We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chill and ultra dog-friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Laughing Horse Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chill and ultra dog-friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My cottage was a fun, eclectic, and decent place to stay for the weekend, but what sets it apart is the attention to detail for my four-legged family members. Not only did they have doggie towels and a water dish at the front door, they had a full-blown dog wash station (with pet-friendly soap) to wash off the salt and sand. The Lodge provided id tags in case the dogs decided to roam, and a designated dog walk area, complete with waste bags and disposal bins. For two-legged visitors, this is your basic beach cottage, with colorful decor and comfortable beds. I appreciated the dining advice and I was thrilled with every recommendation. The location is terrific - blocks from the beach and a short walk to many restaurants. The only down side was that I could here my my neighbors on the other side of my wall. Next time, I'll book a detached cottage to have more privacy.

Room Tip: Book a detached cabin for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    126
    17
    15
    13
See reviews for
200
157
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We took a mini-break with a group of friends. This place was great, close to the beach, restaurants and bars. I'd definitely recommend it to other friends. It's so eclectic which is part of its charm. I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dark Horse (5B) which is at the very front of the property and even with weekend re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was our first trip to Port A, and we wanted a laid back, family friendly, and clean place to spend the week. You can't beat the location to the beach (walking distance if you aren't hauling half a village) and if you need a quick bite, there is a great pizza place just two doors down. The staff was super friendly and our cabin was clean with all the comforts of home. We loved the fun yet laid back atmosphere and though we didn't travel with our dogs on this trip, they will certainly come with us next time. Our only complaint was that not every cabin had an outdoor shower, and though it would have been convenient, we made due with a bucket and a towel to help keep the sand to a min while inside. Our neighbors were friendly, and you'd never know so many people were there with their dogs. We've decided to make it a family tradition moving forward, and can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was the third year in the same cabin and we were planning for next year before we checked out. Still the same friendly place. Cabins are clean and cozy. Very laid back place where you get to know your next door neighbors by the end of your stay. This year management had added a "Dog Wash" so you can give your dogs a bath after visiting the beach. Staff is amazing, they don't micro manage you, but are readily available if you need anything. It has a small town feel and allows you to accomplish what you came for, to enjoy a nice, peaceful vacation by the sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rawilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft worth, texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Fun funky charming . Laughing horse has you need .. All you should need! Grea ac, perfect location , clean and nice friendly staff. We have been visiting for years.
Dog friendly , couple and family friendly too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thehej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

`Hello, our names are Tino and Lucy and our Mommy took us to the funkiest, groovy place in Port A, we just love The Laughing Horse Lodge. The staff loved us and were so happy for us to stay. The rooms were huge and we all slept together in a very clean and cool room. Thanks again for having us, we are just so doggone happy. We will return,

PS Our Mommy loved it too!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed staying at A Laughing Horse Lodge. We liked the fun and funky decor. It is within walking distance to the beach and a lot of the shops, restaurants and bard in Port A. The staff were friendly and helpful and when we forgot what day we were to check out they graciously called to remind us and allowed us a little extra time to gather our things and check out. We like places with cooking amenities so the kitchenette and grill were much appreciated. We will come here again the next time we stay in Port Aransas.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Laughing Horse Lodge

Property: A Laughing Horse Lodge
Address: 503 East Avenue G at 11th Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Laughing Horse Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laughing Horse Lodge is a fun, kitchy, beach style, dog friendly Port Aransas fishing village property. We have 18 units of various configurations from efficiencies and kitchenettes to two bedroom free standing cottages with covered patios. We are not a condo or standard motel but are a unique 1950's place updated with colorful rooms and buildings. If you are ready for a fun beach experience, come on down!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your A Laughing Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Laughing Horse Hotel Port Aransas
A Laughing Horse Lodge Port Aransas, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing