sand "On The Beach Drive" and you are on the beach! No one is any closer, only a few as close. With so many unit type options to choose from, we've got the perfect room for you! We have 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom Condominium style accommodations with full bathrooms for each bedroom, a spacious living area, dining area and fully equipped kitchens. We also have a number of Motel style rooms to choose from. Some with 1 bed, some with 2 beds, some with 2 bedrooms. Some with Kitchenette Efficiency facilities...most all of them with small refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beachgate CondoSuites and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachgate Condo Hotel Port Aransas
Beachgate CondoSuites And Hotel Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing